IQZoom 200 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : High-End Point and Shoots

Corny
View photos created with this camera

The IQZoom 200 35mm Camera

Features:

  • 35mm fully automatic lens-shutter camera with built-in zoom lens
  • Autofocus, auto exposure, auto flash
  • SMC Pentax power zoom 48mm-200mm f/5.1-f/13 lens
  • Programmed auto exposure control with six-segment multi-pattern metering


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


3 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bill Borsheim 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 2:07:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 2:07:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 2:07:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 2:07:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2004 2:07:06 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
With the longest focal length of P&S film cameras this sharp slow lensed zoom gives the most detail of distant tele subjects...if you can hold it steady. Using ASA 100 film on a sunny day can often lead to unsharp tele pix. But with care the lense can render pix so detailed that you marvel. Initially I used ASA 200 film & got very sharp results. My last roll showed that I got a bit sloppy & sharp tele pix didn't occur. If it's really cloudy, sharper pix occur using a tripod or a flat-topped fence post to steady the world no matter what ASA film or focal length you're using. Adding to the problem the viewfinder is much dimmer than all my other P&S viewfinders(have 3 others). When a turkey vulture unexpectedly flew over my head, I almost lost the pic because my eye barely caught the bird in the dark viewfinder of the vertically held camera. Also pix under darkening skies become harder to compose. I feel the autofocus is not as sure as my other P&S cameras on subjects that are hard for autofocus. Glad the Pentax has a landscape setting for soft scenes at infinity. Despite its shortcomings I shoot more rolls of film with the Pentax because of the 200mm reach.
8/25/2004 2:07:06 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 10:56:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 10:56:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 10:56:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 10:56:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 10:56:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera- it's a relatively new aquisition- got it from my husband as a Christmas gift since he knows how much I want to get into photography professionally.
2/9/2004 10:56:57 AM
 
Camille A. Leseberg 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 9:56:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 9:56:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 9:56:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 9:56:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2003 9:56:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Pentax IQZoom 200 has worked wonders for me, its a 35mm camera with great features. I wish I would have gone with a Pentax manual camera, I didn't realize I was going to pursue photography at the time of purchase.
9/1/2003 9:56:14 AM
 

3 Reviews