AE-1 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

making tracks
View photos created with this camera

The AE-1 35mm SLR Camera

Buying a used, manual camera is an excellent way for a beginner to learn. The Pentax K1000, Pentax ME Super, Nikon Nikkormat, or Canon AE-1 are just a few of the best choices to start with. Visit your local camera store, eBay, or KEH Camera Brokers to locate a used 35mm SLR.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 162 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bradley K. Coleman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 4:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 4:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 4:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 4:39:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 4:39:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it!
5/13/2006 4:39:25 AM
 
Kevin M. Margason 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:36:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:36:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:36:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:36:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 2:36:20 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Wonderful old camera, takes great pictures, but, alas, it uses film.
5/11/2006 2:36:20 PM
 
Joanne Saylor 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 3:19:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 3:19:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 3:19:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 3:19:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 3:19:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera, I like that I have control of the out come. I prefer this camera above the newer digital camera's because I can be more creative with filters and such. I am old school so I tend to stick with what works for me.
4/22/2006 3:19:20 PM
 
Kristine Slipson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:57:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:57:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:57:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:57:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:57:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great fully manual camera. This was my first "real" camera, and I really learned a lot about photography using it. All well rounded photographers should own this camera and take it out every once-in-awhile. Having to do everything manually (and shoot film!) makes you appreciate the technology we have today.
4/14/2006 11:57:50 AM
 
Gregory Fedders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:25:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:25:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:25:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:25:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:25:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first camera. Never disappointed me. I'm a Canon man for live.
4/4/2006 6:25:06 AM
 
Ben E. Neubauer 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 4:05:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 4:05:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 4:05:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 4:05:17 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 4:05:17 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Easy, simple, great film camera starter. Automatic Aperture setting is great for quick pictures. It's my grandfathers camera and it's lasted forever. Extremely durable, low maintenance. Would like it to have faster shutter speed than 1/1000s, but it's a little outdated now anyway. Light metering is simple, although there's no spot-metering option.
4/3/2006 4:05:17 PM
 
Carole Loiselle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:05:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:05:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:05:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:05:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:05:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice pictures and easy to use.
3/28/2006 4:05:47 AM
 
Carole Loiselle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/23/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:04:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:04:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:04:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:04:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:04:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice pictures and ease of use.
3/28/2006 4:04:34 AM
 
Anthony McQueen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:17:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:17:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:17:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:17:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:17:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good old 35mm manual SLR camera. I like it
3/25/2006 11:17:03 PM
 
Teri L. Schuster 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:13:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:13:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:13:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:13:04 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:13:04 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This was my first camera and it has always taken great pictures! The only thing I didn't like is the weight of the camera after a while of lugging it around it got a little heavy for me!
3/25/2006 11:13:04 PM
 
Lynn  Margason
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/9/2006
rhemaranchphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:02:03 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2006 8:02:03 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the camera that I learned photography with. It became like a third arm! I used a 70-210 zoom on it all the time for horse photography. Recently we've bought a Canon D20 and hope to become half as comfortable with it in time.
3/23/2006 8:02:03 AM
 

First 10 of 162 Reviews  (see all user reviews)