BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FG20 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Head Mechanic
View photos created with this camera

The FG20 SLR Camera

Type of camera: 35mm single-lens reflex
Picture format: 24mmx36mm (standard 35mm film format)
Lens mount: Nikon bayonet mount
Lenses: More than 70 Nikkor and Nikon Series E lenses available
Viewfinder: Fixed eyelevel pentaprism type; 0.86X magnification with 50mm lens set at infinity; 92% frame coverage

Focusing screen:
Matte/Fresnel focusing screen with central split-image rangefinder spot and microprism collar (Nikon Type K clear-matte screen)

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Yee Au

member since: 5/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is simple to use and produces great photos. Fun to use if you like setting all the controls manually.
5/31/2006 12:39:07 PM
 
Daryl V. Villanueva

member since: 1/29/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think this is a great camera. It's real easy to use and the results are great. Can't complain! I've had it for years...no problems so far!
1/29/2006 9:10:51 PM
 
John R. Keistler

member since: 3/12/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I question a prior review that states the FG-20 isn't as durable as the FG. I've had several of both, and I can see little or no difference between the two except that the FG-20 doesn't have the program setting and advanced flash capability--neither of which I use. This is a very light, very capable little camera, much underrated by amateurs considering themselves advanced. As a platform for the superb Nikkor lenses, it can and will consistently produce photos equivalent to much more expensive cameras. After all, it IS the lens that forms the image. The shutters on mine have proven accurate in auto, though I admit I've never used the compensation button. It's certainly not pocketable, but it is very small, perfect for the more compact lenses. It does use a metering needle rather than LED's but after a few exposures, I don't notice this. I have enjoy many times being able to tuck the little body and lens separately in my briefcase when I travel. Amazingly inexpensive on EBay for very nice examples. So many were purchased by tyros, used a few times and put away! Just check the light seals. . .
12/13/2005 7:58:52 PM
 
Francis Aloise

member since: 5/8/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera lacks professional niceities but it is a small, light perfect little system camera. One of the first TTL metering systems on the market. It's not as durable as it's bigger brother the FG but it is as good as the photographer behind it.
4/13/2005 10:11:34 AM
 
Tom Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Tom
Tom's Gallery

member since: 3/22/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have not used my FG-20 much, only with a test roll to try out my PB-4 bellows and Nikkor Bellows 105mm f4 short-mount lens. I shot some flowers and a penny up close and at angles to play with the bellows movements and the photos came out fine. I have not taken the bellows out into the field. I think I would prefer the ease of use of Nikon's Perspective Control lens--I would use it on my N65.
3/24/2005 2:49:59 PM
 
Martin R. Hulak

member since: 5/31/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The FE is a very Very good camera for the regular guy. It is next to the "F" very versitile. With my MD12 I can do the very same as any Journalist can. I just cannot go through a roll of film in 30 secs. or my shutter is not as fast but is fast enough. I will be using it periodically for the shots the digital may not capture (or until I can), such as capturing a baseball in flight from the pitcher. I love my FE.
5/31/2004 8:19:46 AM
 
Phil L. Dotson

member since: 11/20/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I rank this camera as a ten maybe because this misunderstood jewel sees the world just like I do not much we can't do together incredibly reliable, meter spot on I could go on and on to me this may be the perfect 35mm camera
11/20/2003 6:15:07 PM
 


member since: 10/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great workhorse. Inherited this from my Grandfather.
10/29/2003 12:27:26 PM
 
Peter III Dimaguila

member since: 10/11/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
So easy to use but can produce great photos.
9/20/2003 7:15:40 AM
 
Chris Hardy
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had this camera since about 1988,and it has been all over the world since then. In that time it has never gone wrong and with the top notch Nikkor f1.8 lens has always produced exceptional images. I use a Tokina 80-210 zoom (compact) and a Sigma 28-80 plus a range of Cokin filters. The only slight damage suffered to the camera was when I lent it to a friend to take as a spare body,on one of his Egypt visits,and it came back with the paint scraped off edges of the prism housing-needles to say,I was brassed off too!! Although it lacks DOF preview,its compact body ( for an SLR) is solid and its functions ( apperture priority & manual)are simple and intuitive to use.
8/20/2003 5:37:50 AM
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.