Maxxum 9000 SLR


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

purple flower
View photos created with this camera

Features:

  • 35mm single-lens reflex with auto-focus and multi-mode exposure control
  • Lens TypeMinolta "A"-type bayonet, self-lubricating stainless steel
  • LCD Digital Readout
    There is LCD digital readings on the top outside of the camera and in the view finder. It shows your shutter speed and aperture
  • Modes AF for auto-focusing (Point and shoot.)
    M for manual settings: you will have to set your shutter and aperture manually to your taste.
    Aperture-Priority: you select the aperture and the camera automatically sets the shutter speed.
    Shutter-Priority: you select the shutter speed and the camera automatically sets the aperture.
    Multiple-Exposure: you can take a second or third shoot without advancing the film. Now you can put the same person twice on the same picture.

    Overall This is truly made for the amateur or the professional. You can just point and shoot or you can make all the decisions yourself. The picture quality is the best, our families are always glad when I bring my camera, the families brag on the great picture quality. What I love it uses 2 AA batteries instead of those expensive hard to find batteries. There is no motor drive and the film loading is manual. You can get a motor drive to add on that takes 5 frames per second. When it comes time for a new camera Minolta will be my first stop.
    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    11 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 4 out of 5

    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    John Calloway 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2008 10:47:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2008 10:47:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2008 10:47:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2008 10:47:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2008 10:47:22 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I guess it's been a while since anyone reviewed this camera. I bought one new when they first came out to replace my x-700 so that I could take advantage of auto focus that was new to SLR's at the time.

    My camera operated flawlessly, and never exhibited the common LCD Panel bleed until I foolishly packed the camera in a cooler for water protection and allowed it to be exposed to excessive pounding in the bottom of a fishing boat.

    I respond here to the comment that the LCD panel problem signifies a premature death for the camera since, as claimed in an earlier review, it "cannot be operated" without the info in the panel. This is not true. I've never heard of a panel bleeding totally black. If it did, using the camera would involve blindly relying upon the auto settings to determine exposure settings.

    In any event, my LCD bled because of my own careless handling of the camera on just one day. I was shocked to learn that no repair parts were available. That shocked me and kept me from upgrading to what I considered the ultimate SLR, the Maxxum 9, as I surmised that something had to be amiss in Minolta-land that they would not support my fine camera by at least providing for a paid solution to what was described to me as a manufacturing defect.

    I have since moved on to digital (Sony A100) and continue to have my photo-roots in the Minolta heritage. The 9000 was a fine camera in its day, not built to be consumed then thrown away like today's digital breed of cameras.

    From a marketing value point of view, my Alpha 100, just six months old by my pockets, is already obsolete, having been replaced by three or four updated models for which upgrades are already in the works again.

    The Maxxum 9000 was built to last,and last it did. Were it not for the demise of the film format, I doubt I would have replaced it even now.

    Great camera, although I take no issue with some of the weaknesses pointed out by others, mainly a slow AF function that was not the best in low light situations (unless you had your 4000AF attached).

    JC

    3/1/2008 10:47:22 AM
     
    David Pratt
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/25/2006
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 3:59:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 3:59:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 3:59:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 3:59:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 3:59:51 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    It is one of the last metal camera's ever made. It is nice and solid. With the added motor drive it can be very heavy at times.
    4/25/2006 3:59:51 PM
     
    Mark  Wayne
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/31/2005
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 10:12:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 10:12:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 10:12:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 10:12:16 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 10:12:16 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    The Maxxum 9000 was the first professional autofocus SLR. In it's time it was the best.
    1/27/2006 10:12:16 PM
     
    Steve Warren
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/1/2004
    2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 4:12:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 4:12:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 4:12:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 4:12:38 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 4:12:38 PM
    Rating: 2.5 out of 5
    Bought it used. Loved all the features and everything about it. i give it a medium rating because the shutter froze on me after only about 20 rolls ran through it.
    11/13/2005 4:12:38 PM
     
    Will Turner 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:04:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:04:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:04:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:04:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 3:04:44 PM
    Rating: 2 out of 5
    "LCD Digital Readout Panel"

    This is the achilles heel of this camera. It starts to bleed and die an early death and once it starts cannot be fixed. As far as I know Minolta was never able to fix this issue; they were stocking replacement LCD displays at one point but once replacement panels are gone this camera will be useless as the panel is necessary to operate the camera functions.

    8/24/2005 3:04:44 PM
     
    Larry Citra
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/3/2005
    larrycitraphoto.com
    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:06:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:06:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:06:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:06:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2005 2:06:42 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Super camera, very rugged. This is my main film camera, shoot mostly slides with this one. Very easy to use, only one draw back is the slow auto focus, other than that great. had it since 1978 I think and still going strong!
    3/1/2005 2:06:42 PM
     
    John Barrie 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 2:32:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 2:32:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 2:32:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 2:32:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 2:32:41 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    This is a work horse of a camera, Its a timex takes a licking and keeps on ticking! I have had it since 86. This camera has been around the world and has never gave me any problems!
    4/12/2004 2:32:41 PM
     
    Bob Whorton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:28:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:28:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:28:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:28:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2004 7:28:34 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    My blood brother since 1985 - love it like a brother too. Rock solid, reliable perfect exp. systems.
    3/21/2004 7:28:34 PM
     
    Anthony S. Wong 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 5:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 5:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 5:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 5:01:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 5:01:50 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Easy to use and very reliable. Excellent lenses.
    1/8/2004 5:01:50 PM
     
    Tammy L. Bevins
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/10/2003
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:56:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:56:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:56:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:56:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2003 6:56:37 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I love the pro features on this camera especiallly the high shutter speeds. This is my first pro qualilty camera. I bought it used from ebay. Very good buy. I have gone digital however I still like to take b&w with film and I don't think I'll ever give up slide film.
    12/30/2003 6:56:37 AM
     
    George A. Moore 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 6:23:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 6:23:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 6:23:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 6:23:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 6:23:53 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    Camera has great accessories, and capabilities. The auto focus doesn't always adjust correctly and may only be used in well lit environments.
    8/6/2003 6:23:53 PM
     

    11 Reviews  


  •