CM-4


Chinon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Venus and Steeple...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lori A. Witt 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 1:41:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 1:41:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 1:41:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 1:41:51 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 1:41:51 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Picture quality isn't bad, but it has a REALLY faulty winder. Every body I've had has ended up with a broken winder at some point, which is a royal PITA. Will be upgrading very soon.
11/6/2005 1:41:51 PM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:09:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:09:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:09:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:09:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:09:50 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good generic fully manual, fully mechanical, all-around camera for not only astrophotography but also daytime photography.
7/29/2004 12:09:50 PM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:06:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:06:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:06:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:06:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 12:06:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good generic fully manual, fully mechanical, all-around camera for not only astrophotography but also daytime photography.
7/29/2004 12:06:31 PM
 
Peggy Davidoff 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 7:34:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 7:34:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 7:34:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 7:34:45 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2004 7:34:45 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the only manual 35mm SLR I have owned - so, with nothing to really compare it to, I have enjoyed it for the past 8 years, and continue to use it. I also often find that I prefer to use it becuase of the variety of flexibilities as opposed to point & shoot cameras (or even my digital camera at times). I purchased it used, and it has always taken very decent pictures. It is not equipped with a timer, however. Also, the light meter is not a conventional one such as one found in the viewfinder, but it is located just outside the viewfinder (to the left)... and it is a set of 3 lights. Red on top (too much light), Green in the middle (right amount of light), and Red on the bottom (not enough light). Overall, I like this camera very much and don't have too much desire to get a replacement - but perhaps some supplemental equipment (lenses, filters, etc.) for even more flexibility.
5/2/2004 7:34:45 PM
 
Qasim Ali Dar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 1:04:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 1:04:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 1:04:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 1:04:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2004 1:04:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Camera is really good in all features.
3/17/2004 1:04:30 AM
 
Kam  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2004 11:43:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2004 11:43:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2004 11:43:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2004 11:43:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2004 11:43:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought this camera off an oline auction site a couple years ago, haven't been able to put it down since. It's awesome. I have a digital camera now too, and I love it, but for my real "artistic" shots I use this one.
2/21/2004 11:43:06 AM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 2:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 2:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 2:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 2:30:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2003 2:30:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I ditched a Nikon F Photomic for this as the Nikon was way too heavy. It has been a good reliable platform for me. As some of my exposures run to hours, it has been ideal due to the non reliance on batteries. The only real complaint I have is the meter is far too sensitive, small changes in lighting cause the LEDS to krang around a bit. I will never sell it.
8/9/2003 2:30:00 PM
 

7 Reviews