F-801 (N8008) 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

BUDDIES FOR LIFE
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


56 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:41:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:41:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:41:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:41:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:41:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
When I purchased this camera new, it was my first auto-focus camera. Took some getting used to from my old Nikkormat EL.
6/1/2006 6:41:25 PM
 
Rafal A. Krolik 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 2:40:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 2:40:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 2:40:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 2:40:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 2:40:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera served me for many years and it breaks my heart that digital is becoming so prevalant.
6/1/2006 2:40:39 PM
 
Hillary McKey 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:29:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:29:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:29:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:29:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:29:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the handling of it...Tough old bird
4/16/2006 7:29:03 PM
 
Joseph L. Jenkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:23:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:23:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:23:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:23:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2006 7:23:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I don't have any real experience to judge this effectively, The camera produces sharp clear pictures and has great shutter speed. As for what I don't like, The lenses are noisy and slow to focus, sometimes better to focus manualy.
3/31/2006 7:23:46 PM
 
Glen Taylor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:22:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:22:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:22:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:22:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 2:22:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very reliable camera, still works perfectly. Mine is the 8008s (N801s) with spot meter.
1/30/2006 2:22:35 PM
 
Jake Gratto 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:41:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 10:41:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camers. not top of the line but a good starting point for my first SLR.
12/6/2005 10:41:39 AM
 
Dan D. N 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 6:26:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 6:26:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 6:26:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 6:26:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 6:26:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
WOW... this camera has everything... I inherited it from my dad for my black and white photography class. I havent found anything i dont like about it yet.
11/11/2005 6:26:12 AM
 
E C. Hammer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 5:16:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 5:16:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 5:16:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 5:16:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2005 5:16:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
awesome because I love to work with film instead of digital
10/21/2005 5:16:22 PM
 
Ramon Garra 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 1:16:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 1:16:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 1:16:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 1:16:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 1:16:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best
10/13/2005 1:16:11 PM
 
Robin Misner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 1:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 1:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 1:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 1:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2005 1:59:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
when shooting on auto in low light it tends to not know what to focus on.
9/30/2005 1:59:33 PM
 
David O. Clifton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:30:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:30:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:30:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:30:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:30:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only got my N808 in January, but have taken it to Italy, Texas and many places here in the Philadelphia area along with my N80 and have had excellent photos from both. I just wish I had the data back for the 8008.
9/28/2005 5:30:53 AM
 
David O. Clifton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:29:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:29:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:29:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:29:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 5:29:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only got my N808 in January, but have taken it to Italy, Texas and many places here in the Philadelphia area along with my N80 and have had excellent photos from both. I just wish I had the data back for the 8008.
9/28/2005 5:29:37 AM
 
Anthony S. Fowler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 7:26:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 7:26:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 7:26:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 7:26:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 7:26:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera is actually an N8008S, not N8008..a very dependable 35mm camera that has served me well for many years. Also a very durable camera....
6/30/2005 7:26:06 AM
 
Anthony S. Fowler 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 6:51:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 6:51:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 6:51:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 6:51:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2005 6:51:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very solid film camera that has served me well for the past 7 years. It is easy to operate and does a great job with black and white film....
6/30/2005 6:51:57 AM
 
Kevin L. Johnson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 5:00:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 5:00:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 5:00:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 5:00:27 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2005 5:00:27 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Still learning this one !
6/19/2005 5:00:27 PM
 
Jonathan Taillefer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/10/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 4:49:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 4:49:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 4:49:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 4:49:45 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 4:49:45 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great SLR. I love it. It seems to be a little less advanced that the newer F90/N90 models but is very though and does all the things I need it to do.
4/10/2005 4:49:45 AM
 
Carol J. Watkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:20:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:20:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:20:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:20:01 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 11:20:01 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is a great camera. Works in all kinds of conditions as in very cold. Easy to use.
3/23/2005 11:20:01 AM
 
Fels 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:53:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:53:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:53:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:53:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 7:53:07 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
too long ago, and this camera was stolen, so no comment
2/9/2005 7:53:07 AM
 
Cathy Stancil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 12:53:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 12:53:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 12:53:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 12:53:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 12:53:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
awsome camera. Love it.
11/24/2004 12:53:45 PM
 
Rosemarie  Culver 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:38 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2004 11:05:38 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A very durable camera. I have used it for many years. I like the depth of field feature, the self timer is very useful. I use the Manual controls most of the time. I also make extensive use of the plus/minus feature.
11/24/2004 11:05:38 AM
 
Marcus Maschwitz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/8/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 9:29:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 9:29:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 9:29:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 9:29:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2004 9:29:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have the time back as an addition to the camera and it gives me a lot more interesting and useful options to play with.
11/8/2004 9:29:45 AM
 
Sinnathurai Kanagaiyah 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 6:03:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 6:03:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 6:03:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 6:03:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2004 6:03:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Sharp Picture
10/4/2004 6:03:28 PM
 
Morris Alkalay 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:42:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:42:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:42:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:42:35 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:42:35 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
comfortable to shoot
9/5/2004 12:42:35 AM
 
Morris Alkalay 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:41:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:41:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:41:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:41:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 12:41:28 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
comfortable to shoot
9/5/2004 12:41:28 AM
 
Cedric Pereira 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:15:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:15:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:15:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:15:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 12:15:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice camera, can count on it. Always worked fine.
8/18/2004 12:15:06 PM
 
Timothy L. Blackwell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:33:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:33:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:33:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:33:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 11:33:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is one of my favorite Nikon autofocus cameras. I used it for 2.5 years and got great results with it. This was my camera of choice for doing multiple exposure shots. I can't comment on the autofocus because I never use autofocus. The 8008s body has a solid feel, and never failed on me.
8/12/2004 11:33:09 PM
 
Alex Khramov 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 1:08:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 1:08:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 1:08:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 1:08:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2004 1:08:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the best for manual macro photography.
8/5/2004 1:08:54 PM
 
Rush Smith 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:17:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:17:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera has served me though thick and thin. It has been to Montana many times and all over the U.S on weekend trips. I also have gone digital and now own a Nikon D70. AWESOME is all I can say. But I refuse to let go of my 8008.
7/8/2004 9:17:06 PM
 
Naser Aldeen B. Baqi 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 1:42:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 1:42:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 1:42:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 1:42:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 1:42:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This Is my first Beauty. Its a state of the art camera. what I can say about it? this camera has a very rigid body. I have worked with it at a very hot teperature here in Kuwait ( over 120 degrees F) its sereved me well.
7/8/2004 1:42:43 AM
 
Karla A. Stansfield 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 2:10:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 2:10:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 2:10:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 2:10:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2004 2:10:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It is light, affordable, takes awesome photos. I prefer it most times over my medium format for it durability and convenience!
6/13/2004 2:10:56 PM
 
Kumara Edirisooriya 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Yes very good for me. I can use another brand of lenses too. No metric focusing introduced at the designing period. No harm. Can use either auto or manual modes. This is an advace I thought for proffesionals.
6/7/2004 5:44:08 PM
 
Kumara Edirisooriya 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2004 5:44:05 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Yes very good for me. I can use another brand of lenses too. No metric focusing introduced at the designing period. No harm. Can use either auto or manual modes. This is an advace I thought for proffesionals.
6/7/2004 5:44:05 PM
 
James C. Ritchie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 11:59:48 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Capable of handling my needs with one exception. That cameras are mostly driven electronically is largely a good thing. But in some respects the old mechanical method is still superior, in my opinion. To wit - it peeves me to no end that I can't use my simple cable release.
5/18/2004 11:59:48 AM
 
Sharon  McClung
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/17/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 6:32:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 6:32:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 6:32:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 6:32:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/17/2004 6:32:53 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Excellent camera but a bit difficult to navigate until you get used to it.
5/17/2004 6:32:53 PM
 
Sharon J. McAulay
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2004
sharonmcaulay.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:16:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:16:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:16:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:16:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 3:16:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have had this camera for over 10 years, so it's like a best friend. I sometimes use a friend's F5, but am happier with the weight of the 801, and weight is important to me because I usually carry at least two cameras and a few lenses. Can't think of anything I don't like about it.
4/18/2004 3:16:52 PM
 
Carolyn Hall 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:41:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:41:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:41:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:41:32 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:41:32 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Had this camera for years. Just recently ousted by my Nikon F4s, but still using it. Was actually quite happy with the 801 but in comparison I can say that the auto focusing ability is slow. Otherwise a great camera.
4/16/2004 8:41:32 PM
 
Jeffrey O. Hitchens 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:52:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:52:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:52:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:52:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/1/2004 7:52:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Well it's the best camera that I've had so far.
4/1/2004 7:52:26 PM
 
Kathryn A. Birren 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2004 10:34:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2004 10:34:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2004 10:34:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2004 10:34:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2004 10:34:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have been very happy with my camera
3/6/2004 10:34:41 AM
 
William Eyster 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 3:32:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 3:32:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 3:32:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 3:32:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 3:32:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Fantastic camera
3/2/2004 3:32:08 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 2:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 2:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 2:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 2:46:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 2:46:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It can be operated completely manual to fully automatic with several options in between. The only thing lacking here is spot metering and the capability to use a manual cable release.
3/2/2004 2:46:32 PM
 
William B. Myers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 4:45:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 4:45:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 4:45:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 4:45:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2004 4:45:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One great camera! Twelve years of continuous use and a gazillion miles of travel without a hint of a problem.
2/24/2004 4:45:37 AM
 
Bridget Eshbaugh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 7:54:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 7:54:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 7:54:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 7:54:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 7:54:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think this camera is great. It's simple and can be used completely manualy or automaticly. I think that is ideal for any serious photographer. I've never had one problem with it. I really enjoy it.
2/23/2004 7:54:50 PM
 
Renee Hanson 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 8:46:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 8:46:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 8:46:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 8:46:12 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2004 8:46:12 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my second camera which I bought off a photographer who had upgraded his equipment. I like the way it operates and the only critisizm I'v heard about it is the autofocus. It is a little slow/noisy but not noticibly. I tend to use the manual focus often anyway. Personally for me it was a good buy.
2/9/2004 8:46:12 AM
 
Callan McCormick 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 1:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 1:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 1:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 1:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2004 1:29:56 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been very happy with this camera.
1/25/2004 1:29:56 PM
 
Cynthia N. Queen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 10:43:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 10:43:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 10:43:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 10:43:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 10:43:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use
1/18/2004 10:43:23 AM
 
Gianfranco Rindone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 3:12:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 3:12:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 3:12:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 3:12:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2003 3:12:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Now the autofocus control is not more acceptable, but the shutter is still as fast as the F100! This great camera, also with few crashing problems (needed to take batteries off and on again), has given me fantastic shots for many many years (and still does!).
11/15/2003 3:12:54 PM
 
Jimmy K. Vogt 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 1:20:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 1:20:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 1:20:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 1:20:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 1:20:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have been shooting with this camers for over 8 yrs this camera has been droped and banged around and has never let me down. it even got abused bye a bear from the baltmore zoo.
10/27/2003 1:20:42 PM
 
Bruce W. Davenport 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:48:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:48:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:48:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:48:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2003 7:48:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excelent quality and features.
10/18/2003 7:48:34 PM
 
Kevin Connor 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 2:05:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 2:05:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 2:05:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 2:05:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2003 2:05:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is indestructible. Heavy, reliable, good meter.
10/17/2003 2:05:23 AM
 
Linda Sauer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 6:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 6:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 6:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 6:32:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2003 6:32:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is old, but it has given me years of trouble-free use. It is not as fast as my Nikon F100 and it doesn't have multiple auto focus points, but it is reliable.
10/14/2003 6:32:20 PM
 
Ronald Marotta 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2003 10:30:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2003 10:30:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2003 10:30:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2003 10:30:11 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2003 10:30:11 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent Camera
9/4/2003 10:30:11 AM
 
Yoshi Melrose 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:07:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:07:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:07:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:07:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 5:07:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the 8008s. It works great for just about any shot I do. I love the flexibility I have with it as well.
7/29/2003 5:07:12 PM
 
Marilyn B. Burch 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:16:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 3:16:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon 8008 has been a reliable camera for me. I like the multible exposure feature better than the Nikon F100. The only problem is that it doesn't have a spot meter.
7/25/2003 3:16:55 PM
 
Eddie Abdo 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:36:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:36:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:36:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:36:55 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 8:36:55 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It took great pictures; I believe because of the lens used. However, mechanically it had problems.
7/16/2003 8:36:55 PM
 
Milton Durango 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:41:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:41:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:41:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:41:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2003 8:41:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Its very good and reliable, affordable, good camera for the money...
7/9/2003 8:41:50 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2002 1:57:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2002 1:57:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2002 1:57:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2002 1:57:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2002 1:57:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera, very versatile and loaded with features. The camera is heavy, and although it its the "S" model with the quicker AF electronics, it still feels slow and dated compared to the newer Nikons and Canons. I have two AF Nikkors for this camera... a 24mm and a 70-210 f4 that are fairly old, eventually will try with a newer lens and see if AF if quicker. I like that the AF Nikons will use my older AI and AIS lenes. The matrix metering takes a load off my mind and gives me what I want 90% of the time - it really is an impressive feature. Spot and area metering avaialable as well, for the other 10% of the time. TTL flash with SB-28 is impressive - no real thought required. Its a good value for under $350 on used market. Don't pay more than that.. As good as they are, those lenses and my N8008s are for sale though, as I still prefer to use the F3HP and FA until I make the serious transition to AF and get a nice used N90s and a digital D100 to swap lenses back and forth. It will take a lot more than 6 megapixels for me to give up film.
10/14/2002 1:57:16 AM
 

56 Reviews