MZ-5N 35mm SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Incredible Taj Ma...
View photos created with this camera

Features:

  • 35mm compact SLR with predictive autofocus and panorama
  • Auto fill-in flash and red eye reduction
  • Choice of 6 segment multi-pattern metering, center-weighted, or spot
  • Exposure modes include program, aperture priority, shutter priority, and metered manual
  • Depth of field preview
  • 1/2000 second shuter speed
  • Auto bracketing
  • Multiple exposure and exposure compensation
  • Power zoom when using Pentax AL 28-70mm
  • Includes Pentax FA28-70mm AL lens and batteries


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kris Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 12:22:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 12:22:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 12:22:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 12:22:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2005 12:22:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera! It has all the bells and whistles that I need if I want to use them, or I can shut them all off and shoot manually. The only thing that I don't like about it is that the accessory list for it is quickly dwindling, and I will most likely have to move to a different camera in a couple years because I won't have any options for accessories (lenses, etc.)
7/12/2005 12:22:54 PM
 
Michael J. Demmon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2004 10:38:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2004 10:38:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2004 10:38:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2004 10:38:52 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2004 10:38:52 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not too bad. This was the first good camera I could afford. I have always liked Pentax and have nothing to complain about with this camera. It is durable, reliable, and holds up in the worst of conditions from sand to snow, and rainforest to freezing tundra.
12/19/2004 10:38:52 PM
 
Ronald Bubbly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 1:35:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 1:35:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 1:35:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 1:35:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2004 1:35:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had no problems with using this camera and also with the 72mm Tamron 28-200 lens. Ihave take most of my black and Whites with this camera
10/24/2004 1:35:55 AM
 
Amanda E. Radovic
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 4:52:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 4:52:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 4:52:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 4:52:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 4:52:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
For value for money its a star. It is a lightweight simple camera with all the 'important' stuff. It throws back to a simpler style and only has the necessities, aperture priority, shutter priority and metered manual. It has useful extras like exposure memory lock, auto bracketing in 1/2 and full stop increments and spot metering, centre weighted metering and matrix metering. It falls down a bit with its flash sync which is only at 100th but on the whole it's a useful camera which is lightweight and small - great for my little hands! I find it's metering is pretty spot on although not foolproof in tricky situations but the person buying this camera I imagine will be aware of these situations. It doesn't have a whole load of fully automatic modes but then again I never use them anyway - most work is done in aperture priority or manual. The dials are great, they don't knock easily which is a problem with the later models like the MZ 60 - I found my finger would knock the toggle for the shutterspeed which is disastrous in metered manual. Did I mention it also has a DOF preview button, panarama -(mmm a little superfluous) and a date back. It is compatible with all the pentax K mount older manual lenses although only in spot and centre weighted metering and manual focus is noted by an audible beep when the subject is in focus. The adjustable dioptre is also good for my failing eyesight! At around $1000 AU with a 28 - 80 lens its a darn good buy.
3/7/2004 4:52:09 AM
 
Yongshin Zhong 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 5:44:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 5:44:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 5:44:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 5:44:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2003 5:44:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a small, simple but with all the usefull camera
11/25/2003 5:44:53 PM
 

5 Reviews