BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 1V 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Vietnam Memorial ...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 1V 35mm SLR Camera

The EOS-1V is another in the celebrated Canon EOS line, incorporating several significant innovations in durability, performance and customization. Featuring a weather-resistant all-metal body, the EOS-1V offers the fastest continuous shooting speed in its class at 10 frames per second in One Shot AF and 9 fps with AI Servo AF (with optional BP-E2 Power Drive Booster). The new camera also incorporates 20 built-in Custom Functions for fine-turning of various camera settings. Other professional features include 100 percent viewfinder with adjustable diopter, 1/250th second flash sync, and a top shutter speed of 1/8000th second.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


30 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Paula Gardin

member since: 6/13/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is a workhorse and is weather resistant. I like the quality of prints and ability of this camera.
4/28/2006 6:36:19 PM
 
TIM TURNER
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/4/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Long time ago I had a Elan 2 that was a good camera real good Imoved up to an EOS 3 that thing was a dog it had some problems so I got a used EOS I it was a older one but it was on time and never failed me .I than upgraded to the EOS 1 V .This is the best in film for me so far it does what I need it to do when I need it .I am not changing all my lens to the lowest f stop possible .lol yea I got it bad .
4/5/2006 8:16:26 AM
 
Jim  M. White
Jim 's Photo Courses:
4-Week Short Course: Learning Your Canon Digital SLR
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
When digital ain't getting it and Velvia is the order of the day.
2/8/2006 6:20:46 PM
 
Bret Tate
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/12/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is incredible. I think that it simplifies the job of photography a great deat. The heavy construction and sealed body make it a great heavy use tool. Autofocus is fast, even in low light, and the motordrive is wonderful. I also have found the metering to be very accurate considering it is an in camera system.
11/30/2005 11:20:02 AM
 
Bret Tate
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/12/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is incredible. I think that it simplifies the job of photography a great deat. The heavy construction and sealed body make it a great heavy use tool. Autofocus is fast, even in low light, and the motordrive is wonderful. I also have found the metering to be very accurate considering it is an in camera system.
11/30/2005 11:18:58 AM
 
Michael  Tsosie

member since: 2/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
so sweet i love it.
10/17/2005 11:55:58 AM
 
Bryan C. Myhr

member since: 9/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its a great 35 AF sensor, 10 fps, SLR film camera. Not digital, but it's the fastest camera in the consumer world.
9/6/2005 10:47:31 AM
 
Janice Sullivan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it!!!! But need a digital camera.
7/27/2005 4:26:27 PM
 
Scott J. Snodgrass

member since: 6/14/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great all around camera. THe lay off the buttons and dials are great and the image quality is also top notch.
7/12/2005 8:12:05 PM
 
Murat Oruc

member since: 4/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great equipment, a dream machine for all canon users, well composed body, built for hard conditions. The 100% coverage viewfinder, speedy focusing and spends a roll in seconds if you prefer, good metering system, long lasting batteries (1V HS) are good reasons to buy this camera, but it's too heavy and big, also expensive to lie down in dust with, E-TLL system is old, anyway a good motivation to shoot more films :)
6/9/2005 5:37:02 AM
 
Gwendolyn G. Flowers

member since: 4/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is fast---I have had it about 3 months.---So far the results have been excellent
4/26/2005 2:07:57 PM
 
Roxana Laemmlin

member since: 1/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i like this camera for the whole possibilities which is giving to me but most of all for the speed.
1/9/2005 9:27:20 AM
 
Megan Steffen

member since: 12/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A little on the bulky, heavy side, but awesome photographs, great functionality, true pro level camera. Haven't quite learned all the features yet...
1/6/2005 12:48:14 PM
 
Jeanne M  Hatch

member since: 6/6/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Full frame film camera, I love this camera for slide shots. Works great with all the new SLR lenses
10/19/2004 12:33:13 PM
 
Jeanne M  Hatch

member since: 6/6/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Full frame fill camera, I love this camera for slide shots. Works great with all the new SLR lenses
10/19/2004 12:32:58 PM
 
Benjamin Swift

member since: 7/18/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
You get what you pay for! I have used most of the mid range EOS bodies with some great results, but the 1V takes it to another level.
9/16/2004 4:14:31 PM
 
R J. 

member since: 9/8/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Very good camera Best I have ever owned but a little costly
9/16/2004 10:45:58 AM
 
Andy 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/28/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This IS the camera. There's nothing more I can ask for.
8/13/2004 1:03:24 PM
 
Cathy B. Sylvester
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best camera I've ever handled or used. Fantastic!
7/23/2004 4:13:25 PM
 
Cynthia L. Cook

member since: 11/11/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Camera
5/6/2004 11:36:50 AM
 
Eddie Abdo

member since: 6/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great, fast, sturdy, and super autofocus. Just the sound of the shutter tells you that you have a precision, well made machine.
4/5/2004 7:20:21 PM
 
Mike Primm

member since: 10/2/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Before I went Digital about 9 months ago this is the camera that I use and still I use it as much as the 1D and the 10D combind, I love it! The only drawback after using Digital is unable to see the image instantly.
3/8/2004 10:59:01 AM
 
Alan R. Anderson

member since: 1/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera.
1/7/2004 6:04:29 PM
 
Michael Rogers
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/2/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pending, shot four rolls and I'm waiting to see the results. I do know one thing for sure, this camera is lightning fast....If your shooting action you will burn alot of film!! I don't think it(the camera)will miss any of the action.
12/21/2003 10:02:55 PM
 
Bruno Lassus

member since: 12/20/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have several and love them all.
12/20/2003 10:26:59 PM
 


member since: 9/20/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent features. Very durable under varying field conditions.
9/21/2003 1:30:42 PM
 
Elmer Fleagle

member since: 4/15/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I find it easy to use. The depth of field prevue is something I use frequently. The ease of changing lenses and just the over all ergonomics make this camera the one for me.
6/25/2003 4:06:02 PM
 
Stephanie Adams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/17/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A great camera for serious ametures or PROs alike. Has a lot of features that are wonderful. Is quiet, fast and water proof. A great camera!
6/18/2003 12:33:39 PM
 
Joseph P

member since: 11/9/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera. My previous cameras were Canon Ftb and the Canon A1. Make sure to take your time to read the manual for all the available features of this camera, it has them all. A camera for the serious amateur and professional. Stay with the Canon "L" series lenses and the 550EX flash unit for ultimate results.
11/9/2002 7:06:21 PM
 
Jeremy D. West
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jeremy
Jeremy's Gallery

member since: 3/4/2010
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has everything and more. It is a little heavy, but very solid. Most of the controls are well positioned, and relatively easy to learn. The metering options are considerable, and very accurate. I use mostly the Canon "L" lenses, and the autofocus is very, very fast. Overall, I love it.
9/25/2002 9:40:15 AM
 

30 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.