F-601 (N6006) 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Reflections of Fa...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


67 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mashhood Ahmed Sheikh 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2006 5:18:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2006 5:18:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2006 5:18:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2006 5:18:20 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2006 5:18:20 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
its a bit slow camera .. takes time to process .. and plus it takes a lot of power .. and thus you run out of batteries very soon ..
and its heavy as well ..
but on the bright side .. the result is awsome ... its easy to use .. the features are enough .. nothing lacking .. you just need a good set of lenses and filters with it .. and there s nothing else that you need :)
11/23/2006 5:18:20 AM
 
Peter Beddoe 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 8:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 8:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 8:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 8:41:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 8:41:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera. Only complaint is that it is heavy.
5/5/2006 8:41:37 AM
 
OSCAR N. OLIN JR. 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:01:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:01:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:01:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:01:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:01:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
MY FIRST NIKON, HMM, IT'S A STEADY CAMERA WITH MULTIPLE OPTIONS AND A DURABLE PIECE OF MY PHOTOGRAPHIC EQUIPMENT. THE NIKON 6006 HAS ENDURED MANY TERRIBLE WEATHER CONDITIONS AND SALT CORROSION FROM SPLASHING WAVES IN THE SAINT JOHN'S RIVER AS WELL AS THE OCEAN. IT NEVER QUITS, AND NEITHER DO I.
4/30/2006 9:01:26 AM
 
Mark Crowley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:54:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:54:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:54:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:54:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 1:54:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the best camera I've ever owned!
3/29/2006 1:54:41 PM
 
Salome Klopfenstein
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:16:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:16:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:16:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:16:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 12:16:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera has always been a wonderful workhorse, and has performed quite well for anything I've needed!
12/28/2005 12:16:41 PM
 
Kelly E. Tuntland 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 8:15:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 8:15:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 8:15:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 8:15:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2005 8:15:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
this was a great camera. It got stolen from my house in 2004.
11/23/2005 8:15:34 AM
 
John E. Thomas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 4:24:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 4:24:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 4:24:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 4:24:43 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 4:24:43 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I just got this camera to go with my N5005 because it does have spot metering and the ability to manually input the film speed. I've yet to shoot a roll of film with it as I've had to get the back latch replaced. I'll update this when I know more.
10/12/2005 4:24:43 AM
 
Steven M. Gustafson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:28:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:28:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:28:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:28:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2005 4:28:39 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
What a great older camera. Have had it for years and I like the way it brackets. I shoot a lot of pictures in manual mode and the metering is great.
10/6/2005 4:28:39 AM
 
Melissa A. Hoff 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 3:13:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 3:13:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 3:13:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 3:13:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2005 3:13:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! its extreemly user frendly and has both manual and automatic options along with interchangeable lenses for varity! Its a great camera for an amature photagrapher
9/27/2005 3:13:10 AM
 
Rebecca L. Dreyfus 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 7:57:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 7:57:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 7:57:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 7:57:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 7:57:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i think it's a really good camera. it's not digital but i convert the pictures to digital. i think it takes great pictures! you can never go wrong with a Nikon!
8/28/2005 7:57:42 PM
 
ivy Broyles
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 11:38:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 11:38:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 11:38:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 11:38:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2005 11:38:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon N6006 is a very good film camera. It is tough and very durable. I have had this camera for 10 years with very little trouble. It takes great pictures and is easy to handle. I use it normally with a zoom of 28-300mm which handles most situations.
8/26/2005 11:38:54 AM
 
Bora Baysal 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 1:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 1:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 1:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 1:46:33 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2005 1:46:33 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's a entry level pro-consumer film camera. AF is kinda slow but for macro work it's good enough since I've been using manual focus most of the time.
8/25/2005 1:46:33 AM
 
Alexandra Marckx 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 11:33:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 11:33:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 11:33:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 11:33:40 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 11:33:40 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Nikon F 601 is my first camera. I have it from 1995, and it still working. The auto focus is some time to slow.
8/20/2005 11:33:40 AM
 
Pam Chewning 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 4:06:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 4:06:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 4:06:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 4:06:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2005 4:06:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Flexibility of manual or auto - lens options
8/18/2005 4:06:38 PM
 
ANGIE L. NEFF 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 2:40:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 2:40:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 2:40:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 2:40:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2005 2:40:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT, STILL LEARNING TO USE IT.
7/25/2005 2:40:53 AM
 
Jim Echols
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 6:24:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 6:24:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 6:24:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 6:24:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 6:24:00 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera, only drawback is the physical noise and and on occasions the auto focus would bug out. Just wish it was a digital!
6/25/2005 6:24:00 PM
 
Willis T. Bird 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 11:14:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 11:14:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 11:14:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 11:14:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2005 11:14:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great telephoto lens and ease of operation.
5/25/2005 11:14:23 AM
 
Hannah Ammar 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 2:14:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 2:14:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 2:14:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 2:14:02 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2005 2:14:02 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like it - but don't know how to use it well.
4/10/2005 2:14:02 PM
 
Davina R. Suran
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 7:32:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 7:32:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 7:32:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 7:32:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 7:32:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like the ability to go from an automatic setting to a manual setting with this camera because there are often times where I do not particularly care for how the automatic settings expose my pictures
4/2/2005 7:32:43 AM
 
Rajib Singha 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:56:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:56:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:56:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:56:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2005 3:56:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pretty satisfied.
3/31/2005 3:56:10 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:16:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:16:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:16:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:16:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2005 5:16:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I replaced my first camera (Canon AE-1; 1979) with my Nikon 6006 in 1997 and have been very pleased with the results over the years. I'm essentially bringing it out of the closet and blowing the dust off after several years of inactivity. For those with, or are thinking of buying one, I think it's a good buy. Why not upgrade? I've been thinking about it, and after reading many of the user reviews, particularlly about the Nikon N80, I've come to the conclusion that my next big purchase will be on the professional level, probably with the Nikon F6.
3/22/2005 5:16:29 PM
 
Tina D. McPeek 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:24:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:24:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:24:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:24:38 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 8:24:38 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very nice camera, but has some problems focusing in low light.
3/2/2005 8:24:38 PM
 
Nathan Fine
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:00:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:00:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:00:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:00:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2005 4:00:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like this camera almost as much as I like my 8008s. This was my first camera and it definately treat me well. It is also a tank and has been put through it's fair share of photo related abuse as well. this camera doesn't have as many features as the 8008 does but it definatly has enouph to get you started. So if you are an emerging or beginning photographer looking for an older camera to start you off I would highly roccomend this to any beginner or even as a backup camera the professional.
2/27/2005 4:00:26 PM
 
Dan  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:46:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:46:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:46:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:46:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2005 10:46:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very reliable camera after years of use. Fully auto functions or fully manual including bulb shutter control.
2/19/2005 10:46:43 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:52:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:52:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:52:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:52:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2005 9:52:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Since I had always shot with Pentax and moved into the Sony DSC-F717 as my first digital, I bought this on eBay, paid $100.00 for it. As a trial before moving to the Nikon d70. I had always heard about the quality of nikon cameras and lenses. I wanted to try them out before making the plunge into the d70. I was very impressed with the N6006, very sturdy, well built piece of equipment. Fits nicely in the hand very comfortable to shoot with. Came with a Quantaray 35 - 70 lense, I am quite pleased with the quality and the clarity of my photos, I can really see a difference since changing to Nikon. I still love my Pentax cameras and still shoot with all of them, they do a very nice job, but there is a difference. On Saturday, February 12, 2005, I made the plunge and bought the Nikon d70, wow, what a camera!
2/17/2005 9:52:28 AM
 
Jeff Osmond 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 4:40:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 4:40:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 4:40:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 4:40:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2005 4:40:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good camera. Very durable. Takes great pictures.
2/9/2005 4:40:01 PM
 
Nick Boren 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:35:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:35:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:35:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:35:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 10:35:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Nikon 6006. It is easy to use and has a good auto focus feature. It is durable as all Nikons are. I like the feel of Nikons they are built well and are very reliable. I have no complaints about my camera at all.
2/1/2005 10:35:06 PM
 
Vicki Hunt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2004
Contact Vicki
Vicki's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:42:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:42:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:42:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:42:02 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2005 1:42:02 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I use it for taking black and white photos and with infrared film.
2/1/2005 1:42:02 AM
 
Beth A. Manley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 8:14:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 8:14:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 8:14:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 8:14:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 8:14:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like my camera. I do with however it had the date stamped on the back of my photos.
1/31/2005 8:14:15 PM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
Contact Rita
Rita's Gallery
ritahillphoto.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 1:11:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 1:11:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 1:11:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 1:11:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2005 1:11:13 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good film camera, very dependable.
1/25/2005 1:11:13 AM
 
Bev Bohmie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 5:00:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 5:00:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 5:00:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 5:00:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2005 5:00:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera, but it has so many buttons and options that you sometimes loose your spot and shoot and don't get the desired look you want.
1/19/2005 5:00:36 PM
 
Tom Campbell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 6:59:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 6:59:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 6:59:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 6:59:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 6:59:09 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like this camera. I don't love it, but I do like it. Nice weight, easy to use, but not as advanced as I need. I've simply outgrown this camera...though it takes great low-light shots. I purchased this camera based on price and features. At the time, I knew NOTHING about photography at all. Now I'm ready to move on.
12/20/2004 6:59:09 PM
 
Carolyn Lehrke 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 11:06:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 11:06:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 11:06:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 11:06:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2004 11:06:06 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera, don't use much anymore as prefer the D100.
11/2/2004 11:06:06 AM
 
Jim Miller 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 1:55:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 1:55:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 1:55:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 1:55:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 1:55:43 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Always had problems with exposure with this camera.
10/30/2004 1:55:43 PM
 
Hailey Desormeaux 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 1:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 1:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 1:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 1:06:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 1:06:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
its ok.
10/9/2004 1:06:46 PM
 
Lisa D. Page 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:58:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:58:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:58:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:58:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:58:27 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It has been a good camera. Its provided me with an excellent learning tool.
10/2/2004 1:58:27 PM
 
Lisa D. Page 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:56:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:56:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:56:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:56:27 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 1:56:27 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It has been a good camera. Its provided me with an excellent learning tool.
10/2/2004 1:56:27 PM
 
Brian M. King 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:19:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:19:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:19:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:19:52 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:19:52 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I wish it had a depth of field preview.
10/2/2004 7:19:52 AM
 
Brian M. King 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:16:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2004 7:16:56 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I wish it had a depth of field preview. Other than that I think it is a good camera.
10/2/2004 7:16:56 AM
 
Matthew Pacheco 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 2:05:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 2:05:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 2:05:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 2:05:12 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2004 2:05:12 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love this camera.
9/24/2004 2:05:12 PM
 
Nishant A. Datt 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 7:44:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 7:44:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 7:44:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 7:44:29 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2004 7:44:29 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its great, fully manual, good to improve skills
8/28/2004 7:44:29 AM
 
Glenn M. Losack 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 8:34:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 8:34:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 8:34:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 8:34:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2004 8:34:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the 6006 was a fantastic camera at the time I mean its a Nikon!
8/27/2004 8:34:26 AM
 
Annette G. Hallowell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:11:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:11:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:11:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:11:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2004 7:11:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for 8 years. I have traveled around the world with it and it has taken a beating and kept going. I of course would like to upgrade one day, but as long as it keeps working, I will keep taking picture.
7/14/2004 7:11:51 PM
 
John Bald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/16/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2004 3:34:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful, reliable, does it all simply and well. For the record, I never use the autofocus (call me old fashioned). This body with a nice Nikkor lens = a terrific tool.
6/26/2004 3:34:54 PM
 
Phillip R. Connolly
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/21/2003
Contact Phillip
Phillip's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 5:04:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 5:04:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 5:04:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 5:04:22 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 5:04:22 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a good sturdy SLR camera that has many good features. It is somewhat shadowed by the later model offerings available in SLR's now, but it is still an excellent camera to use and produces good results.
6/22/2004 5:04:22 AM
 
Vanessa Korczyk 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 7:53:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 7:53:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 7:53:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 7:53:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 7:53:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I have an old manuel camera. Personally I believe that you should know the basic of somrthing great before stepping to something complex. Right now my camera is teaching me to notice detail in my settings, lighting and practising my eye. It is nothing fancy and I bought this for $125.00 for this purpose. Better pictures has been taken with worst cameras.
6/14/2004 7:53:11 PM
 
Clay Clifford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:15:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:15:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent Camera! It works well and continues to deliver consistently good pictures. Works as an excellent second camera for an F4s owner because it is 100% compatible with most of the F4s' lenses and speed lights. The few cons are that the original door latch is poorly designed and breaks. Replace it with an aftermarket one so you don't have to worry about it any more. It doesn't have a depth-of-field preview button which is annoying when shooting landscapes. The 2fps motordrive is slow by modern 35mm slr standards. All-in-all, however, the 6006 is an excellent camera which allows plenty of creative freedom and allows manual override of all functions. It isn't dummed down to consumers with silly "smart" modes like most modern camera's are.......and I appreciate that. I recently bought a new Nikon D70 which I like a lot, but shooting with it made me realize all the things that my 6006 does extremely well. I wish I could put a digital sensor in my 6006. :)
6/14/2004 1:15:04 PM
 
Alisha Downs 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:46:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:46:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:46:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:46:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:46:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like this camera for all it's options you have. You can choose between manual, automatic or semi-automatic mode. You have three different light metering systems and of course auto or manual focus. The only way I would like it better is if it was digital.
5/31/2004 10:46:04 PM
 
Alisha Downs 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 10:19:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I can use it in manual mode, automatic mode, or choose what I want to control. The only problem is that it's not digital.
5/31/2004 10:19:21 PM
 
Simion Nicolae 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:45:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:45:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:45:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:45:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2004 9:45:57 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like that it has spotmeter and full manual control
5/23/2004 9:45:57 AM
 
Katie Lorenz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:13:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2004 7:13:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I work in a professional Photo Lab/Studio. I use the Nikon 6006 in the studio and also on location (weddings, seniors, families). I use the 35-135mm AF Nikkor lens at all times. I purchased a Nikon N-75 for personal use recently and although I am happy with it, the 6006 produces noticeably better images (in and out of the studio). The autofocus it very touchy and can be a major problem in the studio when shooting children or pets. I prefer the manual focus mode in most cases. Other than this problem I have no other complaints.
4/23/2004 7:13:25 AM
 
Phillip M. Paulk 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:28:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:28:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:28:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:28:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 5:28:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My favorite auto-focus! You can make this camera do whatever you want to. Working around some of it's limitations is fairly easy.
4/13/2004 5:28:03 PM
 
James Tucker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 3:33:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 3:33:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 3:33:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 3:33:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2004 3:33:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nikon - 'Nuf Said!
3/23/2004 3:33:17 PM
 
Alan Tonnesen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 2:29:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 2:29:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 2:29:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 2:29:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 2:29:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Solid dependable. About the only features I miss are depth field preview and mirror lock up.
3/9/2004 2:29:39 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 7:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 7:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 7:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 7:40:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2004 7:40:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE IT AND IS MORE RESPONSIVE THAN OTHERS HAVE SAID.
3/3/2004 7:40:19 AM
 
Shilo Knauff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/19/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 2:48:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 2:48:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 2:48:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 2:48:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/19/2004 2:48:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is very easy to use in auto mode or manual.Very dependable.
1/19/2004 2:48:02 PM
 
Tom R. Danyluk 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:12:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:12:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:12:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:12:54 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 11:12:54 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very Versatile when Travelling,I don't have to lug a lot of my equipment on a ship with me.
1/8/2004 11:12:54 AM
 
Janet  Kubas 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:58:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:58:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:58:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:58:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2004 6:58:34 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like this camera because the aperature ring is around the lens and I can change it quickly without having to use the dial on the back of the camera. The down side of this camera is that it does not have a depth of field preview.
1/7/2004 6:58:34 AM
 
Alan J. Beachler 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 4:59:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 4:59:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 4:59:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 4:59:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2003 4:59:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my first SLR camera and I really like it till my X dropped it, lens first on a cement floor. BTW Up till then we had a friendly devorce.
11/8/2003 4:59:23 AM
 
donnalee cataldo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 5:48:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 5:48:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 5:48:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 5:48:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 5:48:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My husband bought this camera for me approx 8 yrs ago. I knew nothing about photography but wanted to know everything! After much discussion with camera people, he purchased this camera that I believe is quite versatile for the novice such as myself. After reading the instruction manual numerous times, I learned how to use the meter for night photography and just love it. It also has a macro lens that goes from 28mm-200mm. I can get beautiful closeups that are so natural and appealing to look at. I love the fact that it can be used either in the manual or autofocus mode. I rarely use the autofocus mode though. I'm having lots of fun and am really enjoying this web site.
11/4/2003 5:48:02 PM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/24/2005
Contact Rita
Rita's Gallery
ritahillphoto.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:31:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:31:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:31:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:31:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 6:31:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this after selling two of my Minolta bodies. I needed a auto focus w/built in flash to assist me on special assignments where I didn't need to carry extra lenses or flash attachments. I like the built in grip as well as the easy and quick way to set up setting on dials and such. Great camera for the get up and go person.
10/1/2003 6:31:09 PM
 
Jim Mulvihill 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 11:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 11:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 11:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 11:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2003 11:28:13 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Intermittent electronic problems. Repaired twice. Battery life only fair.
9/16/2003 11:28:13 AM
 
Dee G. Crawford 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 12:05:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 12:05:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 12:05:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 12:05:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/26/2003 12:05:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is a bit too heavy. I tend to have problems with my wrist after using this camera all day. (After using my Cannon's that is!) I must admit that this camera has much more metal in it than my Cannon's do. That's kind of sad...since it's not even as old as my Cannon's!
8/26/2003 12:05:11 PM
 
Ronni M. Wright 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 9:06:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 9:06:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 9:06:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 9:06:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 9:06:17 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have only recently purchased this camera but I am in love with it already. I have been all digital until now, what a difference. It is, however, much more work and for the quick things I still grab the digital.
8/18/2003 9:06:17 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 5:19:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 5:19:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 5:19:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 5:19:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/24/2003 5:19:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
IT'S VERY GOOD ESPECIALLY FOR THE WORK I'M DOING.
7/24/2003 5:19:41 AM
 
Stevie M. Sturla
sturladesign.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 3:17:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 3:17:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 3:17:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 3:17:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 3:17:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Although they don't make this camera anymore, I used it and loved it for years. A great camera for serious photographers.
7/4/2003 3:17:17 PM
 
Franklin D. Forsythe 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 1:18:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 1:18:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 1:18:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 1:18:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/24/2002 1:18:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This one is my main camera that I bought after it being recommended by a friend.I also needed an autofocus camera to shoot my brothers wedding, "whew". I'll also be the first to admit that I dont understand all its functions only because I can just turn it in and use it fast. I was mostly impressed with the optics,crisp and clear. I also like it's constant auto focusing mode. It came in handy when shooting action shots like a champ.It may not be the best of the nikon line, but then again, its the photographer and not always the camera, right!
11/24/2002 1:18:19 PM
 

67 Reviews