Maxxum 450si SLR


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Canal
View photos created with this camera

The Maxxum 450si SLR

No matter what your photographic experience may be, the Maxxum 450si makes taking pictures a profound pleasure. Thatís because itís equipped with fully automatic mode for point & shoot simplicity, subject program selection for those hard-to-take shots, and complete creative control with aperture priority, shutter priority, and manual exposure modes.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Megan Pearce 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 1:32:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 1:32:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 1:32:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 1:32:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2005 1:32:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is a good camera for me. It has many of the basic settings needed and many lenses and filters avaliable.
6/14/2005 1:32:33 PM
 
Shain Picard 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:01:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:01:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:01:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:01:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 1:01:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i own a 450si panorama date model which does come with a cable release socket. I really like this camera and it takes great pics. its also a really good camera for beginners. pros might find it a little limited with what they can do but overall I love it
1/31/2005 1:01:59 AM
 
Mike F. Hanly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an excelent camera for beginers but the lack of a cable release is a serious reason for aspiring photographers wanting to grow, to pass this camera by.
12/14/2004 2:50:42 PM
 
Mike F. Hanly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:50:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an excelent camera for beginers but the lack of a cable release is a serious reason for aspiring photographers wanting to grow, to pass this camera by.
12/14/2004 2:50:00 PM
 
Mike F. Hanly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:49:02 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/14/2004 2:49:02 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an excelent camera for beginers but the lack of a cable release is a serious reason for aspiring photographers wanting to grow, to pass this camera by.
12/14/2004 2:49:02 PM
 
Christopher W. Holmes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:20:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:20:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:20:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:20:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/28/2004 6:20:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera. My first SLR.
7/28/2004 6:20:43 AM
 
Kevin M. Dyer 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:26:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:26:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:26:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:26:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2004 5:26:40 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I generally like my camara because it is very user friendly and is fine for about 85% of the shots that I want to take. However, my biggest complaint is that it doesen't have a cable release, so in order to reduce camara shake while mounted on a tripod I must use my timer. This is not ideal for candid shots. I use a Tamron 28mm - 200mm lens which I love because it allows me to only carry one lens while I travel. It's not very fast and not very good for macro shots but the trade off has been worth it.
4/25/2004 5:26:40 PM
 
Ellen  C. Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:47:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:47:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:47:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:47:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2004 3:47:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It seems easy to use. The users manual has been a great asset. I like the ability to use the auto modes, or to use manual mode if I choose. I'm still learning how best to use it. Everyone always says - " Wow! Your camera takes really good pictures! What kind is it?" I have yet to figure out how to stop the film from advancing automatically. So, I haven't been able to try a double exposure.
4/12/2004 3:47:10 PM
 
Charissa Flowers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:00:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:00:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:00:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:00:48 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2003 9:00:48 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I would recommend this camera to somebody just starting out with 35mm SLR camera's. It is very easy to use while learning all the features. I am looking to upgrade and get a newer model, maybe a Nikon or a Canon instead.
10/27/2003 9:00:48 AM
 
Sue J. Reinberg 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:37:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:37:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:37:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:37:06 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 9:37:06 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best part about my camera is its user friendly style. I also love the clear pictures that I get with excellent color.
10/1/2003 9:37:06 PM
 
Sandy J. Neary 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 5:17:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 5:17:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 5:17:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 5:17:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 5:17:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
You can't beat this camera for getting some great shots. Whether you are using Program or Manual settings, it really turns out fantastic pictures. It's a shame it doesn't have the capability to use a cable release, or it would have just about everything one would need on a camera for quick shots!!
9/20/2003 5:17:28 PM
 

First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)