Coolpix 995 (E995) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Petrified Forest
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 995 (E995) Digital Camera

Features:

  • 3.34 megapixel sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality prints at 8 x 10 inches and beyond
  • 4x optical plus 4x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 19 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Includes dedicated long-life rechargeable Li-ion battery and charger
  • This updated version of the Coolpix 990 adds a more powerful zoom, pop-up flash, lithium-ion battery, and several other refinements


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


69 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:14:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 6:14:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It was given to me as a gift a year ago, and it has allowed me to learn and enjoy photography with a great deal of comfort. Though I wish I had a better camera, I could not imagine a better camera for my first digital. I have taken hiking and skiing, biking around town, dropped it from a bridge and dropped cliff bands on my skis with it, and it is still here. That must meen something.
6/29/2006 6:14:00 PM
 
Natasha C. Nichols 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:28:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:28:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:28:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:28:45 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 1:28:45 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I like my camera but it takes a while to reload after taking a photo. Sometimes, the moment is gone in waiting for the camera to reload.
6/15/2006 1:28:45 PM
 
Peter Hoetmer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 10:57:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 10:57:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 10:57:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 10:57:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 10:57:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A handy versatile camera, I use it now for 4 years, low res, so I'm saving up for a better one, probably the Finepix S9500.
6/4/2006 10:57:26 AM
 
Pasquale Tempesta 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:16:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:16:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:16:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:16:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 12:16:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Bought three years ago and well used since in many travels; now it seems too slow, so I have added a DSLR, a Nikon D50 and I hope it will show the same good results in the future.
2/20/2006 12:16:26 PM
 
Neldon L. Reeves
Contact Neldon
Neldon's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 6:15:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 6:15:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 6:15:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 6:15:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2006 6:15:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the flexibility of the rotating lens of the camera. It allows for easy photographing of objects and scenes without having to stoop, bend over, etc. Wish it had a better optical zoom.
2/1/2006 6:15:48 PM
 
Amanda Byrne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:25:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:25:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:25:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:25:28 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:25:28 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
handy, durable, needs better zoom
1/15/2006 1:25:28 PM
 
Peter Blakeman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:18:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:18:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:18:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:18:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 5:18:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great for virtual tours and 360 degree images.
1/15/2006 5:18:49 AM
 
Justin  Staples 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:47:37 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:47:37 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
You can choose you own range in pixels in this digital camera. You are not limited to a small sized picture. The zoom quality is excellent, and your pictures do not become pixelated.
12/30/2005 1:47:37 PM
 
Robert M. Scott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:06:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:06:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:06:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:06:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2005 5:06:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
First digtal camera I owned, and I loved it. I still use it as backup to my Nikon D70. Small light weight, good auto focus, very good in close up photogaphy. Over 26,000 pictures through it, and it still works. It does have some blowned pictals (11), but I can work around that if I have to.
12/29/2005 5:06:12 AM
 
Dan Williams 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 2:39:22 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 2:39:22 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 2:39:22 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 2:39:22 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 2:39:22 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
way too slow...
12/25/2005 2:39:22 PM
 
Ayman A. Aljammaz 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:06:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:06:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:06:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:06:50 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 12:06:50 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love this camera, using it, I learned photography, and experianced with alot of options that are not available in many new cameras
12/7/2005 12:06:50 AM
 
Tiffany M. Lisle 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:47:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:47:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:47:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:47:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:47:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love that even though it is on the older side, it still takes great pictures
12/5/2005 8:47:28 AM
 
Katy Steinmetz 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 9:10:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 9:10:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 9:10:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 9:10:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2005 9:10:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The swivel capabilites and the lens are excellent for macro shots, better than the D70 I use some of the time. It is however, slow as all get out, and I've missed many a shot becuase of its careful consideration of my button-pushing.
11/18/2005 9:10:23 AM
 
Robert Heard 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 12:22:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 12:22:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 12:22:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 12:22:58 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2005 12:22:58 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Other than the slow processing speed, this has been a very good camera. The swivel feature makes it versatile when you can't look through the lens
10/7/2005 12:22:58 PM
 
Frank R. Wilson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 11:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 11:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 11:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 11:59:33 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2005 11:59:33 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
With the convenience of a smaller camera like this one the features are endless.
9/4/2005 11:59:33 PM
 
Viktoria S. Kawka 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 12:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 12:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 12:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 12:53:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 12:53:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love the camera! Lots to learn yet...
8/30/2005 12:53:52 PM
 
Stephen J. & Viktoria S. Kawka
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 10:22:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 10:22:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 10:22:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 10:22:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 10:22:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i have a Nikon coolpix 8700.....love the camera!
8/30/2005 10:22:53 AM
 
Donna M. Ruzzano 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:22:25 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2005 12:22:25 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
doesn't compare to my old Nikon FE film camera but instant photos are fun
8/15/2005 12:22:25 AM
 
Jim Kilpatrick 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:25:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:25:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:25:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:25:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2005 9:25:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera and I've been extremely happy with it from the first picture. The only down-side is the poor flash capability.
8/2/2005 9:25:57 PM
 
Connor V. 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 5:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 5:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 5:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 5:50:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 5:50:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great entry level camera.
7/16/2005 5:50:22 PM
 
Jerry Thompson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 11:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 11:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 11:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 11:19:00 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2005 11:19:00 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It has been a good camera to start with. I am looking for one that I can have a better lens selection because of the animal and landscape photos I enjoy taking. It is great for portraits and macro photos.
7/5/2005 11:19:00 AM
 
Carla Manning 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:30:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:30:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:30:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:30:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2005 12:30:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a handy camera, because it is a digital. The only thing I dont like about it is the delay in taking the photos. Makes it tough to catch photos of things that are happening in the moment. Photos come out crystal clear upon review and printed.
6/25/2005 12:30:15 PM
 
Stephen M. Veneski 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 4:02:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 4:02:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 4:02:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 4:02:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 4:02:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using my Nikon Coolpix 995 for a couple of years and have been happy with its performance
6/24/2005 4:02:22 PM
 
Anthony Glover 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:19:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:19:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:19:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:19:00 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2005 6:19:00 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I'm not really sure...This is my first camera and i have nothing to compare it to...
5/21/2005 6:19:00 AM
 
Tiffany M. Lisle 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 5:42:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 5:42:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 5:42:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 5:42:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2005 5:42:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera!! IT takes AWESOME photos, and it uploads on to my computer so easily.
5/18/2005 5:42:39 PM
 
Camilla EuDaly 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 2:44:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 2:44:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 2:44:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 2:44:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 2:44:06 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A great first digital camera. Enough manual options to be creative.
5/12/2005 2:44:06 PM
 
Dawn I. Hagan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 3:50:25 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 3:50:25 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 3:50:25 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 3:50:25 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2005 3:50:25 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a great camera for macro. I do not use it for distance. There are no good telephoto lens attachments for it.
4/27/2005 3:50:25 PM
 
Magicc Imagery 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:30:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:30:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:30:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:30:13 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 12:30:13 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Limiting camera but my first Digital
4/2/2005 12:30:13 PM
 
Mark Spencer 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:08:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:08:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:08:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:08:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 12:08:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Point and shoot, love the flip around lens, love using the Nikon Fisheye lens
2/7/2005 12:08:43 PM
 
Richard Parker 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 6:17:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 6:17:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 6:17:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 6:17:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 6:17:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an extremely versatile camera. It has some of the best optics in the business and works just about anywhere and in all kinds of light. In low light it will adjust to take pictures without flash, although sometimes it is necessary. I like the fact that the flash does not work automatically when the light is low. The only drawback is when you do use the flash it is slow.
1/26/2005 6:17:24 AM
 
Suresh Haridas 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:06:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:06:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:06:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:06:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/24/2005 5:06:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first digital camera and I have never regretted it.Fantastic Macro and absolutely flexible and I have A4 Enlargements on the wall.
1/24/2005 5:06:41 AM
 
Heather R. Breeding 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:49:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:49:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:49:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:49:54 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 8:49:54 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the ease of switching between modes and the quality of pictures, but I have already been told that it is "out of date." I wanted a bounce flash to go with it and was told that they didn't carry parts for it anymore. That's the world of technology, out of date before you use it. It takes poor action shots but does a real nice black and white. I love it for outdoor photography (my favorite).
12/28/2004 8:49:54 PM
 
Grace Imelda Utomo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 9:24:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 9:24:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 9:24:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 9:24:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/17/2004 9:24:24 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
just point and shot. and i get what i want. what u see, what u get ;)
12/17/2004 9:24:24 AM
 
Mel Wilner 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:08:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:08:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:08:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:08:39 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/23/2004 1:08:39 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Better on camera flash than my 990. However, the lithium battery is not as convenient as 4 NiMh rechargeables for my Nikon 950.
11/23/2004 1:08:39 AM
 
Pat Brookes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:52:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:52:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:52:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:52:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:52:58 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Versatile with manual and automatic features. I specificaly like the rotating feature that lets me view what I want from easy angles. I also like the optional flash pop-up. I get very good pictures with this camera and it is not too bulky or heavy. The usual negative is slow shutter reflex with a digital, but if you plan it's not impossible to deal with.
9/5/2004 11:52:58 AM
 
Pat Brookes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:47:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:47:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:47:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:47:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 11:47:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Versatile with manual and automatic features. I specificaly like the rotating feature that lets me view what I want from easy angles. I also like the optional flash pop-up. I get very good pictures with this camera and it is not too bulky or heavy. The usual negative is slow shutter reflex with a digital, but if you plan it's not impossible to deal with.
9/5/2004 11:47:19 AM
 
Howard Leigh 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 8:45:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 8:45:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 8:45:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 8:45:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2004 8:45:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Getting old in the tooth - but still invaluable especially for close-up photography
7/30/2004 8:45:36 AM
 
Donna C. Peacock 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 11:40:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 11:40:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 11:40:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 11:40:51 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2004 11:40:51 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Nikon Coolpix 995 is a great camera with one exception, the flash does not carry far enough. I have not figured out how to get good flash photo if I am over 4 feet from subject or if I try to take a group I don't get even exposure. For all other purposes it is a wonderful camera.
7/21/2004 11:40:51 PM
 
Kristie N. Baxter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:27:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:27:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:27:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:27:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2004 11:27:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My First Digital Camera
6/11/2004 11:27:12 AM
 
Olivia L 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 8:40:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 8:40:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 8:40:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 8:40:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 8:40:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, i just wish the video recorder had sound and the processor would be a little faster
6/9/2004 8:40:35 PM
 
Martin R. Hulak 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:11:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:11:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:11:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:11:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:11:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I own 2 cameras both NIKON and the FE was a good camera until I got the 995 and now I snap pictures all over the place . If I mess up just simply delete it. The pictures are very clear and everyone gives me positive come backs all the time. I chose NIKON because of the swivel function and get above other peoples heads and still be able to aim. Also it is a name I trust I use Compupic pro to quickly make size and cropping changes
5/31/2004 8:11:16 AM
 
Charles Haire 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 3:49:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 3:49:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 3:49:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 3:49:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2004 3:49:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for quick candid images up to 8x10 enlargements.
4/20/2004 3:49:38 PM
 
Nancy P. Pedersen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 6:53:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 6:53:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 6:53:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 6:53:52 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 6:53:52 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice little camera. Like the swivel. Makes excellent images for 3.3mpx
4/6/2004 6:53:52 PM
 
Lars Raun 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:21:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:21:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:21:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:21:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 1:21:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've used a nikon 601AF slr for 10 years when I purchased the cp995 compact camera. I was surprised of how flexible this new camera was. Many of the manual settings I had gotten used to on the slr was still available. On top of that I also discovered macro-photography, thanks to this cameras close-range features. I'm very pleased with it in general. I'm considering the new D70, mainly because I want to use a wider range of lenses. Also the resolution of the cp995 is becoming outdated. When I bought the cp995 I first read alot of reviews, such as those found on dpreview. It's nice to have someone with alot of technical knowledge guide you into buying the proper gear.
3/30/2004 1:21:32 PM
 
Charles R. Frey 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 12:29:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 12:29:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 12:29:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 12:29:55 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 12:29:55 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera works really well in the macro mode! Also, surprisingly, the swivel lens really comes in handy. You can get some really interesting angle shots with that feature and makes up some if you don't have a wide-angle adapter. The camera produces sharp and colorful images. It is only weak when taking landscape photo over the water or gray dominated images, such as US Navy ships. You can see plenty of RGB noise in those pics.
1/31/2004 12:29:55 AM
 
Paul D. Roach 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 7:46:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 7:46:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 7:46:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 7:46:00 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 7:46:00 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A wonderful prosumer cam. Love the rotating/split body and addtional lense capability. With a sharp display it has most of the features I could want. A great first digital cam! Paul D. Roach
1/15/2004 7:46:00 PM
 
Clarence Lynn 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:38:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:38:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:38:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:38:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 8:38:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Purchased a an entry camera in digital photography. It has met my expectations. The meter system is excellent. The battery lasts "forever". My next digital camera will be tne Nikon D1x.
1/15/2004 8:38:51 AM
 
Darrell L. Collins 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 9:16:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 9:16:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 9:16:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 9:16:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2004 9:16:36 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
At the time it was purchased it was a good digital camera. A 3x optical zoom (i think), reasonably accurate color. Not very quick. In fact incredibly slow. Difficult manual operation, but having said that it's provided my family with hundreds of great pictures.
1/10/2004 9:16:36 AM
 
James  Clarke 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:05:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:05:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:05:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:05:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 5:05:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A workhorse. Reliable, and trustworthy.
1/9/2004 5:05:29 PM
 
Norman Gem B. Ellasos 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:26:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:26:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:26:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:26:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 12:26:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It Lacks manual Focus, restricting you to the camera's automatic control. Other than that, It is a great camera for beginners to Intermediate. It's one great travel Camera!
1/1/2004 12:26:39 AM
 
Robert J. Benson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 12:23:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 12:23:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 12:23:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 12:23:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 12:23:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've used Nikon camera and lenses for over 30 years, to me they are the best.
12/23/2003 12:23:41 PM
 
Tate Davidson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 9:44:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 9:44:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 9:44:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 9:44:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 9:44:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Note: I have sold this camera, but the pictures I am submitting used it. This camera was versatile and had the potential to take great images. It's problem areas were in dark situations. I have since purchased a DSC-V1 5mpxl
11/13/2003 9:44:04 AM
 
Ryan P. Brill 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 8:58:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 8:58:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 8:58:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 8:58:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 8:58:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It has so many options to work with. I owned a kodak and fuji before this and they dont compare.
11/13/2003 8:58:40 AM
 
Ross King 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 7:18:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 7:18:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 7:18:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 7:18:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 7:18:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am a beginner and I can use the camera in default.
11/7/2003 7:18:01 PM
 
Ron Cicotte 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 8:41:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 8:41:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 8:41:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 8:41:54 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2003 8:41:54 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The E995 is my second digital camera. My first was a Sony Mavica which I liked for the convenience of digital but it had very few features that would allow for good image control. The 995 is a much better camera but still short of what you really need to take great pictures. Digital cameras are improving and as the cost continues to fall and features improve I hope to own one someday that will compete with my film cameras for in camera image control. I own many film cameras (all Nikon) and my favorite is the FM (totally manual) which I have had for nearly 20 years. The E995 has a fixed zoom lens with a 35mm equivilent range of 38 - 152 mm. This is OK for most snapshot purposes and you can even get some quite good effects once you learn to deal with the limitations. Among the most serious limitations of this camera is the lack of thru the lens focusing, shutter lag and cycle time between shots.
10/30/2003 8:41:54 AM
 
Betty M. Dale 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 2:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 2:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 2:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 2:06:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2003 2:06:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It does everything that I want it to except that I would really like to have an infrared feature. The pictures are nice a clear; the camera is small and easy to use; I have control over the flash.
10/22/2003 2:06:22 PM
 
Marlon H. Long
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/15/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 1:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 1:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 1:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 1:51:54 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/20/2003 1:51:54 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The split rotating lens is the best feature.
9/20/2003 1:51:54 AM
 
Jeff Lynch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/22/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 6:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 6:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 6:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 6:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 6:02:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Once you get a handle on all the features, this is a nice camera. It has its limitations but I have learned to work within them.
9/15/2003 6:02:50 PM
 
Michae L. Defina 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 1:23:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 1:23:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 1:23:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 1:23:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/10/2003 1:23:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a solid camera that is well made. I put it on my car roof once and it fell off about a mile down the road while driving about 35 miles per hour. Incredibly the thing still works!!! I miss the ergonomics of my old 35mm, but overall I like the camera.
9/10/2003 1:23:41 PM
 
Joe L. Dickerson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 11:46:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 11:46:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 11:46:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 11:46:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/2/2003 11:46:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love all of the features and flexibility of the camera. The lense is alittle small in diameter 28mm but there are alot of accessories that will go on this cammera; lenses, filters, etc.
9/2/2003 11:46:43 AM
 
Dennis Handa 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 1:34:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 1:34:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 1:34:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 1:34:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2003 1:34:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good for mid priced digital-great pix potential also it can take RAW format---I found it very reliable -have switched to D100
8/21/2003 1:34:35 PM
 
Deborah L. Thompson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2003
RadiantExpressions.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 4:14:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 4:14:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 4:14:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 4:14:17 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2003 4:14:17 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent tool for macro//light and easy to use. I like it so much I have bought two!
7/25/2003 4:14:17 PM
 
Ira D. Thomas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/16/2003
irathomasphotos.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 5:20:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 5:20:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 5:20:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 5:20:18 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2003 5:20:18 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good flexibility, cannot use the monitor outside, hate the delay between activating the shutter and the actual picture recording.
7/10/2003 5:20:18 PM
 
David Sands 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:06:24 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:06:24 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:06:24 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:06:24 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2003 6:06:24 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
great optics, too many darn buttons, not good in low light situations.
6/24/2003 6:06:24 AM
 
Kay Prather 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 7:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 7:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 7:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 7:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2003 7:23:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I find the NIkon Cp is wonderful for macros..
6/23/2003 7:23:16 PM
 
Andrew G. Sich 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 10:51:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 10:51:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 10:51:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 10:51:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 10:51:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great camera
6/22/2003 10:51:07 PM
 
Paramveer S. Singh 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:23:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:23:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:23:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:23:48 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2003 7:23:48 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Well I really liked the clarity and the resolution of the photographs, except the functioning speed at times.. The switching on time, the focus etc.
6/18/2003 7:23:48 AM
 
Lorraine T. Lynch
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/17/2002
Contact Lorraine
Lorraine's Gallery
LivingColorPhotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:27:34 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 2:27:34 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Macro feature the best....and it is small, compact and easy to use...The flash is so-so.
6/17/2003 2:27:34 PM
 
Patrick Campbell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/21/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:26:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:26:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:26:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:26:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 12:26:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
For its intended use, this camera has outstanding feature set. The picture quality is excellent. The build quality is excellent, plus it's small and light. The swivel lens allows one to shoot low or high and easily see what's on the LCD screen about to be photographed. It has a flash sync connector that allows (with a bracket) to connect an external flash and greatly expand the flash capabilities of the camera. It also can accept a remote control. Screw on accessory lenses and filters, including a polarizer, are available at a reasonable cost, also improving the capabilites of this camera. It can focus down to about 2 inches, so you have macro capability without having to buy anything else. There are a few complaints I have, mostly just limitations for a camera in this price range. The optical viewfinder is practically useless. I use the LCD screen to frame shots, but it's hard to see in bright light. I bought a velcro attached add-on accessory that magnifies the LCD screen and allows viewing in bright light to get around that problem. The autofocus is sometimes slow and "hunts" in dim light. Photos are also "noisy" in dim light and require editing. Shutter lag is a significant problem for action shots. Manual focus is accomplished by selecting a distance from camera to subject, which is difficult to use at best. Once I tried taking photos of skiers and boarders going over jumps and was greatly frustrated in trying to prefocus and time the shots properly. While this camera has a great feature set, the menus and controls used to access the features take a long time to learn. After a year of use I find I still forget how to change certain settings. The rechargeable batteries don't last very long, and you should plan or carrying at least two if you're going to be out shooting for the day. You can purchase these from Nikon or other vendors, but not at the local store. Finally, it has only a 3.3 MP CCD, so it has inherent limitations on the maximum size of sharp photos and will never produce photos as high quality as an entry level film SLR with lens going for ~$400, not to mention 6 MP digital SLRs from Nikon, Canon, and Fuji going for $1500 to $2000 now.
6/17/2003 12:26:22 PM
 

69 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 995 (E995) Digital Camera from Amazon.com