BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 775 (E775) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Colours
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 775 (E775) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2.14 megapixel sensor creates 1600 x 1200 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 3x optical plus 2.5x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 10 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Built-in 5-mode flash to light up any scene
  • Includes dedicated long-life rechargeable Li-ion battery and charger


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


30 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Shariful haque Topu

member since: 6/11/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
gud enough...
7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM
 
Michelle L. Mong
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good camera for point and shoot types of pictures.
3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM
 
Varian E. Cooney

member since: 11/27/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A decent beginner's camera, the picture is sharp considering it's only around 2 megapixels... The actual time it requires to take a picture is rather a downer; very slow shutter time.
11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM
 
Lorine L. Owings

member since: 8/16/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a small midpriced camera it has a remarkablly good lense. It's fairly easy to use with presets but allows the photographer flexablilty to vary setting. Dislike the digital zoom but he 3x optical works well. a very reliable camera!!
8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM
 
Kim Zacha

member since: 6/9/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for 5 years and have taken 1000's of photos. I have decided to step up to a better camera. This camera has taken some golden pictures. My only dislike is the slowness of the shutter. I sometimes miss shots. It is hard to predict action.
7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM
 
Shaun P. Dalrymple

member since: 4/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
First digital camera, all 2 megapixels! Great little camera, got me started with digital, great for snapshots!
4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM
 
Luke C. Penny

member since: 3/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first digital camera. It was great at the time but technology has improved greatly. My only complaint about the camera is the battery charger did not hold up.
4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM
 
Michael R. McKenney
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Michael
Michael's Gallery

member since: 10/21/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A really great "first" digital camera! Many features, but point-and-shoot works well.
10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM
 
Dominic A. Yount

member since: 10/7/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great camera low mega-pixels
10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM
 
Kevin J. Bakken

member since: 8/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Greatest 2.1 Megapixel Digital Camera I have used.
8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM
 
Eva Habibi

member since: 7/2/2004
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
ok for beginners. But it's very slow in between taking shots. Little over a year old, the zoom got stuck. I'm not happy with the performance or the life of this camera.
7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM
 
Eva Habibi

member since: 7/2/2004
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
this camera was ok for beginners, but it was very slow between taking shots. Little over a year old, the zoom lens got stuck. I'm not happy with the performance or the life of this camera.
7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM
 
Eva Habibi

member since: 7/2/2004
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
THIS CAMERA WAS GOOD FOR BEGINNERS,BUT IT WAS EXTREMELY SLOW BETWEEN TAKING SHOTS. ALSO, TRYING TO DELETE A PICTURE TOOK FOR EVER. EVENTUALLY, (IN LITTLE OVER A YEAR) THE ZOOM LENZ GOT STUCK AND IT READ "SYSTEM ERROR". I'M NOT HAPPY WITH THE LIFE OR THE PERFORMANCE OF THIS CAMERA.
7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM
 
Charlie Mancini

member since: 7/2/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Fantastic beginners camera, can produce very professional photos but the zoom is not good the picture goes pixelated if you use the full zoom.
7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM
 
Michael S. Germann

member since: 6/14/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Has lived up to what I expected from it I bought it knowing it had a small problem with highlites on objets but for me it is just what I wanted with the apporpiate lens I wanterd
6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM
 
Laura Berman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/23/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
very slow action between depressing the button and the shutter engaging, making it difficult to hold the camera still without a tripod
4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM
 
Alison M. Hong

member since: 4/4/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This has been a "fine" point and shoot/bring everywhere camera for us for the past 2 1/2 years.
4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM
 
Pollie Howland

member since: 1/31/2004
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
Now it is old, slow and lacking enough pixels for what I need. It does take decent automatic shots and is small, easy, trouble free and still working. It's what I started on three years ago. Now my 16 yr. old son uses it. It's perfect for the snap shot stuff he takes of his friends. I'm sure that was always it's highest and best use. The batteries are still quite good after 3 yrs. also, surprisingly.
2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM
 
Patti A. Leppala

member since: 1/14/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's new to me.
1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM
 
Kimberly Baggett

member since: 6/19/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think that this is one of the EASIEST digital cameras to use! It is my first digital camera. I bought it, read some of the manual and then learned as I used it...have not stopped taking pictures since! That was two years ago this month!
1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM
 
Timothy J. Weatherwax

member since: 11/29/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is very simple to use and takes great pictures
11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM
 
Cameron Harris

member since: 9/18/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good, quick snap camera with good results. It may not have the most settings, or be many megapixels... but it is very clear and good. It is a bit rubbish in night though. It sometimes cant focus. Cant take low lux photos without a flash. Not very good if you want a natural light photo at night.
9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM
 
Laura J. Higginbotham

member since: 2/18/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wish it had more zoom.
9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM
 
Steven Mitchell

member since: 2/21/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good image quality, pocket sized, takes a good macro for a camera this size
8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM
 
teresa mitchell

member since: 12/15/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera to get you started, I still have it but have sice moved on to a Fugi Fine Pics 602Zoom.
8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM
 
Susan LaBar-Schrum

member since: 5/25/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good all around digital camera
7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM
 
Rosemarie Beall
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rosemarie
Rosemarie's Gallery

member since: 11/8/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is one sweet baby. The only thing missing is quickshot.
7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM
 
Jeremy  L. Clemons

member since: 2/15/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
doesnt take very good pictures in low light too small of flash
7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM
 
Tyree L. Bourne

member since: 6/28/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The quality is very good considering it is a 2 megapixel. I am very happy with it. Obviously it has some creative limitations as it is a compact but the freedom to shoot without worrying about the cost of film and developing have been a huge advantage and have meant an improvement in my photography.
6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM
 
teresa mitchell

member since: 12/15/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a beginner's camera this is great. It was my very first camera and I have since moved on to a Fuji Finepix S602Zoom. I still love my Nikon. It eased me gently into the world of digital photography. It was easy to use and I have had some really great results. I have even entered them into the February competition on Betterphoto.com. The camera is very portable too.
2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM
 

30 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Coolpix 775 (E775) Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.