Coolpix 775 (E775) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Colours
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 775 (E775) Digital Camera

Features:


  • 2.14 megapixel sensor creates 1600 x 1200 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 3x optical plus 2.5x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB CompactFlash memory card holds 10 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Built-in 5-mode flash to light up any scene
  • Includes dedicated long-life rechargeable Li-ion battery and charger


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


30 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Shariful haque Topu 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
gud enough...
7/3/2006 5:21:09 AM
 
Michelle L. Mong
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good camera for point and shoot types of pictures.
3/27/2006 9:19:24 PM
 
Varian E. Cooney 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A decent beginner's camera, the picture is sharp considering it's only around 2 megapixels... The actual time it requires to take a picture is rather a downer; very slow shutter time.
11/27/2005 9:33:39 AM
 
Lorine L. Owings 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a small midpriced camera it has a remarkablly good lense. It's fairly easy to use with presets but allows the photographer flexablilty to vary setting. Dislike the digital zoom but he 3x optical works well. a very reliable camera!!
8/16/2005 10:22:33 AM
 
Kim Zacha 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I have used this camera for 5 years and have taken 1000's of photos. I have decided to step up to a better camera. This camera has taken some golden pictures. My only dislike is the slowness of the shutter. I sometimes miss shots. It is hard to predict action.
7/6/2005 9:15:58 PM
 
Shaun P. Dalrymple 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
First digital camera, all 2 megapixels! Great little camera, got me started with digital, great for snapshots!
4/30/2005 12:44:42 PM
 
Luke C. Penny 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
My first digital camera. It was great at the time but technology has improved greatly. My only complaint about the camera is the battery charger did not hold up.
4/7/2005 4:04:14 PM
 
Michael R. McKenney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/21/2004
Contact Michael
Michael's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A really great "first" digital camera! Many features, but point-and-shoot works well.
10/30/2004 6:23:55 AM
 
Dominic A. Yount 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great camera low mega-pixels
10/7/2004 9:20:53 PM
 
Kevin J. Bakken 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Greatest 2.1 Megapixel Digital Camera I have used.
8/29/2004 11:50:22 PM
 
Eva Habibi 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
ok for beginners. But it's very slow in between taking shots. Little over a year old, the zoom got stuck. I'm not happy with the performance or the life of this camera.
7/3/2004 1:16:11 PM
 
Eva Habibi 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
this camera was ok for beginners, but it was very slow between taking shots. Little over a year old, the zoom lens got stuck. I'm not happy with the performance or the life of this camera.
7/3/2004 1:14:08 PM
 
Eva Habibi 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM
Rating: 1 out of 5
THIS CAMERA WAS GOOD FOR BEGINNERS,BUT IT WAS EXTREMELY SLOW BETWEEN TAKING SHOTS. ALSO, TRYING TO DELETE A PICTURE TOOK FOR EVER. EVENTUALLY, (IN LITTLE OVER A YEAR) THE ZOOM LENZ GOT STUCK AND IT READ "SYSTEM ERROR". I'M NOT HAPPY WITH THE LIFE OR THE PERFORMANCE OF THIS CAMERA.
7/2/2004 10:38:05 AM
 
Charlie Mancini 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Fantastic beginners camera, can produce very professional photos but the zoom is not good the picture goes pixelated if you use the full zoom.
7/2/2004 7:35:24 AM
 
Michael S. Germann 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Has lived up to what I expected from it I bought it knowing it had a small problem with highlites on objets but for me it is just what I wanted with the apporpiate lens I wanterd
6/21/2004 12:15:57 PM
 
Laura Berman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
very slow action between depressing the button and the shutter engaging, making it difficult to hold the camera still without a tripod
4/22/2004 9:05:27 PM
 
Alison M. Hong 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This has been a "fine" point and shoot/bring everywhere camera for us for the past 2 1/2 years.
4/6/2004 5:08:48 PM
 
Pollie Howland 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM
Rating: 1 out of 5
Now it is old, slow and lacking enough pixels for what I need. It does take decent automatic shots and is small, easy, trouble free and still working. It's what I started on three years ago. Now my 16 yr. old son uses it. It's perfect for the snap shot stuff he takes of his friends. I'm sure that was always it's highest and best use. The batteries are still quite good after 3 yrs. also, surprisingly.
2/23/2004 3:20:39 PM
 
Patti A. Leppala 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's new to me.
1/14/2004 9:10:18 AM
 
Kimberly Baggett 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I think that this is one of the EASIEST digital cameras to use! It is my first digital camera. I bought it, read some of the manual and then learned as I used it...have not stopped taking pictures since! That was two years ago this month!
1/5/2004 6:25:24 PM
 
Timothy J. Weatherwax 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is very simple to use and takes great pictures
11/29/2003 6:35:43 PM
 
Cameron Harris 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good, quick snap camera with good results. It may not have the most settings, or be many megapixels... but it is very clear and good. It is a bit rubbish in night though. It sometimes cant focus. Cant take low lux photos without a flash. Not very good if you want a natural light photo at night.
9/18/2003 9:49:00 AM
 
Laura J. Higginbotham 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wish it had more zoom.
9/15/2003 8:29:48 PM
 
Steven Mitchell 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good image quality, pocket sized, takes a good macro for a camera this size
8/10/2003 3:32:04 AM
 
teresa mitchell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A great camera to get you started, I still have it but have sice moved on to a Fugi Fine Pics 602Zoom.
8/10/2003 1:58:57 AM
 
Susan LaBar-Schrum 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A good all around digital camera
7/29/2003 6:16:48 PM
 
Rosemarie Beall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/8/2002
Contact Rosemarie
Rosemarie's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is one sweet baby. The only thing missing is quickshot.
7/6/2003 12:10:19 AM
 
Jeremy  L. Clemons 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
doesnt take very good pictures in low light too small of flash
7/3/2003 12:41:02 PM
 
Tyree L. Bourne 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The quality is very good considering it is a 2 megapixel. I am very happy with it. Obviously it has some creative limitations as it is a compact but the freedom to shoot without worrying about the cost of film and developing have been a huge advantage and have meant an improvement in my photography.
6/30/2003 1:34:01 PM
 
teresa mitchell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As a beginner's camera this is great. It was my very first camera and I have since moved on to a Fuji Finepix S602Zoom. I still love my Nikon. It eased me gently into the world of digital photography. It was easy to use and I have had some really great results. I have even entered them into the February competition on Betterphoto.com. The camera is very portable too.
2/28/2003 5:42:11 AM
 

30 Reviews  

Buy Coolpix 775 (E775) Digital Camera from Amazon.com