XG1 SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Praying2
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marta A. Fisher 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Worked great for me for 10 years.
5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM
 
Cari Anne 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love its focusing ring- super easy. It's also a great fit for small hands. I don't like that it is aperture priority, however, because the light meter only works while in automatic mode. Then there's a safety switch to take it off of the Automatic setting. Pretty decent camera for beginners, I think.
4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM
 
Christopher W. Fiscus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have had the Minolta XG-1 for 25 years and it still works as good as the day I got it. This is the camera that inspired me to always want to take pictures.
4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM
 
April K
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great clarity and easy to use. beautiful photos
3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM
 
Cara Jo Anna Castellino 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
it a good beginners camera
12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM
 
Mike  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only slightly a downgrade from XG-7. Not all shutter speeds are shown in the LED display, but, anything slower than 1/60 should not be hand held anyway. XG-1 was made in 2 versions, original XG-1 and the XG-1n. Both very similar, but the N version did show an M in the viewfinder when in manual selected shutter speeds to let you know the batteries are good and in manual mode, where as the original XG-1 completely shut off the LEDs. Recently found small mod to the electronics to show manually selected shutter speed in manaul mode, this, however cannot be done to the XG-1n due to difference in electronics. Great everyday camera, bright viewfinder, although miss the F stop view as in the XG-9, X5xx/X700 and X9 models. Still a great manual focus Minolta body, same basic frame as X700 and others. A delight to use when just "clunking around" and taking what ever shots come up to remember a day out!
12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM
 
Mike  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only slightly a downgrade from XG-7. Not all shutter speeds are shown in the LED display, but, anything slower than 1/60 should not be hand held anyway. XG-1 was made in 2 versions, original XG-1 and the XG-1n. Both very similar, but the N version did show an M in the viewfinder when in manual selected shutter speeds to let you know the batteries are good and in manual mode, where as the original XG-1 completely shut off the LEDs. Recently found small mod to the electronics to show manually selected shutter speed in manaul mode, this, however cannot be done to the XG-1n due to difference in electronics. Great everyday camera, bright viewfinder, although miss the F stop view as in the XG-9, X5xx/X700 and X9 models. Still a great manual focus Minolta body, same basic frame as X700 and others. A delight to use when just "clunking around" and taking what ever shots come up to remember a day out!
12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM
 
Nathaniel C. Brewer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this manual focus camera. It has never let me down. I find it great for street photography. It is great for shooting from the hip to close p shoots. Brilliant camera.
12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM
 
Carisa  J. Cordaro 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Minolta XG1, I couldnt imagine using any other camera!
11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM
 
Virginia Brownlie 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, it is about as old as I am, it was my fathers camera, when he passed it on to me I taught myself to take pictures with a bit of guidance from Dad. I love the clarity of my pictures and I love that I can change whatever setting whenever I want without having to press a million of buttons, or reading the manual for an hour. The camera if fully manual and I think thats the way it should be!
8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM
 
Robyn A. Wantland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/2/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it takes really good pictures. this camera was new in the 70s its easy to handle but there is no autofocus.
6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM
 
Sameer Vyavaharkar
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:42:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:42:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:42:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:42:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2005 4:42:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a 15 years old Manual SLR who has been with me like an old war horse...The picture quality is perfect and has given me some outstanding results.
4/18/2005 4:42:00 AM
 
Leon  J. Dubitz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/2/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 4:08:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 4:08:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 4:08:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 4:08:15 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 4:08:15 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Well she was a good camera I had been thru a lot with it. Hiking trips and what not out in the wilderness and by god she would tke pictures notmatter what. but in the end things went a little downhill and it woud jam up and i would have to get it fixed. a couples times of that and finally i decided to retire it.
4/2/2005 4:08:15 PM
 
Joshua L. Kelberman 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:26:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:26:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:26:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:26:12 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 3:26:12 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
i don't really own this exact camera. i'm not sure what my camera was. i don't have it anymore.
12/12/2004 3:26:12 PM
 
Noel C. Linsey 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 10:54:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 10:54:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 10:54:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 10:54:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2004 10:54:07 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Camera is actually an XG 2 but It's identical to the XG 1 in every respect. I like how rugged this camera is, and I like the 50mm lense it came with( smooth focusing) I don't like the light meter set up. You have to switch to A and meter your camera, then switch to the shutter speed and take the picture. (Very silly, and dang near impossible to do on the fly)
11/10/2004 10:54:07 AM
 
Martin Paul 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:59:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:59:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:59:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:59:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2004 1:59:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wow, you still have this camera on the list. I use it mainly for B&W photography but, since I don not have a darkroom and am impatient, I usually stick to digital. It is a great camera and has served me well. I purchased it new back in 1980 ...or was it 81....nevermind and although have had some disasters with it like CokaCola it still serves me well and is flexable.
9/5/2004 1:59:25 PM
 
Bill Moiras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 8:02:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 8:02:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 8:02:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 8:02:31 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2004 8:02:31 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the fact that i have control of my fotos. My camera cannot work fully automatically. I don't like the fact that the fotometer doesn't work on manual mode. It works only in aperture priority mode.
6/24/2004 8:02:31 AM
 
Beth Elzinga 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2004 7:33:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2004 7:33:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2004 7:33:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2004 7:33:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2004 7:33:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera since my son who is not 23 was 1 year old and it is still taking excellent photo's! I like the versaltality of what I can control as well as there is some automatic to it as well
6/5/2004 7:33:23 AM
 
Lisa A. 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 9:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 9:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 9:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 9:04:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2004 9:04:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera, it's easy to use, and takes great shots. It was also very affordable because it was used already. The only problem i'm facing with it now is that there seems to be a light leak, or there is light getting into the camera somehow, and it is putting red streaks on my photos...but I think I fixed it with black tape.
3/7/2004 9:04:13 PM
 
Russ G. Styles 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 11:44:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 11:44:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 11:44:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 11:44:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2004 11:44:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The minolta xg1 35mm slr camera is the perfect beginners camera. Simple to use and learn. Mostly manual, it allows the photographer to learn the basics of photography by having to learn the basics. A af 35mm slr camera does the work for you, and what do you truly learn from that?
2/10/2004 11:44:10 PM
 
Michael L. Vinyard 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 6:16:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 6:16:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 6:16:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 6:16:28 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 6:16:28 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my second Minolta in a long line. Used this for many years and then upgraded. Gave this one to my son to use. Very good reliable camera. But always ready to upgrade to new style and technology.
11/11/2003 6:16:28 AM
 
Robert L. Weidemann 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 8:50:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 8:50:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 8:50:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 8:50:03 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2003 8:50:03 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Older camera but excellent for taking B&W photos
10/21/2003 8:50:03 AM
 
John C. Conner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 11:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 11:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 11:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 11:00:14 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 11:00:14 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a simple camera without all of the bells and whistles. The auto side is simple and I love the fully manual side.
9/12/2003 11:00:14 AM
 
Cindy Burris 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 9:37:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 9:37:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 9:37:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 9:37:07 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/27/2003 9:37:07 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An old camera, but always takes good pictures.
8/27/2003 9:37:07 PM
 
Lisa A. 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 4:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 4:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 4:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 4:06:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 4:06:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes great shots, and I haven't really had problems with it...except when it wouldn't click down a few times. Other than that it's great, and it wasn't too expensive because it was used.
7/16/2003 4:06:23 AM
 

25 Reviews