XG1 SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Praying2
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Marta A. Fisher 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Worked great for me for 10 years.
5/5/2006 9:19:31 PM
 
Cari Anne 
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love its focusing ring- super easy. It's also a great fit for small hands. I don't like that it is aperture priority, however, because the light meter only works while in automatic mode. Then there's a safety switch to take it off of the Automatic setting. Pretty decent camera for beginners, I think.
4/29/2006 8:12:41 AM
 
Christopher W. Fiscus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have had the Minolta XG-1 for 25 years and it still works as good as the day I got it. This is the camera that inspired me to always want to take pictures.
4/9/2006 10:56:02 AM
 
April K
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great clarity and easy to use. beautiful photos
3/25/2006 12:22:59 AM
 
Cara Jo Anna Castellino 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
it a good beginners camera
12/28/2005 11:15:08 AM
 
Mike  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only slightly a downgrade from XG-7. Not all shutter speeds are shown in the LED display, but, anything slower than 1/60 should not be hand held anyway. XG-1 was made in 2 versions, original XG-1 and the XG-1n. Both very similar, but the N version did show an M in the viewfinder when in manual selected shutter speeds to let you know the batteries are good and in manual mode, where as the original XG-1 completely shut off the LEDs. Recently found small mod to the electronics to show manually selected shutter speed in manaul mode, this, however cannot be done to the XG-1n due to difference in electronics. Great everyday camera, bright viewfinder, although miss the F stop view as in the XG-9, X5xx/X700 and X9 models. Still a great manual focus Minolta body, same basic frame as X700 and others. A delight to use when just "clunking around" and taking what ever shots come up to remember a day out!
12/1/2005 10:09:37 AM
 
Mike  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Only slightly a downgrade from XG-7. Not all shutter speeds are shown in the LED display, but, anything slower than 1/60 should not be hand held anyway. XG-1 was made in 2 versions, original XG-1 and the XG-1n. Both very similar, but the N version did show an M in the viewfinder when in manual selected shutter speeds to let you know the batteries are good and in manual mode, where as the original XG-1 completely shut off the LEDs. Recently found small mod to the electronics to show manually selected shutter speed in manaul mode, this, however cannot be done to the XG-1n due to difference in electronics. Great everyday camera, bright viewfinder, although miss the F stop view as in the XG-9, X5xx/X700 and X9 models. Still a great manual focus Minolta body, same basic frame as X700 and others. A delight to use when just "clunking around" and taking what ever shots come up to remember a day out!
12/1/2005 10:05:29 AM
 
Nathaniel C. Brewer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love this manual focus camera. It has never let me down. I find it great for street photography. It is great for shooting from the hip to close p shoots. Brilliant camera.
12/1/2005 9:21:50 AM
 
Carisa  J. Cordaro 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Minolta XG1, I couldnt imagine using any other camera!
11/10/2005 2:47:52 PM
 
Virginia Brownlie 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my camera, it is about as old as I am, it was my fathers camera, when he passed it on to me I taught myself to take pictures with a bit of guidance from Dad. I love the clarity of my pictures and I love that I can change whatever setting whenever I want without having to press a million of buttons, or reading the manual for an hour. The camera if fully manual and I think thats the way it should be!
8/9/2005 11:40:27 AM
 
Robyn A. Wantland
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/2/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it takes really good pictures. this camera was new in the 70s its easy to handle but there is no autofocus.
6/3/2005 6:10:22 AM
 

First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)