XG-7 SLR


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Horse  Wrangler
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Diane M. Schuster
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:20:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:20:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:20:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:20:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 4:20:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great as far as 35mm slr cameras go.
6/6/2006 4:20:25 PM
 
Jamie Shotwell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 6:43:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 6:43:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 6:43:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 6:43:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2005 6:43:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Not bad for a beginner's camera. It was made about the time I was born. I find that very nastalgic.
3/6/2005 6:43:50 PM
 
Rita Rodenbaugh 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 11:55:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 11:55:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 11:55:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 11:55:07 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/26/2005 11:55:07 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good durable camera, getting worn out after 20 years
2/26/2005 11:55:07 AM
 
Renee Olsen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:51:42 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2004 7:51:42 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Just learning but so far is a great camera.
9/8/2004 7:51:42 PM
 
Martin R. Smith 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 11:14:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 11:14:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 11:14:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 11:14:15 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2004 11:14:15 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
What I like best about it is, My Mother gave it to me about 12 years ago. It's OK but wish I could do more with it, its getting old and has been repaired a few times.
3/9/2004 11:14:15 AM
 
Thomas Childs 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 11:33:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 11:33:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 11:33:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 11:33:23 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 11:33:23 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent center weight metering with full operational controls. Even with age and older electronics, the quality of the images are outstanding. Lense quality of the Minolta product line would stand up to any of the newer lines and now considered outdated, there are a large assortment of lenses available for a fraction of the cost of todays models. Overall, I am very happy with the original purchase and fucntions of the equipment years later.
3/1/2004 11:33:23 PM
 
Stephen Hill 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:41:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:41:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:41:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:41:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/16/2004 12:41:45 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Agree with previouse reviews. If you have one that is working properly it is a nice camera to learn the basics of photography on, light and easy to use. Unfortunately, the XG-series cameras were the worst of the SLR's that Minolta produced, prone to multiple electronic problems. Also does not have a metered manual mode which all other Minolta SLR series have.
2/16/2004 12:41:45 PM
 
Audrey C. Stucki 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2003 3:28:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2003 3:28:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2003 3:28:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2003 3:28:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2003 3:28:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A lovely camera; it's even better than the Canon Rebel 2000 that I had before this.
12/7/2003 3:28:50 PM
 
Tina Holland Henderson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 6:57:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 6:57:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 6:57:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 6:57:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 6:57:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like this camera. It does a GREAT job. I was lucky to find it at a flea market at a great price. To bad it recently broke and I hope to get it fixed! I miss it!
10/4/2003 6:57:38 PM
 
Bradford E. Anechiarico 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 7:10:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 7:10:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 7:10:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 7:10:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 7:10:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great all around exposure range for an older SLR camera for shutter speeds as well as film speed plus automatic exposure ability and bulb mode. Cons would be that it does not have the ability to do multiple exposures and automatic mode requires that you keep your finger on the shutter release button in order to make contact with the electronic terminal leads.
7/15/2003 7:10:18 PM
 

10 Reviews