Camedia C-2040Z Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

The Mill
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia C-2040Z Digital Camera

  • 2.11 megapixel sensor creates 1600 x 1200 images for prints at sizes up to 8 x 10
  • 3x optical plus 2.5x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 8 MB SmartMedia memory card holds 16 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • Uses 2 CR-3V lithium batteries, included, or 4 AA batteries, not included


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


18 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Christina M. Dale
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:01:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:01:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:01:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:01:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:01:53 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I loved everything about this camera except the low zoom (3x) and the small pixel size (2.11). It allowed for lots of customization of camera settings.
2/24/2006 6:01:53 PM
 
Roger Fry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 2:07:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Despite limited pixels (2.2) takes good clear bright pictures. Control menu taeks a little learning. Shutter lag is a little off putting and takes getting used to.
2/14/2006 2:07:54 PM
 
Rob Sommerfelt 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:20:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:20:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:20:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:20:26 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 6:20:26 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My original camera - I still love the pictures I have taken with it.
10/5/2005 6:20:26 PM
 
Chad Diaz 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 9:37:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 9:37:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 9:37:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 9:37:53 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2005 9:37:53 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Good black and white quality. However it is a low end consumer camera.
6/17/2005 9:37:53 PM
 
Ernest Thrapp 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:40:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:40:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:40:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:40:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2005 6:40:57 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy, light weight, convient to carry for "spur of the moment" shots
3/17/2005 6:40:57 AM
 
Lisa C. Harness
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 6:04:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 6:04:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 6:04:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 6:04:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2005 6:04:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first digital camera, received for Christmas 2001. My husband did considerable research and comparison to get the most features on the camera and not break the bank. 2.1 megapixels which can turn out an 8x10 print max. Total control over settings: aperature priority, shutter priority or totally manual. Also movie clips (fun but low res).
3/2/2005 6:04:45 AM
 
Patricia Middleton 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:28:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:28:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:28:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:28:45 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 6:28:45 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is relatively easy to use, hard on batteries, and a pleasant combination of auto- and manual functionality, which is what I was looking for when I purchased it. I would now prefer to have a camera with interchangeable lenses, but I haven't 'outgrown' this one yet!
1/12/2005 6:28:45 PM
 
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:06:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:06:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:06:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:06:57 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2004 8:06:57 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Has all of the right features but they're hard to get to. Completely locked up whilst on holiday in Alaska (we're from UK) and I didn't have any other cameras with me. Results seem flat (i.e. very wide depth of field even at f2.8), but this seems to be a limitation of all digitals except the DSLRs. Okay for snapping but I'm sticking to 35mm SLR for more serious photos
11/7/2004 8:06:57 AM
 
Steven Myers 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:38:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:38:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:38:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:38:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2004 8:38:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent quality all around - especially for an inexpensive 2.1mp camera. I wish the lens were a little more functional (3x zoom is fair, but the camera would be MUCH more useful with a more versatile telephoto lens...it doesn't get quite as wide as I'd like and can't zoom in very well). Macro functions are excllent and image quality is top-notch.
9/13/2004 8:38:47 PM
 
Daniella L. Koontz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 2:52:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 2:52:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 2:52:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 2:52:27 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 2:52:27 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Heavy duty reliable camera. I've had it for 3 years and have never had any troubles with it. The only reason I bought a new one is because this one doesn't have a big zoom
9/7/2004 2:52:27 PM
 
Janet A. CONWAY 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:46:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:46:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:46:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:46:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2004 8:46:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love it just wish zoom lens was at little better
6/25/2004 8:46:55 AM
 
Jessica Yudis 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:11:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:11:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:11:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:11:23 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2004 5:11:23 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera takes wonderful pictures and is easy to use for both professionals and beginners alike. I never had a problem learning how to use this camera. The only thing was that it is a 2.0, the pictures came out kind of smaller then I wanted. The macro was wonderful, as I like to take close ups.
4/28/2004 5:11:23 PM
 
Tom Gallagher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:24:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:24:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:24:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:24:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:24:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great little point and shooter
3/19/2004 8:24:28 AM
 
Daniella L. Koontz 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 4:12:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 4:12:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 4:12:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 4:12:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 4:12:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'm sure there are better camera's out there. But for my use this is perfect. I would just like a bigger lense. And the ability to put filters on it.
12/29/2003 4:12:28 PM
 
Andrew T. Weston 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:27:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:27:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:27:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:27:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/19/2003 8:27:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera for what I'm doing: learning. The only complaint I have is that the color is off sometimes; it's a white balance issue that I haven't solved yet.
8/19/2003 8:27:42 PM
 
Darren Lee 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 1:25:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 1:25:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 1:25:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 1:25:49 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2003 1:25:49 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great features, easy to use, a good low-light lens. only limitation is the lack of mexapixels.
8/11/2003 1:25:49 PM
 
Samuel Bernard 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 6:52:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 6:52:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 6:52:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 6:52:18 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2003 6:52:18 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a good first digital camera for an amature as I am. This camera is a few years old. If I was buying today I would consider more pixels. This is a 2.1 Meg pixel with a7.1 to 21.3 lens and an aperture of F/1.8 to F/10.
7/18/2003 6:52:18 AM
 
Samuel Bernard 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 1:41:00 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 1:41:00 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 1:41:00 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 1:41:00 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 1:41:00 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This is a 2meg Pixel Camera with 3X optical zoom. I think it is a good first camera for the amature photographer. It has a 10 element lens 7.1mm to 21.3mm, F/1.8 to F/10 aperature. If I was buying one now I would consider more pixels.
7/17/2003 1:41:00 PM
 

18 Reviews  

Buy Camedia C-2040Z Digital Camera  from Amazon.com