BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Dimage 7 Digital Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

after fishing
View photos created with this camera

The Dimage 7 Digital Camera

Features:

  • 5.24-megapixel sensor creates 2,560 x 1,920 images for prints at sizes up to 13-by-19 inches
  • 7x optical plus 2x digital zoom lens with autofocus
  • Included 16 MB CompactFlash memory card holds up to 12 images at default resolution
  • Connects with Macs and PCs via USB port
  • 12-bit A/D conversion provides excellent tonal range


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


58 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stephen Senter

member since: 11/26/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it. I I have my camera about years. It took me two to three years to use it. Now my camera is dirty but still work well
11/26/2006 11:44:36 PM
 
Leonard Aschenbrand

member since: 11/1/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera's strongest feature is the to take beautiful macro photographs with the macro adaptor added onto the primary lense. It delay in pressing the shutter button and getting the picture leads to a relatively useless camera in capturing action photos. All in all it takes some beautiful prize winning pictures when used correctly.
10/22/2006 8:50:16 AM
 
Dave Hymers

member since: 3/30/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice SLR like camera, good lens and focal range, 28-200 pretty useful. I would say it is at its best doing macro photography, minimum focus distance of .25cm The 'focus by wire' control is a bit wierd and the EVF is very hard to use to get things in focus. Color reproduction and white balance controls are good. Overall a pretty decent camera for those who don't want to go off the deep end and get an SLR straight away. Although it is beginning to show its age a little still a good buy.
4/1/2006 10:41:34 AM
 
Jonathan A. Kilpatrick

member since: 3/27/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Had my camera for 4 years - it's now been overtaken by loads of better cameras. It's best feature is the swiveling eyepiece. Next - camera raw facility. Worst feature is it's lousy focusing. The camera is now so worn as to be almost unusable. I'm saving hard for a new camera - can't wait!
3/27/2006 2:21:43 PM
 
Kevin Burns

member since: 10/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
awesome.
3/12/2006 9:28:44 PM
 
Kara C. Hemingway

member since: 2/17/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it!
2/17/2006 6:43:20 AM
 
Carol Bergad

member since: 2/10/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera, it does everything I need it to do!
2/10/2006 8:19:27 PM
 
Horst R. Rixrath

member since: 11/6/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good overall performance
11/6/2005 5:55:00 PM
 
Ramon Garra

member since: 10/11/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best 5 mp in its price range.
10/13/2005 1:20:07 PM
 
Ramon Garra

member since: 10/11/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best for its price range and for a 5.2 mp still cam
10/13/2005 12:13:43 PM
 
Gary R. Swapp

member since: 9/22/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
eats batteries for lunch
9/29/2005 11:36:14 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you are a current Minolta user, I recommend sticking to Minolta when switching over to digital, it's the ease of transfer. You'll be familiar with the body, and the lenses that you currently have will fit the new digital body. What I like the most about this camera is the ease of use. I just switched to digital so I don't have much to compare other than the technical applications are incredible. And working with digital is easier than I thought, it's nothing to fear.
8/17/2005 7:46:28 PM
 
Kim Tran

member since: 7/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Goood: Ease of use. Manual zoom. Features. The Bad: Heavy The Ugly: Takes about 1 minute to save a RAW file!
7/6/2005 9:43:32 PM
 
Charles H. Eckman

member since: 7/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the flexibility and control this camera provides. I also like the quality of the image. The auto focus could be faster and the battery life could be better.
7/2/2005 1:53:09 AM
 
Guillermo Vallejo

member since: 6/10/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love the Macro feature of the camera. Great image quality. Not too fond of the Electronic View Finder, but I suppose I need to upgrade to an SLR. The autofocus is somewhat slow, so it's difficult to take fast pictures. Otherwise, great image quality and overall great camera.
6/10/2005 11:26:02 AM
 
Patrick Ryan

member since: 6/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is a great camera with many capabilities from full auto to full manual. Great zoom and macro modes. Would like lens adaptability and longer battery life.
6/1/2005 10:29:55 PM
 
Ansel Boyce

member since: 3/20/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes grand pictures but the battery situation is horrible
5/22/2005 2:48:04 PM
 
Noor H.

member since: 2/17/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think that my camera is really good for a begginer photographer like me, as it is cost effective, time effective and proffesional as wel. Th eonly downlfal would be that it does not have interchangeble lenses. Noor
5/3/2005 2:11:52 AM
 
Ricki 
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera and keep finding additional options to work with. The only thing I would upgrade to is a camera with exchangable lenses.
4/26/2005 7:05:27 AM
 
Cheri K. OBrien

member since: 4/24/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned the Maxxum 7D for about 3 months and used it for about 2 months. Initially, everything worked wonderfully until about the 80th photo the LCD screen went wavey. I sent it back for repair and it's all fine again, no problems so far. The reason I choose Maxxum 7D being that I could use all the current lenses already owned without having to spend a fortune in more lenses. The quality of photos is superb. It's usually due to operator error if otherwise. Switching from SLR Film to digital takes a little while with all the features of the camera, but read the manual a few times and you're ready to shoot like a pro!
4/24/2005 10:54:39 AM
 
Rita Hill
BetterPhoto Member
ritahillphoto.com

member since: 1/24/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Awesome digital, Great images to detail. I love the easy battery installation and light weight. Easy to use and I also purchased a fish eye filter adapter which comes in pretty handy. Excellent digital to carry anywhere with out worrying about extra lenses.
1/24/2005 7:48:57 PM
 
sylvia Williams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE THE PICS, HOWEVER, IT IS BULKY AND NOT EASY TO CARRY AROUND.
11/3/2004 6:37:20 PM
 
sylvia Williams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 10/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I LOVE THE PICS, HOWEVER, IT IS BULKY AND NOT EASY TO CARRY AROUND.
11/3/2004 6:36:42 PM
 
Stephanie Castor

member since: 10/19/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am an amatuer and I share this camera with my boyfriend, who inherited from his father when he bought a new camera. I like it a lot, becuase it lets me play around with manual settings when I want to, and it has good resolution. The only problem is that sometimes if it is on auto focus, it gets blurry. But I like to do it manually once I learned how.
10/20/2004 7:36:18 AM
 
William H. Parker
BetterPhoto Member
Contact William
William's Gallery

member since: 9/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderful camera, has all the bells & whistles. Only thing I don't like is looking through an electronic viewfinder and not being able to change lenses.
9/18/2004 8:02:37 PM
 
Misty C. Williams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/11/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like my camera. I know its out of date, I know there have been upgrades and technology has progressed so that newer cameras far outstrip it. I don't care. My camera is like a buddy, and I feel disloyal just thinking about other cameras. The Dimage 7 has been a great starting point for me in the pro-sumer area of cameras. Before this, I had only owned point and shoot, or borrowed a very complex film, pro-camera. I couldn't experiement and learn using that, because I couldn't afford to have the volumes of film developed that I would have needed to have to really experiment. THe Dimage, with it's full range of manual functions, and clear LCD viewer, has allowed me to quickly learn, experiment, succeed, or see where I'm making my mistakes, and at a price I can afford--all I have to do is download to my laptop, and change the rechargeable batteries form time to time. THings I would change about my camera--Now that I have a much better idea what I'm doing, and I'm taking great portrait shots, fabulous macro pics, indoor and outdoor pictures and action shots, I would have liked to have a camera with a wider range of ISO settings. The Dimage 7 ranges from and auto setting and 100-800 ISO. I would like 50-1600, but I can work with what my camera has to offer. I would also have a wider, and less picky range of F-stops. With the camera lens set for no zoom, the camera has range from f2.8-f8, and with some zoom f3-f9. I bit wider range there would be nice, but again, I can work around that. Otherwise, this is a great camera, and if one could get a used one to start in that prosumer line, or even buy that 7Hi, it would be worth the money output for the learning and usefulness you can get from using it.
9/11/2004 7:55:07 AM
 
Eric Beard

member since: 8/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
One of the sharpest lenses I've used on any camera. Not an SLR, and lots of lag time between images, but the picture quality is excellent. And the Dimage 7 didn't have the IR filter, so it's being used by lots of people for IR photography now.
8/25/2004 5:04:55 PM
 
Lisa Crates

member since: 6/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the Nikon F100 wish i could plug the d100 into my studio lights . minolta gives wonderful close ups but is off alot with white balance.
7/21/2004 2:25:15 PM
 
Jack T. Chalasinski

member since: 2/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's a great camera except it gets complicated at times.
7/6/2004 6:39:48 AM
 
Marianne Jensen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/9/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first digital camera and I've always been impressed with the quality of the images. Autofocusing is slow so I use manual focus.
6/25/2004 7:08:33 PM
 
Bill Houghton
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery

member since: 4/9/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Good Camera. Hard on batteries.
6/6/2004 2:45:00 AM
 
Julia Simera
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera to work with. You can bring out your target and fade away the background. I would recommend this one to anyone...
5/11/2004 3:46:40 PM
 
Virginia Swapp

member since: 4/9/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! It's very "user friendly".
4/26/2004 9:29:53 AM
 
Erik Ahrend

member since: 4/5/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Beautifull images, easy to use, full control and so many features you wonder how they managed to pack them all in such a nice bit of kit!! Use in fully automatic or full control mode, it very rarelly fails... Pity its not a SLR
4/9/2004 2:42:24 PM
 
Mike Mueller

member since: 2/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This camera is very nice but slow on the lag time missed many a good action shot. The 28 - 200 zoom is great. I also like the fact it is one of the only digital cameras that can take infraed photos by just adding a filter. Very clear and crisp photos great for landscapes and non action shots. It was my first digital camera if you are a first time digital user this is a great camera and probably can be picked up fairly cheap for a 6 mg resolution.
4/8/2004 6:21:17 PM
 
Jean L. Libby

member since: 3/31/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wish ther was less time lag
3/31/2004 11:01:27 AM
 
Rocky E. Rodriguez

member since: 2/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love this camera.
2/12/2004 6:27:09 PM
 
Annette L. Baker

member since: 1/13/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my Pentax. My old friend never lets me down!
1/26/2004 4:56:37 AM
 
Tamara L. Liddle

member since: 1/17/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it, I wish it had capabilities to change lens' but hey, for now it is an EXCEPTIONAL piece of equipment.
1/17/2004 12:50:29 PM
 
James  Clarke

member since: 1/9/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Slow. Slow and very frustrating.
1/9/2004 2:01:57 PM
 
Annette L. Baker

member since: 1/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this Camera! Never thought I would like Digital but it is really incredible what you can do.
1/7/2004 3:36:09 AM
 
David Shulak

member since: 12/12/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
THE CAMER IS ""EXACT!"" WHAT GREAT PICTURES IT TAKES ..SO MUCH DETAIL!!! I LOVE PHOTOGRAPHING BIRDS WITH IT
12/12/2003 8:44:49 PM
 
Jason EVERELL

member since: 10/24/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
EXCELLENT FUNCTIONS PRO SUMMER BUT VERY SLOW AF AND POOR IN LOW LIGHT,BUT THERE IS A FIRMWARE UPGRADE THAT IMPROVES THE MODLE STILL FUTHER, BUT THE 28 MM 210 ZOOM HAS GREAT CLARITY AND AT ITS WIDEST NOT MANY DIGICAMS OUT THERE WITH THIS WIDE ANGLE LENS A FEATURE WHICH PULLED ME TO IT AT THE TIME,BATTERIES DO NOT LAST LONG DONT THINK ABOUT USING THE LCD SCREEN USE THE EVF INSTEAD,THE CAMERA CAN GET VERY WARM BUT AS YET IT HAS NOT PROVED TO BE A PROBLEM, IF ACTION SHOOTING IS YOUR BAG THEN LOOK ELSE WHERE.
10/24/2003 4:24:56 AM
 
Bill Lanahan

member since: 10/20/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Standard Minolta complaints- slow focusing and heavy battery usage. Otherwise a good camera.
10/20/2003 6:28:47 PM
 
Hayley Pellot

member since: 12/12/2001
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice picture, but very difficult to focus in auto mode or low lighting.
10/8/2003 3:17:44 PM
 
James R. Jackson
BetterPhoto Member
jaybirdphotography.com

member since: 6/2/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Minolta has had several evolutions since it created the DiMage 7 (with 5.2 megapixel resolution), and while I would love to try all of them, I must say I am very pleased with my current camera. It works well as a point-and-shoot camera, but also allows some great fine tuning (manual focus with 4x magnification for those hard-to-focus macro shots), as well as color and lighting adjustments. As an amateur, it does everything and more that I need it to do. My only complaint (and this is one echoed by other digital camera owners) is the digital delay, with what appears to be almost a second from click to shutter action. This plays hell on action shots (have you ever tried anticipating what a bird, butterfly, or child is going to do one second in the future? It ain't easy!). Minolta does a fine job with their cameras, and I look forward to owning their others!
10/8/2003 11:35:53 AM
 
Robert H. Diefenbacher

member since: 9/24/2003
1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1 out of 5
I dislike the focus hunt and delay, and the electronic view finder in this camera. I think the fact that Minolta rushed out several model upgrades indicated they came out too soon with the Dimage 7 and had not really met the market need. I use it only occasionally and then for "record" shots. It is very difficult to photograph people because of the delay to focus and shoot. It works fine for tabletop and some limited outdoor photography. The results are fine for making prints up to 11 x 14 and I have won several competitions with still lifes I've shot with this camera. But I do not like it for field work, except perhaps to do some test shots to see the results before using film. But I rarely do use it for that. Frankly, I'm disappointed that I bought it, but I was excited about a digital camera and bought it early in the product cycle for about $800. It was a price/performer at the time, but I think the reason it was priced so low for a 5 mp camera is that Minolta gave it a "tiny brain" to cut costs, and it just isn't up to what I would think from a good "prosumer" camera.
9/24/2003 1:42:52 PM
 
Gerald E. Tracy

member since: 3/20/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
its great when you figure it out .not for point and shooters.great macro -short battery life . Bring lots of batteries.
9/22/2003 6:35:23 PM
 
Sandi Barker

member since: 9/3/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Out door pictures are the best. It's hard to get proper exposure indoors. White balance is hard to get indoors. I love the resolution on this camera. One dislike is the many menus you have to go through to change something.
9/3/2003 5:18:26 PM
 
Mark Romani

member since: 11/4/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera for all types of shots but much to learn about it.
9/3/2003 3:40:03 PM
 
Ali Shah

member since: 12/10/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Pros: Nice camera w/ sharp lens and rich with features. Cons: Bulky, slow exposure.
8/4/2003 8:39:51 PM
 
Palle Jensen

member since: 7/20/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice camera with lots of manual possibilities Prefect ergononomy - not too small Battery solutions not good
7/20/2003 6:15:10 AM
 
Nancy  L. Ferrell

member since: 9/8/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I used it for a wedding, turned out great.... I like it so far...
6/27/2003 5:59:25 PM
 
Richard L. Vinson

member since: 5/18/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
its ok
6/17/2003 3:08:17 PM
 
Ed Johnson

member since: 5/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I was amazed and still am with the versitility and uses of this camera. I have had people swear I used a SLR film camera! I am very happy with it, and plan on purchasing another with higher megapixels. It is especially usefull where I have a 1 gb card and can put up to 1000 photos on it. Highest amount I have ever had was 800.
6/17/2003 2:03:43 PM
 
Randy A. Myers
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Randy
Randy's Gallery

member since: 8/20/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Dimage 7 gives you an excellant image at 100 iso. I consider shots taken at higher iso's to be useless. I like this camera a lot.
6/16/2003 6:39:47 PM
 
Victor Muschetto

member since: 11/5/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I'v recently went from a Pentax 645 to the Minolta DiMage 7. I use my camera's
mostly because of size and image quality. I get a 14.1 mg. file that produces images of excellent quality. I'm printing on the Epson 1270, an Epson 3000 or an Encad Chroma 24 printer and using a variety of paper type.

The camera's ability to capture images was never as easy as this camera. I took several pictures hand held, in the evening or the lights and signs and was amazed at the images. The camer's manual mode is extremely usefull you get full color previews on the LCD or the ease of use with the 90% tilting EVF view screens with an interesting way of looking at thins.

Vic

 
Victor Muschetto

member since: 11/5/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'v recently switched from a Pentax 645 to the Minolta DiMage 7. I chose my camera mostly because of size and image quality. I'm retired from photography as a career so now it's mostly doing what I enjoy doing and that is taking pictures. I get a 14.1 mg. file that produces images of excellent quality. I'm printing on several ink-jet
printers, the Epson 1270, an Epson 3000 or an Encad Chroma 24 printer and using a variety of paper types.

The camera's ability to capture images was never as easy as with this camera. I took several pictures at the Pomona fairgrounds, they were hand held using the Program Mode, in the evening of the lights and signs in the Kid's Zone and was amazed at the images.

The camera's manual mode is extremely usefull, you get full color previews on the LCD or the ease of use with the 90% tilting EVF view screens with an interesting way of looking at things.

It was a good decision, there are loads of other goodies like auto-bracket, auto-bracket contrast or color exposure bracketing, just amazing. A well thought out camera with a very usefull 5.2mp image size, It's raelly ccol.

Vic

 

58 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy Dimage 7 Digital Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.