BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS Rebel S (EOS 1000F; EOS 1000 QD) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs


View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Charity and Walter Feb
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/31/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's all I know, but I've definately outgrown it.
4/10/2006 11:47:08 PM
 
Matt  Thomson

member since: 12/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Yea, I like this camera. I am studying photograpgy at collage at A-level. This is a nice camera and I have got some great results. I really like the size, weight and the easy to use functions on the camera. Cheer. X bye.
12/12/2005 7:12:05 AM
 
Jo Broshar
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is virtually foolproof for automatic focusing and shooting. It takes great night shots, action and outdoor shots with ease. Reaction time is a little slower than my Rebel Ti but the the quality of the photos are just as good. The other drawback is the weight and it is very bulky comparatively to the Ti that I have.
11/4/2005 4:32:35 AM
 
Oswald 

member since: 5/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Can someone out there get me a free copy of the manual for the Canon EOS 1000 FN?
5/13/2005 7:29:16 AM
 
Chad E. Lue Choy
calypsophotography.com

member since: 10/12/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Dislike- No provision for remote shutter release Poor AF in low light
4/26/2005 9:50:54 PM
 
Anne-Sophie Lenoir
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/5/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for 10 years now. It is pretty simple to use. Now that I am taking photography more seriously, I feel that this camera is obsolete, in order to progress. But it is still a good product, and the quality of my pictures are great.
4/25/2005 6:59:49 PM
 
Leon  J. Dubitz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far this camera seems to be realy nice for pictures! It is my first automatic camera and i must say i was a little nervous with all the bells and whistles but im getting it all together and I think it will be an amazing camera for the future
4/2/2005 4:10:47 PM
 
Jo Ann Pina

member since: 10/7/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This one is my first and my favorite. Pictures come out so crisp and clean. I am waiting to get a scanner so i can enter my best photos in some contests, and see where i stand. Nothing to complain except that i dont have the manual for it because it was baught at a pawn shop and given to me as a gift.
12/31/2004 10:19:17 AM
 
Robert Hays

member since: 10/10/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really have no complaints with this camera. I've owned it now for 9 years and I've been very happy with it since starting out as a photography hobby. I've been going to night school for various courses in photography at Massasoit Community College in Canton, Massachusets while working full time. The camea came with a Cannon 35-80mm wide angle zoom lens, and I also have a Tamron 70-300mm zoom with Macro lens that included a 1.4x tele converter. I'm still learning, but my love for photography has has become one of my favorite passions in life.
10/10/2004 7:23:25 AM
 
Nicholette Garcia

member since: 9/14/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's old. I got it as a hand-me-down to learn how to use a SLR. I'm currently saving up for the Digital Rebel. Really wish it had DOF preview and a faster shutter speed then 1/1000. Other then that my only complaint is that it's not digital! hehe!
9/15/2004 12:18:01 PM
 
George Blades

member since: 5/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I got the EOS 1000F in 1992 and it is still working well! It 'is' a heavy camera compared to the models which came after, but it's excellent in use and very versatile. I also have the EOS 1000FN with the faster shutter speed, but notice no difference in picture quality. I also own the EOS 3000 and bought this in 1999, and was amazed at how light it was! The thing is, that even after all these years and all these cameras later, I still use the 1000F more than any of the rest as it is a joy to shoot with! About the 'weight' issue...'I find this an advantage for many shots as the extra weight of the camera helps me to hold it better and it is more stable and less likey to shake in my hand when I press the shutter button. It takes very clear and sharp photos. The flash has to be tamed though as the power of the 1000F's inbuilt unit is very strong. Later models used a less powerful flash which responded a bit better to backlighting and over exposure. There is no 'real' exposure compensation as such on this camera, but if you use it indoors, do so with the camera at full telephoto range, not wide. This helps take the intenstity out of the flash a bit.
Geo.
6/11/2004 2:31:32 PM
 

First 10 of 22 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.