645 Medium Format Camera


Contax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Chimneys
View photos created with this camera

Features:


  • The Contax 645 SLR camera intended for the serious photographer
    because its larger negative size (about 150% to 280% larger than 35mm film)
    produces higher-resolution, sharper images with larger print sizes - for
    advertising and other uses
  • The Contax 645 SLR offers true TTL performance and flexibility
  • 5 Automatic-exposure modes plus Manual
  • Average Center?Weighted and Spot meter modes
  • Automatic and manual focus modes


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Robert Ankrum 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 6:01:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 6:01:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 6:01:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 6:01:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 6:01:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beatiful camera. I love the sharpness of the lenses. I also like the 35mm feel in a medium-format camera.
4/3/2006 6:01:05 PM
 
M. Walter Lyon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:02:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:02:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:02:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:02:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2005 9:02:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the Contax 645AF. It's Zeiss lens is impecable. Its added feature of printing the F stop and film speed is invaluable.
6/1/2005 9:02:28 AM
 
Sara Mulhearn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/11/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:05:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:05:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:05:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:05:28 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 9:05:28 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My favorate camera ever! superb leses, easy to use, love the 645 format.
4/12/2005 9:05:28 AM
 
Stacey B. Shy 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 11:08:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 11:08:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 11:08:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 11:08:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2004 11:08:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best medium format camera on the market. Some nice features are the printing of exposure information on the film and auto exposure bracketing, among other things. The 120mm lens for this camera is a must have for any contax owner. The lens makes the whole system worth the money spent!
8/7/2004 11:08:01 AM
 
Ai Tojima 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 1:26:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 1:26:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 1:26:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 1:26:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2003 1:26:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is easy to control, and finder is clear.
10/12/2003 1:26:46 PM
 
Clay Joseph 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:22:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2003 1:22:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Contax 645AF is just one of those camera that words does not tell you about it. It one of those camera I love having in my camera bag.
9/26/2003 1:22:52 PM
 
Dee Rogers 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 8:50:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 8:50:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 8:50:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 8:50:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2003 8:50:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I prefer to work with the Contax and Sinar to my Canon 10D digital camera. I tend to be pleased with the quality at a much larger percentage. For speed, both production and post production, I prefer the digital cameras. Overall I have very few complaints with my current system. I don't get quite the focus I would like on the 35mm but that is a combintion of OE and format.
8/18/2003 8:50:16 PM
 
Justin E. Carrasquillo 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2003 6:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2003 6:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2003 6:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2003 6:07:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2003 6:07:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good camera. Portable and quick.
8/5/2003 6:07:38 PM
 

8 Reviews  

Buy 645 Medium Format Camera from Amazon.com