Maxxum 5000 SLR 35mm Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Anziano, Italy
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


30 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mitzi Marshall 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 12:40:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 12:40:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 12:40:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 12:40:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2006 12:40:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Now I havent worked with many cameras except for digital which I don't really like. I like this camera because all I have to do is set the film in where it goes and shut the door while it automatically advances the film. Since there is auto advance I don't have to worry about advnacement of the film. It also rewinds by itself and is proramable.
5/30/2006 12:40:53 PM
 
Jason Hanna 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 9:59:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 9:59:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 9:59:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 9:59:08 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/13/2005 9:59:08 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Tends to take good photos. Buttons should be easier to get to and it needs to be able to take longer exposures.
10/13/2005 9:59:08 PM
 
Eric B. Norris 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 10:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 10:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 10:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 10:12:59 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 10:12:59 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's old, about 15 years old, but dependable and still going strong!
10/2/2005 10:12:59 AM
 
Ernesto E. Cedeno 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:07:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:07:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:07:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:07:28 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2005 11:07:28 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Great for begginers
7/29/2005 11:07:28 AM
 
Cye M. Cohen 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:21:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:21:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:21:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:21:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:21:56 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Fun and easy
7/19/2005 5:21:56 AM
 
Cye M. Cohen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:19:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:19:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:19:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:19:54 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2005 5:19:54 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's new to me....
7/19/2005 5:19:54 AM
 
Steve Somloi 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:52:41 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:52:41 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:52:41 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:52:41 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/24/2005 9:52:41 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
An old Minolta I got in H.S. It was a good beginner SLR.
6/24/2005 9:52:41 AM
 
Merrille Mason
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2013
Contact Merrille
Merrille's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 10:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 10:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 10:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 10:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2005 10:04:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
good operating unit. great interchanging lens capability,
6/21/2005 10:04:18 PM
 
Kathryn Jeremiah 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:31:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:31:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:31:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:31:20 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:31:20 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
When I was beginning photography I tried every camera I could get my hands on. Bought this one from Italy, wish I could buy every camera from Italy. Had a ball with it, even though beginning.
4/26/2005 8:31:20 PM
 
Kathryn Jeremiah 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:02:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:02:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:02:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:02:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 8:02:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I was beginning photography and was using every camera I could get my hands on. Bought this one from Italy and had a ball with it. Wish I could buy all my cameras from Italy.
4/26/2005 8:02:08 PM
 
Kathryn Jeremiah 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:43 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:43 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I was beginning photography and playing with any camera I could get my hands on. Bought it from Italy and had a ball with it, but then I sold it.
4/26/2005 7:56:43 PM
 
Kathryn Jeremiah 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:05 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2005 7:56:05 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I was beginning photography and playing with any camera I could get my hands on. Bought it from Italy and had a ball with it, but then I sold it.
4/26/2005 7:56:05 PM
 
Sharon L. Weeks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/4/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 12:23:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 12:23:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 12:23:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 12:23:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2005 12:23:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Have had this camera nearly 20 years and it just keeps going. Takes great macro photos - also easy to understand and use.
3/15/2005 12:23:45 PM
 
Pat A. VanParis 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:56:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:56:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:56:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:56:41 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2005 4:56:41 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like my camera. It has lots of options. Manual. Automatic. Self timer. I wish it had double exposure function though. It does more and is capable of more than I've probably tested it for.
2/23/2005 4:56:41 PM
 
Cynthia S. McLemore 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 4:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 4:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 4:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 4:24:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 4:24:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE MY CAMERA.
2/22/2005 4:24:13 PM
 
Lori A. Selega 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:05:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:05:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:05:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:05:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2005 2:05:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
wonderful, I've had it for 20 some years and it gives me nothing but great pictures..
1/7/2005 2:05:00 PM
 
Nancie M. DeMellia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2003
Contact Nancie
Nancie's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 5:45:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 5:45:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 5:45:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 5:45:08 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2004 5:45:08 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
JUST IT FOR A EARLY X-MAS PRESENT NOT SURE HOW THEY WILL COME OUT. WILL BETTER RATE AFTER
12/12/2004 5:45:08 PM
 
Dwight Dolby
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/29/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2004 10:58:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2004 10:58:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2004 10:58:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2004 10:58:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2004 10:58:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Its an older model camera obviously but it does have simple to use automated features. It sounds good in action (I am still a romantic when it comes to clicks and clacks of moving parts)and the results equal or better my previous all manual Pentax K-1000. I bought it from a pawn shop and a zoom lens was thrown in. A great price for a quality camera. I am very happy with it. Easy metering through the lens. My children love it.
7/16/2004 10:58:48 PM
 
Shawn R. Wanamaker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 10:40:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 10:40:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 10:40:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 10:40:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 10:40:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Got it on E-bay for 60 bucks, came with a 200mm Zoom. It has more memory than my first computer, I think. Works great!
7/5/2004 10:40:08 AM
 
Larry L. Minter 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:39:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:39:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:39:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:39:53 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 3:39:53 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes great photos every time.
6/9/2004 3:39:53 PM
 
Donna Davia 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 10:57:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 10:57:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 10:57:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 10:57:21 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2004 10:57:21 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Great camera as long as you don't need the auto-focus. Auto focus has trouble resolving the focus (and won't let the shutter fire). I use it as a completely manual camera. Auto focus is also really loud. Takes great pictures.
5/3/2004 10:57:21 AM
 
Valentina Moza 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 7:12:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 7:12:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 7:12:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 7:12:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 7:12:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE IT. IT HAS CLARITY!
3/19/2004 7:12:15 PM
 
MARIA E. RAMIREZ 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:41:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:41:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:41:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:41:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:41:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
THIS CAMERA TAKES EXCELENT PICTURES AND THE COLORS ARE GREAT
2/11/2004 7:41:02 PM
 
MARIA E. RAMIREZ 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:40:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:40:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:40:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:40:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2004 7:40:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
THIS CAMERA TAKES EXCELENT PICTURES AND THE COLORS ARE GREAT
2/11/2004 7:40:02 PM
 
Lynda D. Thompson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 7:28:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 7:28:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I abdolutely love it!
1/17/2004 7:28:38 PM
 
Dana F. Greenwood Sr 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 3:33:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 3:33:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 3:33:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 3:33:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 3:33:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My 2nd SLR camera and I love it. I am going to use it for my b&w shots.
12/29/2003 3:33:30 PM
 
Ricardo L. Casaine 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 8:49:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 8:49:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 8:49:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 8:49:37 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 8:49:37 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This Was a good hand me down start up camera for me. I still use it on special shoots.
12/27/2003 8:49:37 AM
 
Kelly A. Marino 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 8:33:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 8:33:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 8:33:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 8:33:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2003 8:33:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I LOVE this camera! It has never failed me in my quest to photograph anything I see! I would recommend it to anyone.
11/7/2003 8:33:18 AM
 
James F. Court 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 5:12:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 5:12:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 5:12:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 5:12:04 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 5:12:04 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the versatility of the Minolta Maxxum 5000, Although I like the control of my Pentax A3000. The hp215 is basic as you can get.
10/24/2003 5:12:04 PM
 
Lloyd Davis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 12:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 12:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 12:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 12:19:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 12:19:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I Love it
7/12/2003 12:19:21 PM
 

30 Reviews