C (The Brick,C2, C3, Match-matic) 35mm Rangefinder Camera


Argus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Rangefinder Cameras

Morocco, Africa -...
View photos created with this camera

The C (The Brick,C2, C3, Match-matic) 35mm Rangefinder Camera

The Argus Brick is a square-cornered, not so easy-on-the-eyes rangefinder camera with no frills. It was made in the late 1930s through the 1960s. All the same, it is still a favorite among some manual camera users.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Patrick A. Lewis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:44:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:44:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:44:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:44:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2009 10:44:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Argus C3 is the camera that allows me to enjoy photography. There is no messing with light meters (which, in my case, never get the exposure right anyway), no batteries, no stupid LCD screen that gets more attention than the subject, and no SLR mirror shake.

I decided to take only an Argus C3 on vacation to southern Utah one summer, and I was very pleased with the results. I've made 12x18 prints of several of the photos, as well as some 8x12's; all of them look just great and very sharp for a 60 year old ten dollar camera off ebay. I've even given some of the photos as gifts.

Bottom line is that the C3 is a great camera. It is refreshingly simple and easy to fix. It will always do what you tell it to, which places the burden of excellence on the photographer, and not the camera.

And the 4.5 rather than 5 is because the focusing wheel can tear up your finger, and - of course - the shutter cock can hit your finger and ruin a picture if you don't hold it right.

1/10/2009 10:44:50 PM
 
Pat  Parson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 1:00:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 1:00:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 1:00:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 1:00:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 1:00:27 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Argus Brick does indeed have interchangable lenses. There are a number of such, including a 35mm wide angle, a 100mm, and a 135 among others.

It can be a pain to change them, however, since you have to manually index the focusing gear.

I like them, because they are one of the few cameras I can service myself. And they are the ultimate "hockey puck", a camera legendary for durablity.

And the sharp corners make it a formidable weapon if need be.

11/12/2007 1:00:27 PM
 
Windle Barnes 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:47:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:47:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:47:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:47:43 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/20/2006 4:47:43 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Just bought it and have only run one 12 shot roll through ti for testing but it seems like this is going to be fun. It is a HEAVY bakelite 35mm that brought 35mm photography to the masses. They were extremely popular and multiple variants were produced. I have the intial C3 variant and it should produce some real gems.
4/20/2006 4:47:43 AM
 
BOB WAGNER 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:55:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:55:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:55:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:55:36 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 8:55:36 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
STILL HAVE BUT RARELY USE.
1/29/2005 8:55:36 AM
 
David B. Rees 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:13:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice camera with limitations such no interchangeable lens capability, just about a plain and simple point and shoot that allows f-stop adjustments and limited speed. Very dependable for what it offers.
1/10/2005 8:13:01 PM
 
Kevin A. Middleton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 12:36:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 12:36:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 12:36:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 12:36:03 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2004 12:36:03 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the simplicity of the camera. I love the range finder and simple operation. It took me alittle while to get the focus down but it was worth it.
11/16/2004 12:36:03 PM
 
James R. Kyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/19/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:17:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:17:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:17:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:17:13 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 3:17:13 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my Very First 35mm camera, and I still have and USE it on occations. The Old "Black Brick" won me my first compition when I was a teenager in High School. I used it extensively as the School Photographer for the school newspaper - and it did a good job. I have retired this wonderful camera now - but on occations make use of it in the winter season with a roll of B&W for it to "chew" on. ((Just to let IT know that I still love it" JK
10/1/2004 3:17:13 AM
 
Clay Clifford 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:09:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2004 1:09:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
About the best cheap, classic, durable, antique 35mm rangefinder camera you can get at almost any antique store. :)
6/14/2004 1:09:22 PM
 
Eugene Bartle 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 11:25:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 11:25:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 11:25:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 11:25:42 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2004 11:25:42 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very good reproducing lens qualities. good for taking landscapes, sunsets and the like. Not good for action photos.
2/15/2004 11:25:42 AM
 
Lawrence A. Whitaker 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:35:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:35:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:35:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:35:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 8:35:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This one will last your whole life, just don't be impatient when using a football game.
7/1/2003 8:35:17 PM
 

10 Reviews