BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


160NC Portra Natural Color


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Film : Color Print Film (35mm)

The 160NC Portra Natural Color


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Donna L. Palmlund
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/21/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the Portra NC for outdoor pictures of my young grandson. They have bu far been the best photos I've taken of him!
11/9/2004 8:58:42 PM
 
Thomas J. Nadramia

member since: 2/17/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I use Portra 160 NC for portraits under controlled lighting--wonderful skin tones, great color. It is a really nice film.

And for a slightly more "pop" in the colors, try Portra 160 VC. Stilll gives great skin tones.

I'm going to try the Portra 400 NC & VC for location (outdoor) and on camera flash next.

Tom

4/10/2004 2:00:53 PM
 
Josh L. Goldstein

member since: 8/22/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
this is my all-around favorite color neg. film. But like everything else in photography, it's subjective and depends on what you're doing with it. Before doing a professional shoot in Tunisia, you should experiment with all sorts of color neg film and see what you like best.
8/22/2003 5:06:05 PM
 
Kevin 

member since: 4/13/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Im thinking of using Portra film for a film shoot in Tunisia in May, Ill be in southern Tunisia, Medenine to be exact, subject matter is hilly desert landscape, with few palms, during the day. Using a 35mm. The pictures will be used for a magazine article and blow ups made for a photography show. Any suggestions on what is the best film to use?

Kevin.

4/13/2003 6:43:20 PM
 
Romen Vargas

member since: 2/22/2000
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my favourite film. Other than the ISO of 160 its really great for just about anything. Most people actually think that just because its says: "Portra" that its just for portrait. I actually found it great for landscapes when I want slightly muted colours. (if you want vibrant colours go Velvia instead). If the speed isn't up to scratch for you this film is also available in 400 and 800.

If you like Fuji NPC/NPH...try this cause I guarantee you'll like it more.

8/21/2002 7:22:41 PM
 
Tõnis Nurk

member since: 4/22/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best film
 
Roland Towey

member since: 5/28/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Hi, Just photographed another wedding. My second. It was my first wedding question which prompted a link on q & a page. Kodak Porta 160 was recomended to me on this link. A very sound piece of advise. Lovely skin tones. The only question I have remaining is .On some of the low light situations, 160 was not fast enough.Could I have re-rated the film to a higher rate say 200 & over without to many problems.I under -estimated the strength of light in church & it was dull outside. I tried to capture some candid shots,but got some blurred shots where peoples hands moved or when children where running around etc.If I had estimated correcty I would have used the faster Porta 400,under these conditions. But if anyone has experience of results when re-ratig Pota 160,i would be grateful if you could advise.Roland.
 
Gilbert Chatillon

member since: 5/5/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great film for skintones.

After using Fuji nps160 for a couple of years, I recently switched over to Portra 160NC. The Fuji may have slightly finer grain and be a little sharper, the Portra just looks better.

Try it, you'll like it.

 

8 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.