Camedia D-550 Zoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Do I LOOK Scared ...
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia D-550 Zoom Digital Camera

Sporting a similar design to previous Olympus D-series digicams, the D-550 Zoom features a 3-megapixel CCD, 2.8x optical zoom, and a 3.6x digital zoom. With its familiar film-camera style and high-resolution imagery, the D-550 is a great choice for vacation photos as well as family snapshots.

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create prints up to
    11 x 14
  • 2.8x optical plus 3.6x digital (10x total) zoom lens with
    autofocus
  • Included 16 MB Smartmedia card stores 21 images at default
    settings
  • Movie mode captures up to 33 seconds of video with no audio
  • Uses 2 CR-V3 lithium batteries or 4 AA batteries (rechargeables
    recommended); connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


53 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lydia G. Bishop 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my older digital which only has 3.2 megapixels. I got some really great landscape shots of the mountains, but I want to be able to print larger prints. This camera is "semi-retired"
4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM
 
Alicia M. Rompage 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I didn't really know anything about digital cameras when I bought this camera. I had a gift card for Sharper Image and they had two cameras to chose from and I picked this one. Lucky for me it happens to be an excelent camera! I think for a point and shoot this camera goes above and beyond.
4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM
 
Leslie Peterson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very easy to use, takes great pictures.
3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM
 
Mark  Waldner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
As simple as this camera is, I've yet to see a camera that takes a better portrait photo than any other camera. In my opinion, the Olympus D-550 is the cadillac of all Olympus models. However, wide range group picuters aren't the greatest quality. Audio would be GREAT too.
3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM
 
Crystal M. Gove 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes pretty good photos
2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM
 
Cody Bidlow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
5.1 megapixels, 2.8 optical zoom. Good for $249.99 I feel i want more out of a camera though, and it is a little too fat.
2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM
 
Laurie Boucher 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The D-550 is a great beginner digital camera; and a compact camera for portability. This is the camera I learned to take digital photos on with ease, and I still use when I don;t want ot be bogged down with equipment. Camedia Master 4.0 is a great little program for editing and printing for beginners. I still use it sometimes in combination with Photoshop Elemnts 2.0.
2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM
 
Scott W. Mingus 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An easy to learn point and shoot camera with reasonable picture quality. A few custom features add to the creativity.
1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM
 
Ruth Ainsley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have three professional grade cameras all which cost much more than the Camedia. The Camedia 550 is is a terrific travel camera and snapshot camera. I have taken surprisingly good macro pix of flowers and love the ease of use. It is faster than a lot of more expensive digital cameras and I just don't miss many shots. I have caught the gate of a horse and the definition of a bee's wings on a flower. I love this camera for general use.
12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM
 
Cathy S. McGraw 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use, sometimes pictures aren't as clear as I'd like
11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM
 
Blair A. Smith 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
i actually hate this camera. i use it just for crap and every once in a while i'll get something good out of it.
10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM
 
Amy Liu 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:43:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:43:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:43:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:43:35 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2005 9:43:35 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
For a point and shoot camera, it's not bad at all. It's my only camera so I use it for everything. It doesn't take very good action shots since the shutter speed is slow and I have trouble with getting good colors especially on a cloudy day. It is also kind of heavy as compared to other digital point and shoot cameras. Otherwise, it's reliable and easy to use.
8/28/2005 9:43:35 PM
 
Ashley Clements 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 8:40:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 8:40:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 8:40:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 8:40:38 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/9/2005 8:40:38 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I actually really enjoy this camera. I've had it for about 2-3 years. The only thing I wish is that it was smaller, with all those tiny cameras coming out. Other then that I think it's a pretty good camera.
8/9/2005 8:40:38 PM
 
Jason M. Keefe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2005 3:34:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2005 3:34:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2005 3:34:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2005 3:34:04 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2005 3:34:04 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
For a point and shoot digital camera, this camera takes some pretty good pictures. It's great to throw in a backpack when you go on long hikes.
7/3/2005 3:34:04 AM
 
June L. Mita 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 4:49:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 4:49:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 4:49:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 4:49:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 4:49:06 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have heard many people say that the 550z lacks color clarity. I have not found this to be true. The functions on the camera need to be used to get great pictures. Auto leaves much to be desired, but with macro function, white balnace adjustment, light compensation etc. you can get some really great shots. This has become my main camera. The depth of field, however, is lacking. I am unable to soften backgrounds, or darken them to the point where they are not distracting. I have found that in order to get the picture I want, I often have to cut out my main subject in an editing program, darken or blur the background, then add back my main subject. Also, focusing can be difficult, but by using the spot metering system I am able to focus on the part I want clearest.
5/23/2005 4:49:06 AM
 
Carrie A. Howell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 2:09:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 2:09:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 2:09:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 2:09:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 2:09:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, great pictures, flexible and easy to use.
5/2/2005 2:09:10 PM
 
Falon K. Taylor 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 9:51:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 9:51:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 9:51:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 9:51:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 9:51:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Not bad at all
4/28/2005 9:51:56 PM
 
Amanda L. Coburn 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:56:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:56:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:56:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:56:32 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2005 3:56:32 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like my camera because it is small ,easy to use and I don't have to pay to get film developed.
4/5/2005 3:56:32 AM
 
Lee Anne French
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:40:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:40:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:40:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:40:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2005 4:40:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best digital I've ever used, because it's the ONLY digital I've ever used! I love taking pictures, but don't really know what I'm doing. I do know that I'm pleased more often than not with this camera. I've had it over 2 years, and am still trying to learn how to use its features. Have a long way to go.
4/4/2005 4:40:56 PM
 
Angie Cox 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:20:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:20:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:20:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:20:32 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2005 7:20:32 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like that I can view the pictures instantly and that I can zoom in. I wish I could get better quality close range pictures though.
3/28/2005 7:20:32 AM
 
Alison R. Periou 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 12:24:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 12:24:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 12:24:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 12:24:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2005 12:24:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I thouroughly enjoy this camera the images are crisp and clean for the most part unless you have to shrink the sizes of the files the images become distorted.
2/18/2005 12:24:49 PM
 
Jose O. Gayoso 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:52:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:52:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:52:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:52:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:52:03 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a relatively inexpensive autofocus digital camera, its very reliable. The flash is too strong, though. The colors of the pictures when printed are a little flat. But its good for sketching and just snapping away.
2/5/2005 2:52:03 PM
 
Jose O. Gayoso 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:51:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:51:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:51:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:51:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 2:51:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
For a relatively inexpensive autofocus digital camera, its very reliable. The flash is too strong, though. The colors of the pictures when printed are a little flat. But its good for sketching and just snapping away.
2/5/2005 2:51:09 PM
 
Rose E. Grier 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:39:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:39:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:39:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:39:06 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2005 8:39:06 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I borrow this from our daughter from time to time.
1/17/2005 8:39:06 AM
 
Matthew Morrissey
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/11/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 6:24:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 6:24:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 6:24:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 6:24:39 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2004 6:24:39 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is not actually mine. I am borrowing it until I get my Canon digital rebel in a couple of weeks. I am a starting photography student. So until then I've been wanting to shoot digital, and learn more about photoshop. Overall, the camera has been pretty good for the time being, and what I've been doing.
12/11/2004 6:24:39 PM
 
Ray Zupancic 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 7:47:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 7:47:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 7:47:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 7:47:48 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2004 7:47:48 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Small compact camera that does a multitude of functions. It has three megapixels.
10/21/2004 7:47:48 AM
 
Carmeline McDonald 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:06:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:06:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:06:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:06:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2004 1:06:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Being just an amateur, I love every aspect of this camera. Easy to set, shoot, reset if unhappy with results. Great "first" digital & have no desire for any other yet. I do wish they made an underwater housing for it though.
9/30/2004 1:06:37 PM
 
Jennifer  L. Herring 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 6:45:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 6:45:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 6:45:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 6:45:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/27/2004 6:45:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera performs magic I do believe. It takes the most amazing photos. I think its the quality of the lens that makes it so wonerful
9/27/2004 6:45:51 AM
 
Yogesh Joshi 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 6:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 6:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 6:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 6:08:27 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/8/2004 6:08:27 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
only for photographers who want point and shoot camera to take reasonably good pictures, not at all for a professional, many limitations but results are great if used with its limitations in mind
8/8/2004 6:08:27 PM
 
Mary K. Robison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/30/2003
Contact Mary
Mary's Gallery
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 8:41:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 8:41:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 8:41:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 8:41:13 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/29/2004 8:41:13 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
I used this camera for a year and a half (until I broke it last week!). It was ok as a starter digital camera, but the on-screen menu was more complicated than I wanted to deal with, and the small lcd screen made reviewing images, especially outdoors, very difficult. Biggest drawback: shutter lag. If you want to photograph fast-moving animals (i.e., cats), forget it!
7/29/2004 8:41:13 PM
 
Sarina Cook
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/28/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 5:42:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 5:42:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 5:42:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 5:42:04 AM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2004 5:42:04 AM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Purchased 2 years ago. Easy to use. I love the portability. Produces nice results. Slow, limited functionality. I wish someone had told me how much money I would need for my new hobby. ;)
7/20/2004 5:42:04 AM
 
Teasha M  Greenfield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 5:47:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 5:47:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 5:47:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 5:47:16 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 5:47:16 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like it Just fine.
7/7/2004 5:47:16 PM
 
Elise Moore 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 6:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 6:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 6:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 6:10:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2004 6:10:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Olympus D-550 ZOOM, is a great camara for it's price range. I like almost all factors of the camara. It does not contain a battery pack, but rechargeable batteries work fine for me.
5/18/2004 6:10:44 PM
 
Colleen Farrell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/13/2004
Contact Colleen
Colleen's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 4:13:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 4:13:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 4:13:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 4:13:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2004 4:13:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like this camera because the menus are user-friendly. It was fairly easy to learn how to take basic snapshots just by fooling around with the camera (using the manual for more advanced shooting). I am still learning its functions; this camera can do a lot for the price (about $500 when I bought it last year). What I dislike the most is how difficult it is to see the image on the LCD screen in the sun. Even though it flips out at an angle, I often have to adjust the brightness of the monitor to even begin to see the image. This is time-consuming and frustrating.
4/13/2004 4:13:18 PM
 
Jane Ingles 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:19:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:19:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:19:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:19:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 3:19:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera... for the photos I normally take, it does what it needs to. Zoom lense is definitly not 10X or 100X which somedays I wish I had... but I'm more than happy with my purchase and what photos have come with it.
3/24/2004 3:19:02 PM
 
Jill H. Oldfield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:17:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:17:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:17:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:17:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2004 8:17:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I recieved this camera as a gift and would highly recommend it for anyone just starting out with a digital camera. The results I got from it were amazing. The pictures practically took themselves. definatly a great point and shoot camera.
2/23/2004 8:17:20 PM
 
Hannah  R. Snider 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:52:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:52:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:52:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:52:18 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2004 3:52:18 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I think it is a very nice camera. It gives me some good close ups as well as getting good lighting. The only thing i would change about it is the lag time when you want the shutter to snap and when it actually does, so sometimes its difficult to get an action photo. but otherwise i like it a lot for still photos
2/5/2004 3:52:18 PM
 
Robert Hesselmann 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:23:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:23:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:23:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:23:09 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:23:09 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Produces clear images under perfect conditions, but lacks user controls. Nice beginners camera.
11/9/2003 9:23:09 AM
 
Holly Higbee-Jansen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/10/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 8:27:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 8:27:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 8:27:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 8:27:12 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/4/2003 8:27:12 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This has been a great compact point and shoot digital camera with good resolution.
10/4/2003 8:27:12 AM
 
Vickie Froemming 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 7:48:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 7:48:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 7:48:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 7:48:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 7:48:44 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use, seems to have good quality photos, would like a larger zoom though.
10/1/2003 7:48:44 AM
 
Vickie Froemming 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 3:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 3:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 3:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 3:01:09 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2003 3:01:09 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the easy to use features, easy to download/erase, etc. I would like bigger zoom, just cuz I like to get up nice and close. Price was decent.
9/30/2003 3:01:09 PM
 
Daniel Li Hseuh 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 8:42:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 8:42:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 8:42:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 8:42:06 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2003 8:42:06 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
easy to use, good quakity, not enough controls
9/7/2003 8:42:06 PM
 
Katie E. Sweeney 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 5:31:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 5:31:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 5:31:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 5:31:04 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2003 5:31:04 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only bad thing about this camera is that it eats up batteries, which all digital cameras do. It takes beautiful pictures and captures everything you want it to.
8/30/2003 5:31:04 PM
 
John A. Dunkerly 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:26:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:26:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I believe I have the best camera for the price I love the zoom ,the size and weightand the overall apperance. It also takes great pics jodunk1
8/25/2003 5:26:15 AM
 
John A. Dunkerly 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:21:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:21:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:21:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:21:41 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:21:41 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a picture of the morning Sun rising over the large pine trees in my yard
8/25/2003 5:21:41 AM
 
John A. Dunkerly 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:19:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:19:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:19:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:19:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/25/2003 5:19:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
No Comment
8/25/2003 5:19:20 AM
 
Taysha A. Howard 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 5:24:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 5:24:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 5:24:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 5:24:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/15/2003 5:24:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is an awesome camera with all sorts of capabilities and can survive some rough handling, but it does use up batteries very fast.
8/15/2003 5:24:28 PM
 
Jane Stevenson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 2:46:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 2:46:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 2:46:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 2:46:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/2/2003 2:46:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first digital camera. Having a great time using it and taking lots of photos. So far, no complaints after using it since Christmas 2002
8/2/2003 2:46:19 PM
 
Susan Flusche 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 10:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 10:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 10:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 10:02:50 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 10:02:50 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Found this camera to have great clarity.
7/23/2003 10:02:50 PM
 
Shatanjela D. Black 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 5:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 5:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 5:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 5:34:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 5:34:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera for beginners like me. It is simple to use and it takes great pictures. It also has a nice variety of different photo options to choose from which makes picture taking even more adventurous.
7/7/2003 5:34:54 PM
 
Lawrence A. Whitaker 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 3:34:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 3:34:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 3:34:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 3:34:15 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2003 3:34:15 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
Negative Points -Shutter Lage -Non Mannuel Flash Pop up -Limit in smart media disk size Positatives -Light -Easy to use -Quick Learn -Good Price -Make creative images using different settings at different times
7/2/2003 3:34:15 PM
 
Bruce S. Arnold 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 7:17:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 7:17:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 7:17:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 7:17:11 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 7:17:11 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
WOuld like a stronger zoom and better action shots
6/30/2003 7:17:11 PM
 
Mary K. Robison
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/30/2003
Contact Mary
Mary's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 3:59:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 3:59:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 3:59:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 3:59:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 3:59:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only complaint we have is that the lens cover is used to turn the camera on and it doesn't always work. Otherwise, it is the BEST.
6/30/2003 3:59:23 PM
 

53 Reviews  

Buy Camedia D-550 Zoom Digital Camera from Amazon.com