Camedia D-550 Zoom Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Two Chairs, No Wa...
View photos created with this camera

The Camedia D-550 Zoom Digital Camera

Sporting a similar design to previous Olympus D-series digicams, the D-550 Zoom features a 3-megapixel CCD, 2.8x optical zoom, and a 3.6x digital zoom. With its familiar film-camera style and high-resolution imagery, the D-550 is a great choice for vacation photos as well as family snapshots.

Features:


  • 3-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create prints up to
    11 x 14
  • 2.8x optical plus 3.6x digital (10x total) zoom lens with
    autofocus
  • Included 16 MB Smartmedia card stores 21 images at default
    settings
  • Movie mode captures up to 33 seconds of video with no audio
  • Uses 2 CR-V3 lithium batteries or 4 AA batteries (rechargeables
    recommended); connects with Macs and PCs via USB port

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lydia G. Bishop 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my older digital which only has 3.2 megapixels. I got some really great landscape shots of the mountains, but I want to be able to print larger prints. This camera is "semi-retired"
4/18/2006 8:52:19 AM
 
Alicia M. Rompage 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I didn't really know anything about digital cameras when I bought this camera. I had a gift card for Sharper Image and they had two cameras to chose from and I picked this one. Lucky for me it happens to be an excelent camera! I think for a point and shoot this camera goes above and beyond.
4/14/2006 1:11:51 PM
 
Leslie Peterson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very easy to use, takes great pictures.
3/12/2006 6:39:13 AM
 
Mark  Waldner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
As simple as this camera is, I've yet to see a camera that takes a better portrait photo than any other camera. In my opinion, the Olympus D-550 is the cadillac of all Olympus models. However, wide range group picuters aren't the greatest quality. Audio would be GREAT too.
3/7/2006 11:01:37 AM
 
Crystal M. Gove 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes pretty good photos
2/25/2006 12:34:08 PM
 
Cody Bidlow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
5.1 megapixels, 2.8 optical zoom. Good for $249.99 I feel i want more out of a camera though, and it is a little too fat.
2/23/2006 4:06:19 PM
 
Laurie Boucher 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The D-550 is a great beginner digital camera; and a compact camera for portability. This is the camera I learned to take digital photos on with ease, and I still use when I don;t want ot be bogged down with equipment. Camedia Master 4.0 is a great little program for editing and printing for beginners. I still use it sometimes in combination with Photoshop Elemnts 2.0.
2/12/2006 8:48:20 AM
 
Scott W. Mingus 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An easy to learn point and shoot camera with reasonable picture quality. A few custom features add to the creativity.
1/27/2006 9:56:29 AM
 
Ruth Ainsley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have three professional grade cameras all which cost much more than the Camedia. The Camedia 550 is is a terrific travel camera and snapshot camera. I have taken surprisingly good macro pix of flowers and love the ease of use. It is faster than a lot of more expensive digital cameras and I just don't miss many shots. I have caught the gate of a horse and the definition of a bee's wings on a flower. I love this camera for general use.
12/18/2005 11:24:08 PM
 
Cathy S. McGraw 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use, sometimes pictures aren't as clear as I'd like
11/9/2005 11:31:31 AM
 
Blair A. Smith 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
i actually hate this camera. i use it just for crap and every once in a while i'll get something good out of it.
10/10/2005 7:32:09 PM
 

First 10 of 53 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Camedia D-550 Zoom Digital Camera from Amazon.com