BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EF 70-200mm f/2.8 L IS Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Bill Wyatt
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent is the word best describing this lens. It is sharp as a fine macro lens. It is fast the IS is outstanding. It is sealed against the weather and dust. It has internal zooming. It has a 2 stage IS that allows for panning. Did I mention it is SHARP! For most people weight won't be an issue. Hand holding your shot is a snap.
10/13/2008 4:02:41 AM
 
John W. DeHority

member since: 11/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my favorite lens for shooting indoor sports. Wide-open at F2.8 it is still extremely sharp. Sure, with Image Stabilization (IS) you can hand hold it, but you won't want too for long sessions. The day I left the mono-pod at home I discovered how heavy this lens gets after a few hours on the sidelines.
When the IS kicks on, the view finder image appears to freeze. However, IS won't freeze a fast moving subject, only a fast shutter or flash will do that. For relatively still subjects the IS lets you go 2-3 stops slower than the "rule of thumb" (minimum shutter speed = 1/focal length). I've hand held 200mm as slow as 1/60th with sharp results. (On my DSLR that is equivalent to 300mm.)

If I didn't shoot primarily indoor sports, I'd consider the f4 version, it is considerably less money. For my usage, this is an ideal lens.

2/14/2007 12:45:06 PM
 
Laurence Saliba
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Laurence
Laurence's Gallery

member since: 9/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It is indeed a heavy lens but worth carrying around especially for wildlife shots. It is very sharp and fast in focusing even in low light. Worth the money spent.
12/26/2005 3:23:49 AM
 
Sue Johnson

member since: 7/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very new to taking photos and I have found this lens gives me sharp pictures without tripod even where the odds are all against as in low light or action shots. For instance a friend asked me to photograph his dog and I was constantly grabbing shots so thought they would all be blurred. In fact the majority were pin sharp. Very impressed.

The disadvantage is that it is very heavy to carry and my left arm begins to shake if I am out a long time - the only good thing about this is that every other lens is like a feather in comparison.

7/7/2004 7:43:03 AM
 
Ron Goldman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/5/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is quickly becoming my favorite lens. Although it is quite heavy, it is a remarkable piece of equipment. The Image stabilizer really works! I have shot objects in low light, hand held, and the images are as clear as if it was mounted on a tripod. My favorite use so far has been to add extension tubes and turn this into a macro lens. Also, for portraits, this lens is really hard to beat!
6/30/2003 2:23:41 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.