EOS Rebel GII 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Emma Daisy Face
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Rebel GII 35mm SLR Camera

Canon updates its popular Rebel G SLR with the affordable Rebel G II, which offers those experienced with point-and-shoot camera or beginning photography students an easy way to step up to a 35mm SLR camera. If you buy the kit, it comes with a high-quality interchangeable Canon EF 35-80mm zoom lens.

Compact and extremely lightweight, the fully automatic Rebel G II features a retractable built-in flash with red-eye reduction, a high-speed selectable 3-point autofocus system, and and settings for multiple exposures and other creative effects. It offers 11 exposure modes (full auto to metered manual with indicator) plus multiple exposure, exposure compensation, and autoexposure bracketing. The new Night Scene mode combines the perfect balance between natural light and flash for stunning portraits at sunset

Features:


  • Automatic features great for beginning photographers
  • Built-in flash with red-eye reduction capability
  • 11 exposure modes--full auto to metered manual with indicator
  • Shutter speeds of 30 to 1/2000 seconds

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 122 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
David L. McDuffie 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 11:20:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 11:20:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 11:20:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 11:20:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2006 11:20:29 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
First camera, It's fun, but getting to the limit of quality I want to take.
6/22/2006 11:20:29 PM
 
Elisa Marie Bess
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:16:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:16:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:16:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:16:40 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:16:40 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I do not like the lens that came with this camera (35-80mm). The pictures are not as clear as they should be. I also have an Elan II & the original Rebel & feel those take better pics. I use a Quantaray lens (28-90mm) and that seems to work much better with the Canon Rebel GII. The Quantaray lens has a macro setting as well and is much less expensive then the Canon lens.
6/14/2006 2:16:40 PM
 
Pamela Sue Freeman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/12/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:39 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:39 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a good camera for people just getting started ..
6/12/2006 5:13:39 AM
 
Pamela Sue Freeman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/12/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:09 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 5:13:09 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a good camera for people just getting started ..
6/12/2006 5:13:09 AM
 
Jeremiah D. Christensen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/4/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 2:59:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 2:59:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 2:59:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 2:59:22 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 2:59:22 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like my camera because it is easy to use the controls. I don't like that it is a film camera and I hope to be able to afford a canon digital camera in the near future.
6/4/2006 2:59:22 PM
 
Arun Rajamohan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 4:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 4:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 4:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 4:05:00 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 4:05:00 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Excellent camera to learn photography
5/10/2006 4:05:00 AM
 
Matthew S. Doherty 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:41:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:41:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:41:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:41:24 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 9:41:24 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It's a good basic camera.
4/30/2006 9:41:24 AM
 
Samuel R. King
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 12:58:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 12:58:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 12:58:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 12:58:40 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 12:58:40 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Since it's digital it has 1/2 stop increments instead of 1/3 stop increments. This makes perfect exposure (especially shooting Zone System black and white) very dificult. Other than that I love the camera and it's currently the only thing I shoot with.
4/23/2006 12:58:40 PM
 
Mary G. Scafaro
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:37:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:37:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:37:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:37:01 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 7:37:01 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love this camera. it is a good old faithful one. very easy to use and always takes great pictures!i have taken a ton of pictures with it, it is a true workhorse! very dependable.
4/14/2006 7:37:01 PM
 
Casey L. Hill 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 2:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 2:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 2:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 2:13:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 2:13:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
By far the best 35mm camera that I have ever used. The photos always come out clear and beautiful and the battery life is surprisingly long.
3/21/2006 2:13:54 PM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:37:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:37:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:37:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:37:30 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2006 7:37:30 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera for beginners. Not that difficult to figure out the functions and the settings. However, I wish it was a lot easier to clean. And the auto-focus was great to use at first, but I have been using the manuel setting for all my photos now. Still, it's a good camera to use and I enjoy taking pictures with it.
3/18/2006 7:37:30 PM
 

First 10 of 122 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy EOS Rebel GII 35mm SLR Camera  from Amazon.com