BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


P3 / P3n / P30 / P30n / P30t SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Cold
View photos created with this camera

Produced in the late 1980s and early 1990s, this line of Pentax manual focus single lens reflex cameras featured:

  • K mount lens system
  • Depth of field preview
  • Center-weighted metering with aperture priority, manual and program exposure modes.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Alyssa D. Lishman

member since: 6/12/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I like the quality.
6/12/2006 4:35:49 PM
 
George R. Bard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/9/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
A good reliable older camera that still shoots sharp images.
6/8/2006 4:06:58 PM
 
George R. Bard
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
An older but reliable film camera. Still shoots sharp photos.
6/8/2006 4:01:10 PM
 
wade owen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/12/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
im a beginner, so the camera is great for learning...
2/5/2006 12:58:49 AM
 
Susan 

member since: 9/24/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My camera is old and fully manual. Sometimes it is agravating to not have a fully automatic, when speed is of the essence, however, I believe having a fully manual camera has made me a better photographer in the long run.
9/24/2005 2:12:23 PM
 
Greg W. Halliday

member since: 7/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good solid easy to use camera that travelled the world with me without failure.
7/28/2005 3:20:32 AM
 
Jenn McCracken

member since: 7/27/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It was my first SLR. It was totally manual but the images anever seemed quite as sharp as they oculd be.
7/27/2005 12:13:00 PM
 
Marianne A. DiAntonio

member since: 2/15/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like Pentax cameras. My first was a K-1000, followed by an ME. This p30t is a great manual focus camera, though as I get older it seems that the wildlife moves faster and/or precise closeup focusing gets to be more of a challenge! I enjoy the latitude that this manual camera affords in the way of composition - in shooting an off-center subject, for example - and in the way that I can "soften" foreground items (tall grass, zoo bars, etc.), versus the restrictions of AF cameras. Also, since I shoot natural objects only with ambient light, my various lenses allow for setting different moods.
3/24/2005 11:51:43 AM
 
Jack 

member since: 1/23/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really like it
1/23/2005 10:23:45 AM
 
Elizabeth M Anderson

member since: 1/2/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've had this Pentax P30 for 9 years, the only SLR I've ever had. I like it because it is user-friendly and doesn't have a multitude of bells and whistles. The only option I wish it had is auto-focus--kids tend not to stay still patiently while I try to get the camera in focus. I recommend this camera to others, but, like I said, I haven't had any others to compare it to.
1/2/2005 8:52:56 PM
 
Michael J. Demmon

member since: 12/19/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
A hand-me-down. Good, but old. Still takes good photos...just very user intensive.
12/19/2004 10:48:05 PM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.