BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS Rebel S2 (EOS 1000FN; EOS 1000S QD-P) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Morning Glory
View photos created with this camera

Improved version of Rebel S, with increased built-in flash power and red-eye reduction lamp. Produced in the early nineties.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rebecca E. Spindler

member since: 3/10/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a good camera, lightweight, versatile. The eye sensor is often not as accurate as I would like, and I resort to turning it off a lot.
3/10/2006 12:51:08 PM
 
Jakarat -. Sengkampan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/26/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
My camera is EOS 1000S Quartz Date. It has a manual control. I have a 35-80 mm lense. I like because it is a film base camera. What i don't like. Its view finder is not clear like nikon fm3a(that i like)and it don't have rangfinder.
8/26/2005 9:06:47 AM
 
Hugues Harel
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/20/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Nice. Easy to use but a bit slow on auto-focus...
6/20/2005 10:26:48 AM
 
Jodie E. Wall

member since: 4/12/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera is ok.... I really liked my pentax better, now I am ordering a digital!
10/26/2004 1:38:15 PM
 
Keith Lau

member since: 9/23/2004
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
My uncle gave me this camera about 5 years ago and got me into photography. It came with the standard Ultrasonic 35-80 stock lens. I had a lot of fun with it until I realized that after a while, the quality of your pictures can be limited by your optics. It's a decent beginner's camera, albeit a bit flimsy with it's plastic finish - but it still works well today.
9/23/2004 9:11:15 PM
 
Cathy Nelson

member since: 5/23/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the auto focus and auto aperature availablity but yet have the capability of using the camera in an all manual mode. The different modes, regular, portrait, close, landscape, and sports, are also really nice features. Sports mode works well for stopping action. I use the close up mode a lot for flower photography. The thing I dislike is that it does not have the capability for a cable release for tripod work. I wish I would have know that macro lenses are not available and that the autofocus does not focus where you are looking and adjust for your eyes.
3/27/2004 2:14:37 PM
 
Dorothy MB Anderson

member since: 9/9/2002
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is light to handle. It is reliable and the interchange of lenses is easy. It does not have a depth of field preview button which I find quite frustrating. Also it does not have a camera remote control button and you have to fit on a very cumbersome piece of equipment to the front of the camera and over the shutter button.
2/17/2004 6:52:19 AM
 
JENNIFER C. Bussard

member since: 11/24/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I LOVE THE QUALITY OF THE PHOTOGRAPHS AND THE SIMPLICITY OF MY CANON. I HAVE HAD IT FOR ALMOST 11 YEARS AND HAS TRAVELED HALFWAY AROUD THE WORLD TWICE AND HAS BEEN A WONDERFUL CAMERA THAT HAS GIVEN ME FANTASTIC MEMORIES OF THE PLACES I BEEN.
11/24/2003 11:55:49 PM
 
Cheryl L. Thomas

member since: 8/7/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first camera and I love it. I really can not rate it because I have nothing to compare it to. I own 3 lenses for the Canon - 75-300MM -200-400MM Tamron - and the lense that came with the camera when I purchased it. I love all my lenses. I have never had a bad picture with this camera.
8/13/2003 5:13:31 AM
 
Micah S. Ray

member since: 7/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
well I just started so I don't know a whole lot I just have a good eye. I realy love my camera so far though, the auto focus dosn't work but I like manual better anyway.
7/28/2003 6:39:39 PM
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.