4x5 Large Format Field Camera


Tachihara

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Large Format

Stacked Rocks
View photos created with this camera

AKA The Calumet Photographic 8x10 Woodfield Camera, the Tachihara 4x5 is a lightweight, beautiful field camera. The design is excellent, with the camera folding very compactly for easy transport.

Features:


  • 4 pounds
  • Folded closed size including knobs: W 8 1/4" x L 7 3/4" x H 3 6/8"
  • Minimum extension: 7.5cm
  • Maximum extension: 33cm
  • F Tilt: 30 degree forward and 30 degree backwards
  • R Tilt: 40 degree forward and 30 degree backwards
  • F Swing: 17 degree
  • R Swing: 23 degree

To see a photograph of this camera, see figure 4-6 in the classic book, The Camera, by Ansel Adams.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


6 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Tom Schmitt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
Contact Tom
Tom's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:45:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:45:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:45:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:45:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/23/2005 3:45:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Still new to large format as of 2004, but I think this is the ideal 4x5 for field work. It's light for hiking and is quick to set up (but I have to be careful with vibrations when it's breezy). Nice bright ground glass that came standard. Plenty of movements for landscape work. I use a Schneider Angulon 90mm, Fujinon 150mm, and Schneider Xenar 210mm. I'm saving for the Nikkor M 300mm. I bought a Minolta spotmeter F and it works great.
3/23/2005 3:45:59 AM
 
Steve Holderfield 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:50:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:50:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great affordable 4x5... lot of bang for the buck
1/18/2005 6:50:00 PM
 
Jill Battaglia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/11/2001
Contact Jill
Jill's Gallery
jill-battaglia-photography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:59:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:59:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:59:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:59:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:59:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
wonderful!
12/29/2003 2:59:34 PM
 
Johnny Hubbs 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:43:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:43:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:43:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:43:17 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:43:17 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nice camera at the time but now outdated for me. Anyway it's in for repairs now, the drive is out. It took nice picture's but I want more like 3 to 6 mb...
12/20/2003 8:43:17 AM
 
Ellen Price 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2003 7:51:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2003 7:51:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2003 7:51:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2003 7:51:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2003 7:51:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this camera, I expecially like the zoom lens. Also, it stays charged for quite a long time. I also like the movie feature. It is great!
11/21/2003 7:51:31 PM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2003
Robert-Brown-Photography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 9:47:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 9:47:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 9:47:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 9:47:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2003 9:47:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a very pretty, very light, very inexpensive 4x5 field camera. I've been quite pleased with mine--with lens it weighs about what my Hasselblad does. I got mine used for less the $300 and it was in like new condition. It's not a very rugged camera--so I don't think it would hold up well to hard use.
7/1/2003 9:47:55 AM
 

6 Reviews  

Buy 4x5 Large Format Field Camera from Amazon.com