160VC Portra Vivid Color


Kodak

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Film

The 160VC Portra Vivid Color


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Virginia M. Parkison 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2006 7:19:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2006 7:19:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2006 7:19:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2006 7:19:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/21/2006 7:19:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I HAVE BEEN TRYING DIFFERENT KODAK FILM AND I REALLY LIKE THE VIVID COLORS OF THE PORTRA FILMS. THANKS KODAK.
10/21/2006 7:19:56 PM
 
Donna Davia 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 6:05:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 6:05:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 6:05:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 6:05:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/18/2005 6:05:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I shot this film for my first wedding--
bright sun outside at 1 pm in July. I
expected terrible shadows so I overexposed
half a stop which turned out to be unnecessary. It evens out the harsh shadows, picks up pinks and reds that really pop and makes everyone's skin look nice--minimizing freckles, moles, wrinkles, etc. If you are doing portraits that matter, this is film you should use. Your clients will be amazed. One interesting note: I shot digital and portra side by side for this wedding and, for bright sun, the portra was superior at minimizing shadows though the digital shots were "punchier"
but showed blemishes and wrinkles more.
7/18/2005 6:05:23 PM
 
Brad  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:40:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:40:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:40:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:40:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2004 10:40:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This film combined with a good lab has given more pleasing skin tones than anything else I have tried...particularly with children and
young adults with smooth skin. It is also nice to have backgrounds be vibrant and yet have the person being photographed always be center stage...
Much better than kodak hd or even max 100 and slightly better than fuji superia realia.
12/16/2004 10:40:30 PM
 
Donna Davia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 5:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 5:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 5:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 5:24:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2004 5:24:19 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very nice vivid colors and fine grain, my one complaint is that skin seemed
rather pale.
I shot outside on an over-cast day, inside with available light and then again with tungsten floods,and finally outside on a very bright day (subject in shadow)

One thing I noticed is that the yellowing you get with tungsten light
was not as severe as I would expect it
to be. The overcast shots were the very best--lovely color.
The bright sunny light came off very harsh with skin tones being pasty and
very pale without any warm tones--it is quite possible that the lab, seeing the tungsten shots, tried to minimize the yellow cast and this made the bright sun shots look cold. I asked the lab to run the film straight so I could test my camera but I will have to shoot again in bright sun to see if I get the same results.

8/10/2004 5:24:19 AM
 
Pam  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2002 9:15:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2002 9:15:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2002 9:15:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2002 9:15:23 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2002 9:15:23 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I tried this film in August, in bright afternoon sunlight. I was photographing custom motorcycles with very vivid and intense colors. This film was so unbelieveable!!! The photos were processed at a cheapy lab yet they were still vivid. The amazing part is they look like paintings! My pro friend who shoots architectural couldn't even believe not only the color saturation but the "painterly" look achieved by this film. So for the right conditions it is superior to anything I have ever used. It is fine for portraits as long as the subject does not have "ruddy" skin tones.
11/4/2002 9:15:23 AM
 
ROd Pruitt 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2002 12:51:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2002 12:51:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2002 12:51:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2002 12:51:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2002 12:51:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This film is an excellent film for lighter asian skin tones and white people. The colors produced are simply brethtaking for such subject. As posted in the review above, darker asians and people darker in general are going to look a bit red, I highly recommend portra 160nc for this application. Overall, I recommend this film above all else for portraits.
10/27/2002 12:51:22 AM
 
Robert Davis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
WOW! This film is fantastic. I shot some difficult scenes (color-wise) in the studio and this film tackled this effortlessly. The colors were great and the skin-tones were very warm (much warmer than its Fuji equivalant). It is a little pricey for just the average shooter and it would be wasted if just used for snapshots. But, if you have the money and want to see the difference, it is noticeable (when compared to Kodak Max 100). Great film.
 
Raymond A. Sutyak 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I recently shot 15 rolls of Portra 160VC in Hawaii, both 35mm and 6x6 format. Landscape phoptos under bright sunlight were incredibly bland. Photos were even worse under overcast sky. Film was processed at two different labs with similar results. Closeup photos of flowers using fill flash were good with saturated colors. In my opinion, this is a mediocre film for landscape photography.
 
Gilbert Chatillon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very nice film for portraits. Will make just about anybody with fair skin look good. Subjects that are a bit darker or sun-tanned may come out a little too reddish. They would be better served with Portra NC.

I find the previous review interesting if somewhat unfair. It's the reviewer's right to like or not a product, however to rate this film 3 out of 10 because it is not such a great choice for landscape photography is like giving Fuji velvia a low rating based on its poor performance as a portrait or fast-action film.

 

9 Reviews