500 C/M Medium Format Camera


Hasselblad

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Other Film Cameras : Medium Format

Mystery Woods
View photos created with this camera

The 500 C/M Medium Format Camera

Produced from 1970-1989, the Hasselblad 500 C/M consists of a body, lens, removable film magazine and interchangable viewfinders. Each lens incorporates its own leaf shutter. The 6 x 6 cm (2 1/4 x 2 1/4 in) square format eliminates the need to turn the camera sideways for landscape or portrait. Hasselblad cameras are primarily used for commercial and portrait photography.


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sandy Scott 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:52:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2006 11:52:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hasselblad makes a great camera. Unfortunately their lenses and accessories are priced absurdly high. I have recently purchased new, from England, one each of the last of the Bronica line. A SQ-B and a ETRSi. I am sure they will produce images just as sharp as the Hasselblad. Needless to say I am Camera Poor.
2/2/2006 11:52:39 AM
 
Daryl V. Villanueva 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:39:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:39:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:39:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:39:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:39:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hasselblad. Need I say more? All hasselblad's are great cameras. Top notch lenses and superior quality images.
1/29/2006 9:39:19 PM
 
Bert Wagner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 6:13:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 6:13:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 6:13:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 6:13:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 6:13:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Amazing camera, easy to use, only a little awkward box body.
10/17/2005 6:13:23 PM
 
Joann Jacobs
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 3:32:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 3:32:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 3:32:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 3:32:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 3:32:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Still have lots to learn here!
9/25/2005 3:32:54 PM
 
Yuke Priyantoko
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:11:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:11:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:11:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:11:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2005 7:11:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
it's my first camera
8/30/2005 7:11:35 AM
 
Tommy G. Mack 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 4:40:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 4:40:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 4:40:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 4:40:06 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2005 4:40:06 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the utopia of photography, the thrill of the "Blad" is Bad... Holler at you... Check out my site at www.yessy.com/macnicifcent1
7/14/2005 4:40:06 AM
 
Miles Mitchell 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 10:51:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 10:51:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 10:51:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 10:51:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2005 10:51:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just a great workhorse. Rugged and durable. Square is the only way to shoot.
5/2/2005 10:51:36 AM
 
Itash KD 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 9:12:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 9:12:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 9:12:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 9:12:44 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2005 9:12:44 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
very nice
4/29/2005 9:12:44 AM
 
Itash KD 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:55:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:55:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:55:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:55:16 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2005 2:55:16 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
very nice
4/28/2005 2:55:16 AM
 
Peter Marschall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 1:16:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 1:16:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 1:16:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 1:16:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 1:16:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I still love these camera, though I mostly use my dSLRs.
4/6/2005 1:16:14 PM
 
Bruce Tippett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 2:19:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 2:19:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 2:19:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 2:19:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2005 2:19:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Resolution, Resolution, Resolution!!!!
4/2/2005 2:19:48 PM
 
Joost Duppen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:08:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:08:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:08:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:08:54 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2005 1:08:54 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
nice camera, functions almost alltimes. Good lenses. Good system. Second hand gear not to expensive.
3/8/2005 1:08:54 PM
 
John D. Gretzinger 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 11:57:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 11:57:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 11:57:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 11:57:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/22/2005 11:57:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my father's camera, so it has a special place in my heart. I'm just learning how to get along with it, and it is cetainly making me aware of exactly what goes into a photo. No automation of any sort here. I use a manual exposure meter and convert it into EV according to Hasselblads directions. The camera takes magnificant photos. The lenses are expensive and it's not something I would want to use for quick photos, but given a stable setting, and waiting for the light to be perfect... well, this is what it's all about.
2/22/2005 11:57:58 PM
 
Tammy L. Lucas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:22:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:22:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:22:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:22:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2005 6:22:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the hasselblad. Mine is 20 years old, and I bought it used. It is still in fine working order and is very durable. I love being able to work with the larger negatives. The only drawback is that it's a little bit heavy.
2/13/2005 6:22:14 PM
 
Steve Holderfield 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2005 6:48:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Grat medium format classic!
1/18/2005 6:48:31 PM
 
Krisna Satmoko 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 9:19:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 9:19:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 9:19:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 9:19:10 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 9:19:10 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought this camera at flea market in Singapore, a bit old but it still did a good job
10/22/2004 9:19:10 AM
 
Stefan LehtilŠ 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 1:45:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 1:45:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 1:45:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 1:45:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/9/2004 1:45:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's much, much beter than me! Almost as old.
7/9/2004 1:45:54 PM
 
Pierre-Yves Guyot 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:56:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:56:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:56:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:56:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/30/2004 4:56:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Simple, robust, eternal as a diamond.
5/30/2004 4:56:38 PM
 
Roland Ruehl 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 7:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 7:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 7:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 7:08:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2004 7:08:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I got the camera only recently. Am still collecting experience.
5/5/2004 7:08:56 PM
 
Chris M. O'Brien 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 9:37:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 9:37:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 9:37:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 9:37:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2004 9:37:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
with a t star lens this is the best(and most expensive)camera there is if you like sharp images , brillant contrast and the best color saturation
4/26/2004 9:37:42 AM
 
Cathy D. Catanese 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:31:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:31:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:31:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:31:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2004 2:31:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Camera is fantastic. Only wish I had a digital back also.
4/18/2004 2:31:30 PM
 
TRACY A. JOHNSTON 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:20:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:20:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:20:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:20:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:20:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAMERA. I AM STILL PRACTICING WITH THE SETTINGS TRYING TO GET FAMILIAR WITH EVERYTHING.
4/16/2004 8:20:19 AM
 
Ailsa M. Fox 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 2:37:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 2:37:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 2:37:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 2:37:13 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 2:37:13 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I must admit I was very unsure of using the old blad when I first got her!! But of time i have grown in skill and passion for using the hassleblad that I truely never go anywhere without it.. Yes it is heavy and yes you have to carry twice the amount of film but hey with the option to make some stunning A1 or bigger pictures for the studio or customer, it's worth every penny!!! Highly recommend Hassleblad to anyone really thinking about going medium format!
1/11/2004 2:37:13 AM
 
Michael  Draper 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 11:49:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 11:49:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 11:49:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 11:49:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 11:49:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
With digital coming in hasselblad has come up again with the idea dear that u can use digital backs for it so there is no need to through the whole lot away if you want to go digital. I love this camera I think it is great for portraits .
12/20/2003 11:49:27 PM
 
Anthony J  Frederick 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 2:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 2:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 2:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 2:36:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2003 2:36:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
JUST BOUGHT IT USED!
9/3/2003 2:36:15 PM
 
Dan S. Coquia 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 4:45:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 4:45:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 4:45:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 4:45:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 4:45:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Best manual medium format camera I've ever used. Sharp negatives and great for enlargement. I use it for taking travel shots when not in a rush, with waist level finder, one lens, one mag (A24), my Gossen SBC Luna Pro meter around my neck, and a couple of rolls of film.
7/14/2003 4:45:17 PM
 

26 Reviews