BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Coolpix 5400 (E5400) Digital Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

CAPITAL DREAMS-DO...
View photos created with this camera

The Coolpix 5400 (E5400) Digital Camera

Nikon's exciting, advanced 5.1-megapixel Nikon Coolpix 5400 digital camera adds a new dimension to the popular Coolpix line of digital cameras and combines a host of enhanced features and design elements. With superior 4x Zoom-Nikkor ED optics, wide-angle coverage and the exclusive new Best Shot Selector (BSS) feature, the Nikon Coolpix 5400 provides the ideal tool for digital photographers who are serious about the art of photography. The durable and lightweight Nikon Coolpix 5400 is the perfect tool to enhance any advanced photographer's creative imagination.

Features:


  • 5 megapixel sensor (2592 x 1944 pixels) for enlargements up to
    20 x 30 inches
  • 4x optical plus 4x digital (16x total) zoom lens with autofocus
  • Fully-articulating 1.5" LCD; shutter speeds from 1/4,000 second
    up to 10 minutes; 256-segment matrix metering
  • Includes 16 MB CompactFlash card; compatible with MicroDrives
  • Powered by rechargeable lithium-ion battery (EN-EL1, included);
    connects to PCs and Macs via USB 1.1

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 70 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
April L. King
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/22/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Use it for April King Photography so its just not for novices. Just check out the photos and you will see why I gave it such a high mark. Granted I use several digital enhancements such as PhotoExplosion and PhotoImpressions, however without the great shot you have nothing to enhance, then I just practice with having fun with the different programs. Everyone was once new to the technology age but now even I someone who loves Photography but doesnt make a whole lot of money at it currently I am still taking lots of photos. Because of my Coolpix its made it a career. Did get 2 Editors choice's for close up's on people even though I believe it takes great landscapes. Its easy to use when you need a quick shot, or if you have time to set it up. It does take some time to advance so not great for sports but I love it anyway It does freeze well when you set it properly. Money was a factor for me or I defintely would have gotten more pixels now for less than the same price you can. So its a 2 1/2 yrs old for me. And digital cameras have came along way therefore I cant recommend it with todays new innovations. But if you find it on ebay or somewhere I say do it I certianly dont regret it.
8/18/2007 1:12:39 PM
 
Cara Lewis

member since: 8/27/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
AWSOME!
-I couldn't think of a better word.
This camera is perfect for serious hobbiests. I love this camera. I have taken many portraits for families and seniors etc. with this and the quality is excellent. I highly recommend it to those who want an inbetween point-and-shoots and professionals.
AWSOME!!!!!!!
10/5/2006 3:00:30 PM
 
Catherine Schuetz

member since: 5/11/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
With no photography background other than point and shoot or disposable(until buying the Nikon coolpx 5400 2 yr ago) my comparison is VERY limited. I am gradually getting to know more of the functions but was initially overwhelmed with all it can do. I don't do it justice, YET! When I get a good pic-it's really good. Biggest "don't like" is when doing close-ups-I'll have it centered in the view finder but is way off center when taken or in viewing screen-(does line up with distance shots)-very frustrating-HAVE to use screen image(which is difficult to see in sunny conditions) or chance losing a good shot.
5/11/2006 4:13:20 PM
 
Raffaele Fiocca

member since: 5/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
cheap and cool!
5/4/2006 1:46:28 PM
 
Shawn Moreton

member since: 4/25/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Great for a 'point-and-shoot'. Has a handy adjustabler flip-screen, great features like time-lapse quicktime movies, wide-angle lens, long-exposures, etc...too many features to mention. Only drawback is that it is a fixed lens.
4/25/2006 7:47:46 PM
 
Richard Clarens
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My nikon is great...I LOVE it! 5.1MP with the option of using different lenses. Lightweight it's easy to carry with you, and very user friendly too-
4/25/2006 5:19:52 PM
 
Michael P. Long

member since: 2/23/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Nikon Coolpix 5400 is a very versatile, point and click with many preprogrammed, settings for the amateur. And the manual abilities found with most Nikon's for the professional.
2/23/2006 9:50:38 PM
 
Forrest D. Waldo,II

member since: 1/4/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My camers probobly does allot more than I think it can. I just need to explore and find out all of its capacity. I think maybe I should have spent more time researching digital cameras with regards to the type of photos I want to take. My real desire is to take hero shots of food. I'm having trouble with focus, depth of field and lighting.
1/18/2006 8:31:44 AM
 
James F. Lafargue

member since: 12/23/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pluses: Ability to take 3 minutes of video, good resolution, 4x digital zoom. Minus: Slow to save picture to CF card, preventing taking another picture for a few seconds.
1/14/2006 3:59:38 PM
 
Doug Kershey
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I bought the camera when they were offering a $200 rebate, so I got an exceptional deal. It's a nice camera that offers a lot of manual operation options. Doesn't shoot great in low light though, but not too many digitals do. Good for the amateur, but a pro would have to step up to a higher priced model.
1/9/2006 9:00:04 AM
 
Cyndie Avery

member since: 12/26/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use and learn. Light weight, versatile settings.
12/26/2005 3:50:33 PM
 

First 10 of 70 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy Coolpix 5400 (E5400) Digital Camera  from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.