F2 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

Fireman
View photos created with this camera

The F2 35mm SLR Camera

The Nikon F2 camera body is a 35mm single lens reflex that uses the Nikon bayonet type. It features a die-cast aluminum alloy shell and is very sleek and elegantly designed. It is widely regarded as the best mechanical SLR camera during its time back in the seventies.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Luc Poirier 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought mine in 1972 brand new from Singapour. I have owned a Nikkormat, before it and after it a Nikkormat EL (first electronic). My F2 with the photomic head, is still in mint condition. I spent 250$cdn, three years ago, to have it clean, and recalibrated for the exposure. The sad news, is that the metering system (galvonometer), is reaching the end of its usefull life, and is not replaceable. The metering is still working, but nobody can say for how long. Holding, and taking pictures with it, is sheer pleasure. Nikon was at that time the best or second best to Leica M5. The Nikon lenses were so sharp. Today, I am all digital with Canon
7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F2 is the last of the Nikon mechanical Professional camera's. It is in many ways the best of the best. The metering system used the same metering cells as the Nikon F until the advent of the DP-3 meter with it's Silicon Blue metering cells. It is built like a sherman tank and has a higher (80) top flash speed (not great but better than the Nikon F's 60th of a second speed) I have a very nice F2 that I shoot with. It has a DP-1 meter. I love to shoot with it and my Nikon F with the Ftn meter on it. Both the F and F2 made Nikon the top camera in Professional photography. Think of it this way...if Professionals used them in the 60's and 70's and got paid big bucks for their photographs..then they are the same great cameras that you can use and get the same results if used the same way. Age has nothing to do with it...it's the photographer!
1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F2 is the last of the Nikon mechanical Professional camera's. It is in many ways the best of the best. The metering system used the same metering cells as the Nikon F until the advent of the DP-3 meter with it's Silicon Blue metering cells. It is built like a sherman tank and has a higher (80) top flash speed (not great but better than the Nikon F's 60th of a second speed) I have a very nice one that I shoot with. It has a DP-1 meter. I love to shoot with it and my Nikon F with the Ftn meter on it. Both the F and F2 made Nikon the top camera in Professional photography. Think of it this way...if Professionals used the in the 60's and 70's and got paid big bucks for their photographs..then they are the same great cameras that you can use and get the same results if used the same way. Age has nothing to do with it...it's the photographer!
1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM
 
Bob Fowler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have an F2A - which is an F2 body with a DP-11 finder. IMHO, the F2 and F3 cameras are tied for 1st place as the best 35mm SLR bodies Nikon ever made. Notice I said "best 35mm", not " most advanced 35mm".

While the F2 may look a bit like the original F, it is in fact a complete redesign - not just a bug fix. The most marked improvements over the F that the user would notice are a hinged back door, moving the shutter release to the top front from the top rear, and every body came from the factory ready to mount onto a motor drive. My only gripe with the camer is that the self timer can't be used when the body is attached to a motor drive. Some may complain that the shutter tops out at 1/2000th sec, or that the X-sync speed is 1/80th sec, but I've never found those to be issues worth worrying about.

12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM
 
Jeff M. Tanner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The best fully mechanical, fully manual camera ever! Also, its a tank and completely reliable.
5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM
 
Valentina Toth 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nikon F2 was a really good old mechanical, film camera. I used it for many years. Sometimes I regretted it had no autofocus, but it was good at what it was made for.
2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM
 
John R. Keistler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've always thought of the F2 as the more convenient version of the F. Mainly because of the swing-out back that made changing rolls on the run much easier. The F2 was the last of the bench-built F's and the feel will verify this. As with the F, it not only feels like it will last forever, it probably will! Mine was an F2AS, the last model, and I alternated that finder with the waist-level. It was sometimes irritating to lose the metering ability w/o the AS finder, but that wasn't as uncommon then. I kept the F2AS several years until going to F3, but to this day I wish I still had that camera. It truly was, along with the Alpa and Contarex, the apex in size and weight for a 35mm SLR. Buy a good example now and not only will it outlast you, it'll challenge your knowledge and ability every time you choose.
12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM
 
Peter S. Coleman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As is often said among old F2 users, the one camera that gets the best shot of the riot, lets you beat your way to saftey and drives the nail in the wall to hang the photo. As excellent, durable,and dependable a camera as there is. Its greate to force you to truly understand light and apature controll. Though I mainly shoot hi res digital now, the F2 is always with me as backup.
10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM
 
Jonathan Taillefer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This lead the industry in its day... still very solid Nikon.
8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM
 
Raamses Ortiz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Probable the best SLR ever made.
4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM
 
Trina R. Alexander 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love the camera because it is fully manual and makes it very easy to set up everything exactly the way I want it. It has a wide aperture range than any of my other cameras, and I have a 800-200mm lens which makes for some fantastic shots. The bad part is that with a fully manual camera it is hard to get candid and spontaneous shots. I spend too much time setting it and lose the moment. I didn't purchase the camera, it was given to me.
1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM
 
Ossain Raggi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:53:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:53:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:53:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:53:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2004 2:53:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Una cámara simplemente no superada en su género. Casi indestructible y con increibles prestaciones para un modelo de los 70, solo necesita un fotógrafo que sepa que hacer con ella.
10/12/2004 2:53:08 PM
 
Jessica Pfundt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/1/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 7:09:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 7:09:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 7:09:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 7:09:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2004 7:09:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good photos, but big and heavy to use.
10/1/2004 7:09:38 PM
 
Timothy L. Blackwell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2004 12:15:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2004 12:15:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2004 12:15:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2004 12:15:29 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2004 12:15:29 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The F2 is a great camera for daytime manual photography. I love the 100% viewfinder and manual shutter.
8/21/2004 12:15:29 AM
 
Ellen L. Zaslaw
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/30/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 5:28:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 5:28:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 5:28:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 5:28:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2004 5:28:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think I bought mine in 1972 but I think it was made in 1971. It is my baby. After all these years it has never once let me down. And 6 or 7 other cameras later including Leica, Bronica and Hasselblad, this is my all time favorite camera !
8/6/2004 5:28:15 AM
 
Stefan Lehtilæ 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 6:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 6:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 6:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 6:57:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2004 6:57:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It's a bit better than I am.
7/4/2004 6:57:21 PM
 
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 1:28:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 1:28:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 1:28:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 1:28:05 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2004 1:28:05 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is one of the best camera for a biginer as to learn about speed and shutter. i am using this camera since long time and it is still in good condition Happy photography to all
5/24/2004 1:28:05 AM
 
Tom Gallagher 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:23:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:23:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:23:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:23:05 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2004 8:23:05 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first real camera 1971 or was it 72?
3/19/2004 8:23:05 AM
 
Pedro Bauza 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:56:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 11:56:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great companion. Compact and easy to use.
2/17/2004 11:56:09 AM
 
Said Bazze 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:29:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:29:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:29:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:29:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2004 3:29:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Quizá la mejor cámara mecánica que se haya construido jamás.
1/31/2004 3:29:18 PM
 
Michael  Draper 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:59:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2003 8:59:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
You do not need batteries to use this camera it is tuff and reliable to work with
12/20/2003 8:59:50 AM
 
Hans Duggen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 11:24:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 11:24:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 11:24:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 11:24:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2003 11:24:36 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Heavy and not posible to damage, I use this mostly under bad konditions, even now after 20 years in use.
11/11/2003 11:24:36 AM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:43:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:43:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:43:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:43:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:43:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic I use it all of the time.
9/29/2003 10:43:08 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/29/2003 10:29:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used many Nikon cameras. I have two Nikon Ftn's. 2 Nikkormat ftns, 1 F2 and an F5. I really love my F5 but to be honest I shoot a lot with my older cameras for more control. Who needs auto focus for landscape or still shots. I also love using my older lens on my F5. My favorite to shoot with is my F2 or F. Both are abosolute workhorses. They are all mechanical and never have let me down. The F2 is such a pleasure to use and shoot with. The larger (Than the F) mirror is a real plus. The biggest reason I stay with Nikon is I can use any of the lens I own on any of the cameras. Thank you Nikon. Some of my best shots are with my 50-300 Nikkor 4.5 zoom using my F5!
I love them all and they all have great features that work in a variety of situations. They ARE all Pro. I take my F2 with me for traveling. If you get tired of all the bells and whistles like me go manual for a change.
9/29/2003 10:29:45 PM
 
Kenneth M. Beligoy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 4:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 4:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 4:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 4:20:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2003 4:20:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
For full manual control it can not be beat.
7/21/2003 4:20:33 AM
 
Steve  Gill 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 12:03:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 12:03:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 12:03:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 12:03:37 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/14/2003 12:03:37 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I own 2 Nikon F2AS bodies,both with the MD-2/MB-1 motor drive.After 20 years of HARD use they are still going strong.There is an extensive lens and acessories selection,most reasonably priced used.Being fully manual makes you think about you shot and also gives you a great feeling when you get it right!The only minor drawbacks that I can think of to keep this camera from being a 10 is the slow flash sync and the weight.The weight is a plus with long lens and slow shutter speeds though.I love this camera and only put it down to use my F3HP/T.
7/14/2003 12:03:37 PM
 

26 Reviews