BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


F2 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

Fireman
View photos created with this camera

The F2 35mm SLR Camera

The Nikon F2 camera body is a 35mm single lens reflex that uses the Nikon bayonet type. It features a die-cast aluminum alloy shell and is very sleek and elegantly designed. It is widely regarded as the best mechanical SLR camera during its time back in the seventies.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Luc Poirier

member since: 12/19/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought mine in 1972 brand new from Singapour. I have owned a Nikkormat, before it and after it a Nikkormat EL (first electronic). My F2 with the photomic head, is still in mint condition. I spent 250$cdn, three years ago, to have it clean, and recalibrated for the exposure. The sad news, is that the metering system (galvonometer), is reaching the end of its usefull life, and is not replaceable. The metering is still working, but nobody can say for how long. Holding, and taking pictures with it, is sheer pleasure. Nikon was at that time the best or second best to Leica M5. The Nikon lenses were so sharp. Today, I am all digital with Canon
7/3/2007 8:07:28 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst

member since: 9/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F2 is the last of the Nikon mechanical Professional camera's. It is in many ways the best of the best. The metering system used the same metering cells as the Nikon F until the advent of the DP-3 meter with it's Silicon Blue metering cells. It is built like a sherman tank and has a higher (80) top flash speed (not great but better than the Nikon F's 60th of a second speed) I have a very nice F2 that I shoot with. It has a DP-1 meter. I love to shoot with it and my Nikon F with the Ftn meter on it. Both the F and F2 made Nikon the top camera in Professional photography. Think of it this way...if Professionals used them in the 60's and 70's and got paid big bucks for their photographs..then they are the same great cameras that you can use and get the same results if used the same way. Age has nothing to do with it...it's the photographer!
1/13/2007 4:23:31 PM
 
Franz Kinkhorst

member since: 9/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon F2 is the last of the Nikon mechanical Professional camera's. It is in many ways the best of the best. The metering system used the same metering cells as the Nikon F until the advent of the DP-3 meter with it's Silicon Blue metering cells. It is built like a sherman tank and has a higher (80) top flash speed (not great but better than the Nikon F's 60th of a second speed) I have a very nice one that I shoot with. It has a DP-1 meter. I love to shoot with it and my Nikon F with the Ftn meter on it. Both the F and F2 made Nikon the top camera in Professional photography. Think of it this way...if Professionals used the in the 60's and 70's and got paid big bucks for their photographs..then they are the same great cameras that you can use and get the same results if used the same way. Age has nothing to do with it...it's the photographer!
1/13/2007 4:21:23 PM
 
Bob Fowler

member since: 4/24/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have an F2A - which is an F2 body with a DP-11 finder. IMHO, the F2 and F3 cameras are tied for 1st place as the best 35mm SLR bodies Nikon ever made. Notice I said "best 35mm", not " most advanced 35mm".

While the F2 may look a bit like the original F, it is in fact a complete redesign - not just a bug fix. The most marked improvements over the F that the user would notice are a hinged back door, moving the shutter release to the top front from the top rear, and every body came from the factory ready to mount onto a motor drive. My only gripe with the camer is that the self timer can't be used when the body is attached to a motor drive. Some may complain that the shutter tops out at 1/2000th sec, or that the X-sync speed is 1/80th sec, but I've never found those to be issues worth worrying about.

12/28/2006 12:15:00 PM
 
Jeff M. Tanner

member since: 5/3/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The best fully mechanical, fully manual camera ever! Also, its a tank and completely reliable.
5/3/2006 9:30:34 PM
 
Valentina Toth

member since: 2/12/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nikon F2 was a really good old mechanical, film camera. I used it for many years. Sometimes I regretted it had no autofocus, but it was good at what it was made for.
2/12/2006 5:03:51 PM
 
John R. Keistler

member since: 3/12/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've always thought of the F2 as the more convenient version of the F. Mainly because of the swing-out back that made changing rolls on the run much easier. The F2 was the last of the bench-built F's and the feel will verify this. As with the F, it not only feels like it will last forever, it probably will! Mine was an F2AS, the last model, and I alternated that finder with the waist-level. It was sometimes irritating to lose the metering ability w/o the AS finder, but that wasn't as uncommon then. I kept the F2AS several years until going to F3, but to this day I wish I still had that camera. It truly was, along with the Alpa and Contarex, the apex in size and weight for a 35mm SLR. Buy a good example now and not only will it outlast you, it'll challenge your knowledge and ability every time you choose.
12/13/2005 7:51:49 PM
 
Peter S. Coleman

member since: 10/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
As is often said among old F2 users, the one camera that gets the best shot of the riot, lets you beat your way to saftey and drives the nail in the wall to hang the photo. As excellent, durable,and dependable a camera as there is. Its greate to force you to truly understand light and apature controll. Though I mainly shoot hi res digital now, the F2 is always with me as backup.
10/10/2005 5:49:51 AM
 
Jonathan Taillefer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This lead the industry in its day... still very solid Nikon.
8/20/2005 10:36:57 PM
 
Raamses Ortiz

member since: 1/12/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Probable the best SLR ever made.
4/7/2005 12:45:48 PM
 
Trina R. Alexander

member since: 1/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I love the camera because it is fully manual and makes it very easy to set up everything exactly the way I want it. It has a wide aperture range than any of my other cameras, and I have a 800-200mm lens which makes for some fantastic shots. The bad part is that with a fully manual camera it is hard to get candid and spontaneous shots. I spend too much time setting it and lose the moment. I didn't purchase the camera, it was given to me.
1/13/2005 12:52:54 PM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.