Nikkormat 35mm Manual SLR


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Small Craft Warni...
View photos created with this camera

The Nikkormat 35mm Manual SLR

Buying a used, manual camera is an excellent way for a beginner to learn. The Pentax K1000, Pentax ME Super, Nikon Nikkormat, or Canon AE-1 are just a few of the best choices to start with. Visit your local camera store, eBay, or KEH Camera Brokers to locate a used 35mm SLR.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Emily S. Cerda
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:24:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:24:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:24:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:24:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/21/2006 7:24:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
There's nothing like a manual focus SLR, and this one is made like a tank. I am currently seeking more non-AI lenses to expand my system, even though I do most of my shooting with a digital SLR. It is just fun to use!
3/21/2006 7:24:58 AM
 
Karen Katy  Johnston 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:20:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:20:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:20:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:20:48 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2005 4:20:48 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love it.
4/12/2005 4:20:48 PM
 
Nick Boren 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:14:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:14:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:14:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:14:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2005 8:14:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The old Nikkormat is an all mechanical camera and is a real workhorse. I love it.
2/12/2005 8:14:08 AM
 
Jon P Kristinsson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:22:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:22:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:22:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:22:19 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 11:22:19 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good camera
6/17/2004 11:22:19 AM
 
Nicole R. Goodness 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 12:29:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 12:29:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 12:29:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 12:29:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2004 12:29:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A great old camera.
6/9/2004 12:29:39 PM
 
Clay D. Britch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 6:09:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 6:09:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 6:09:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 6:09:01 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2004 6:09:01 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very realiable
1/23/2004 6:09:01 AM
 
Ashley  N. Wells 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 7:16:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 7:16:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 7:16:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 7:16:50 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 7:16:50 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
never had another camera to compare it to
11/13/2003 7:16:50 AM
 
Franz Kinkhorst 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 6:49:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 6:49:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 6:49:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 6:49:24 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 6:49:24 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have used an Nikkormat ftn for the last five years. I have some fantastic shots with it. It is a great camera and a real workhorse. Unfortunately if the meter goes out I don't know of anyone that can fix it. The shutter speed selection ring and the film speed setting ring are a bit of a pain sometimes, but if you use it enough you'll get used to it.

As far as vintage cameras go this one is a winner. When it came out it was the same price ast the older Ft and really gave the Nikon F a run for it's money. The difference between the Nikon F and the Nikkormat was the viewing area (92%) as opposed to 100% on the F model. Otherwise it had the same metering system and you could use all of the Nikon lenses with it. You couldn't change the focus screen thought.

Great camera. I carry one with me everywhere I go.

10/6/2003 6:49:24 PM
 
Trina Dh Zyp 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 1:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 1:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 1:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 1:04:18 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2003 1:04:18 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I received it second hand from my uncle, and it has been the best camera to learn from and experiment with. Its a work horse and I think indestructable. Only drawback, it weighs a ton!
9/12/2003 1:04:18 PM
 
Russell J. Parker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 11:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 11:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 11:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 11:21:24 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2003 11:21:24 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The N80 is a good gen use camera.
7/15/2003 11:21:24 PM
 
Derick A. Wiaderski 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:11:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:11:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:11:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:11:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/30/2003 1:11:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I really like the fact that it's fully manual. No real disslikes
6/30/2003 1:11:15 PM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)