BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


TX SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Fish on coral
View photos created with this camera

Long obsolete camera in the T-series. Not to be confused with the Snappy TX.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lou Ann Rockwell-Huseth

member since: 11/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is a camera I borrowed from the school I teach at. It is old, but works just fine.
11/30/2005 4:51:26 AM
 
Maggie Charpentier

member since: 6/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have had this camera for about 24 years and I have never had any problems with it, I've had nothing done except to have it cleaned. I like how I have control over how I take the pictures. I know that the digital cameras have come a long way and I just bought a Cannon ESO Rebel XT which I have not had a chance to play with, I love Cannon cameras.
7/30/2005 6:14:37 PM
 
Noel C. Maples

member since: 8/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am just getting started. But i love My camera
8/21/2004 11:33:27 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com

member since: 6/14/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
TX's go for as low as $40 on auction sites. Combined with an FD 50mm f1.8, f2 or f 1.4) or 35mm (f2.8 or f 3.5) lens, you have an excellent student camera for about $100. Watch out for rotten foam on the door seals and mirror bumper. That is easy and inexpensive to repair. Reject one with a film counter window that has been punched in, as they fall down into the works. Keep the lens cap on when not using it, or you will run the battery down. A TLb (older version of the TX) I sold a student is still in use after 7 years.
12/13/2003 12:57:19 PM
 
Larry Lawhead
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/15/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first SLR camera, which got me through High School and College. Pretty basic, but SOLID, it spent may hours strapped to my backpack, or stuffed into my bicycle's handlebar bag. I dragged this camera everywhere, and didn't have any trouble for years. The film advance started getting unreliable about after 7 years or so, the local camera shop deemed it unrepairable. I wish I'd held onto it and found a real repair place. All manual, with a through the lens lightmeter. Fatest shutter speed was only 1/500th, though. I found some info on the net that says it was released 3/1975, that's about when I got mine!
7/7/2003 12:25:39 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.