BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Maxxum 5xi SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Rock Climbing in ...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jason M. Heavner
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have just started out in the world of photography and am completely happy with my 5xi with the exception of touchy autofocus and the flash is hard to turn off. Those problems can both be bypassed in manual mode though.
6/17/2006 12:15:37 PM
 
Michael J. Gardner

member since: 4/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my Konica Minolta Maxxum 5d! This camera can do almost everything. I especially like the predictive autofocus and the fact that I can use my existing lenses from my35mm Minolta 7xi! I can also use a remote cord, but find that with the anti shake technology, I am using the tripod a lot less. Michael J. Gardner
11/23/2005 1:25:49 PM
 
Melissa Golden

member since: 8/17/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's an excellent camera for a beginner or professional photographer. I also used a Digital camera (Fuji)
9/16/2005 10:40:19 PM
 
Glen Taylor

member since: 7/9/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Light-duty SLR. Doesn't seem to be a durable camera. My brother bought one and it lasted for all of six months before the autofocus locked, he babied it, too.
8/5/2005 3:01:11 PM
 
Vickie A. Zehring

member since: 7/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! It was my first SLR and I must say I've never taken a bad photo with it.On Auto it adjusts everything.
7/11/2005 2:55:23 PM
 
Claudia Romero

member since: 7/4/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Nice camera, light and easy to handle... Don't know why, but when comparing prints, I tend to lean more towards my Maxxum 7000
7/5/2005 9:45:00 AM
 
A. J. Vanden Berghe
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/26/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Pretty good 35mm Camera. Decent image quality and it's held up to the rigorous shooting condition's I've put it through without a hitch.
3/26/2005 11:54:04 PM
 
Richie Calloway

member since: 3/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Extremly easy to use, very functional with fully auto mode as well as fully manual ones. Very good camera to learn about doing different types of shots like playing with the shutter speeds as well as the aperture settings. Also very, very fast auto focusing mech. All in all a really great camera.
4/12/2004 6:33:25 AM
 
Nancie M. DeMellia
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Nancie
Nancie's Gallery

member since: 3/14/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
its the best
3/6/2004 8:56:57 AM
 
James A. Duell Jr.
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoy using this camera. I now have 2 of these that I take to all the area Fairs and Festivals. I keep them always loaded with film and I can take 48 to 50 shots using 2 different lenses which one is a 100mm to 300mm AF and the other a 28 to 105mm AF lens. I will easly shoot 10 to 15 rolls on a beautiful sunny day of the sky filled with hot air balloons. Jim Duell
2/14/2004 11:32:34 AM
 
Robert M. Collins

member since: 1/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really enjoy the auto settings of this camera. The Maxxum is light and smaller than other 35mm slr's. That makes it very portable. I love this camera. The only draw back is that I have to use the timer mode to shoot long exposures to reduce the risk of camera shake on my tripod.
1/9/2004 6:57:46 PM
 

First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.