T70 SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Death Valley
View photos created with this camera

The T70 SLR Camera

35mm single lens reflex (SLR) camera made in the 1980s.

Features

  • Electronically controlled automatic exposure (AE) and focal-plane shutter
  • Fully automatic wind/rewind
  • Exposure modes: Multi-program AE (Standard program, Tele program, Wide program), shutter-priority AE with safety shift function, manual, stopped-down AE (only for lenses without AE signal pins), program flash AE and flash AE (with Canon Speedlite 277T)
  • Uses Canon FD lenses


Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 33 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ken  G. Helferich 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 9:59:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 9:59:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 9:59:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 9:59:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2010 9:59:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The T70 was the first serious slr that I purchased. I bought mine shortly after it was introduced. At the time my wife to be had a Canon AE-1 T70 and I was going to purchase one for myself. When the camera store clerk showed me the T70 and it features, I was sold. I have other cameras that I use more often but, I will never get ride of mine. In fact last December I came across a mint T70 body on ebay to use as a parts camera. I find myself using both cameras, the original is loaded with color film and the spare is loaded with B+W.
10/15/2010 9:59:22 PM
 
Michael Rosati
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:06:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:06:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:06:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:06:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:06:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I have taken a few of my award winning pictures with it, eg. "Snow On Paddle Wheel". It's a very versital and easy to use camera.
3/24/2006 10:06:36 PM
 
Robert Brosnan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/17/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 5:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 5:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 5:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 5:13:01 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2005 5:13:01 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The T70 is a workhorse camera. I have been using it for 20 years and it still works perfect. I have never used a film camera that is any better. I now have 3 of them thanks to EBay.
11/11/2005 5:13:01 PM
 
David G. Sharpe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 9:42:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 9:42:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 9:42:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 9:42:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/1/2005 9:42:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera for a beginner like my self.This is an easy camera to use and it takes great pictures.Ebay has tons of accessories and they go cheap.Love it !!!
8/1/2005 9:42:48 AM
 
Doris H. Russell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/11/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 4:39:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 4:39:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 4:39:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 4:39:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2005 4:39:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Enjoy using this camera. Has a good feel. I'm still in the learning stage.
7/23/2005 4:39:35 PM
 
Alison B. MacDonald
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 5:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 5:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 5:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 5:23:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2005 5:23:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera takes excellent photos and adjusts to a variety of conditions. The only problem with it is difficulty finding accessories given the rise of digital equipment.
7/2/2005 5:23:01 PM
 
Bruce D. Hughes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 6:14:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 6:14:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 6:14:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 6:14:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2005 6:14:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm very happy with it. I like the auto-film-advance, and the program modes.
5/23/2005 6:14:47 AM
 
Maggie Winters 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 11:45:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 11:45:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 11:45:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 11:45:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2005 11:45:55 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
this is a cool camera, it takes fine pictures...i havent noticed anything great about it but nothing that bad either. the only downsides i see are that it is big, especially when a flash is added, and the light meter doesnt work great. but, this might be because i got the camera used from someone who knew nothing about it. i hear it's not worth much, but it seems to work fine.
2/2/2005 11:45:55 AM
 
gerald a. blackburn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 10:36:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 10:36:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 10:36:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 10:36:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2005 10:36:47 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent SLR have enjoyed using it for many years. Easy to operate.
1/12/2005 10:36:47 AM
 
Murray Landauer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/9/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:28:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:28:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:28:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:28:17 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2005 8:28:17 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good amature camera with all the automation you need. In manual mode, this camera can produce good pictures, but the auto mode tends to be off and underexposes many of the shots.
1/10/2005 8:28:17 AM
 
Ken Crocker 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 9:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 9:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 9:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 9:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2004 9:46:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is like the 57 Bel Air Chevy..very dependable..bought it in 1985..still use it for my time exposer Sunset/Sunrise captures..was my #1 camera for years & wish I could find another T-70 body.
12/6/2004 9:46:58 PM
 

First 10 of 33 Reviews  (see all user reviews)