BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


OM-2


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

In a haze
View photos created with this camera

The OM-2

From the manufacturer (c1974):
"The OM-2 is a unique 35mm single lens reflex, utilizing the Olympus TTL Direct (Off-the-Film) Light Measuring System for unprecedented accuracy of automatic exposure. In addition, it offers full manual exposure control at the flip of a lever switch. OM-2 has set a new standard for reliability and versatility in a compact SLR, to meet the demands of the professional and amateur alike, for standard as well as scientific and technical photography pursuits.

OM-2 is part of the total Olympus OM System, enabling you to capture life as it happens, from photomicrography to astrophotography, from photojournalism to portraiture. With its many system components, the OM-2 permits an infinite range of photographic capabilities... a camera that grows as your needs expand."

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Roger Cadillo

member since: 7/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Old camera, take great pics
5/11/2006 4:19:35 PM
 
Traci 

member since: 4/12/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
it is to old
4/12/2006 8:31:45 AM
 
Sharon Riddle

member since: 10/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
had this cam. for 25 years, its has been good to use. I only use it for special photos now. it takes great pictures still today.
10/18/2005 1:18:08 PM
 
Sharon Riddle

member since: 10/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
had this cam. for 25 years, its has been good to use. I only use it for special photos now. it takes great pictures still today.
10/18/2005 1:17:29 PM
 
Sharon Riddle

member since: 10/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
had this cam. for 25 years, its has been good to use. I only use it for special photos now. it takes great pictures still today.
10/18/2005 1:16:20 PM
 
Peter Marschall

member since: 3/28/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Still working fine.
4/6/2005 1:21:06 PM
 
John D. Gretzinger

member since: 2/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have an OM-1, OM-2 and an OM-2SP. Of the three, the OM-2 is my favorite to work with. I've always enjoyed the feel of the small camera and compact lenses. It's quick to point and lightweight. Although I shoot more with my Canon 20D now, I doubt I'll relinquish my OM-2 in the near future. This is a real workhorse. I like the ability to go quickly from full automatic to full manual without thinking what I need to do. The metering system is simple and accurate. The results are fantastic. Highly recommended. Want to buy my OM-2SP?
2/22/2005 11:54:22 PM
 
AJ McLaughlin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Light weight, great viewfinder, lots of lens, diverse, well built.
2/22/2005 6:04:04 PM
 
John P.A. Van den Dries

member since: 1/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been using this camera with great pleasure for over 25 yrs, mainly for slides. It is not a Leica or a Nikon, but at the time it was one of the better camera's in the middle range and probably the lightest. I particularly liked the (at the time unique) Lightmetering system: the ability to continuously measure varying light conditions during long exposures as well as the interface of (Multi)Flash Units with the camera's Lightmetering system. The latter is particularly nice for Macro Photography. The F.Zuiko lenses produced good results, with balanced and strong colourtones.
1/11/2005 1:26:50 PM
 
Faisal Khan

member since: 11/28/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A masterpiece, beautiful design, solid construction, excellent optics and a never ending range of add-ons
11/28/2004 12:47:10 PM
 
P.Fun Bülow

member since: 11/23/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it´s okay
11/23/2004 4:00:13 AM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.