BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


SF-1/SF-7/SF-10 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras


View photos created with this camera

Line of Pentax cameras featuring "Multi-Program Auto Focus" and including the first 35mm SLR camera to feature a built-in TTL auto flash (SF-1, 1987).

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Phil W. Parkerson Jr

member since: 12/20/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really liked this camera. I was able to do alot with it. Not all that rugged though.
12/20/2004 4:58:58 AM
 
Bruce S. Torzewski, Jr

member since: 5/24/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Bought used - has a few querks, but the automatic functions make it easier to photograph people on the fly.
12/12/2004 3:25:35 PM
 
gary jesso

member since: 3/9/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I purchased this camera in 1990 and i have used it for over 10 years and have been in hot and cold climates taking photos. Have been able to take great photo.
3/27/2004 11:56:50 PM
 
Rick W. Freeman

member since: 1/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Has been a very reliable camera for me. The motor drive is starting to go out now though, after 10 years.
1/13/2004 12:38:02 PM
 
Christopher P. Golden

member since: 12/27/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the control features and ease of manipulation. I only wish these cameras were a little more durable.
12/27/2003 1:49:22 AM
 
adrian marin

member since: 12/18/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I intend to buy a Pentax SF1n.
For me is the best camera and I d'ont understand why is so dificult to find reviews whit it.
My question is; what sort of battery I need.
Can I find easy one if I need ?
Are another type of camera who use the same battery ?

Thanks

12/18/2003 3:20:26 AM
 
Phillip Martin

member since: 12/1/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Solid workhorse for amatuer to super keen enthusiast. Now a rather old camera, it has the advantage of being able to handle full manual lenses without chucking a hissy fit ;)
12/2/2003 3:53:23 AM
 
kathryn carcopa

member since: 4/18/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is the best. will never part with it. Pentax 35mm slr is fully auto or manual and give me high-quality pictures.
10/21/2003 8:04:11 AM
 
Kent 

member since: 8/17/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
i figure ill give an auto focus camera a try and I did. I bought a used sf1n which has a top shutter speed of 1/4000sec. not bad for an older camera. :) would of liked it more if aperture was displayed in viewfinder as well.
have not had a chance or need to use that speed yet, but nice to know its there if I do.
the focusing may not be the fastest out there now and it does hunt abit when focusing on a darker object, or low light but again they all do.
however it is a solid performer and has many modes to choose from and it is easy to pick the shooting mode you want, you do not have to study manual for days on end to know how to use this camera.
its has a solid feel to it and does not feel like a toy, like some of the newer cameras do cause they are too light.
i am happy I picked this model and will be keeping it.
8/22/2003 2:54:47 PM
 
EDWARD E. FIGLEWICZ

member since: 8/10/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
To Whom It May Concern - Since 1988 I purchased new and have owned a Pentax SF1 with built-in RTL TTL flash in combination with the Pentax-F 3.5/4.5 35-135 zoom lens, Data Back "F" and the more powerful AF400FTZ flash. I love the SF1's ease of use as it has 5 autofocus modes plus "manual". Using 400-speed color negative film (or sometimes 800), I especially like the "Program Action" mode or the "Shutter Priority" mode when set at the fastest shutter speeds of 1/1000 or 1/2000 sec. to shot pictures off a "moving" tour bus, "moving" cruise ship or "moving" train and usually doing it in bright sunlight. Either of these modes stop blur/camera shake because you the photographer are always moving and so is the vehicle you're in as well as the "person/animal/vehicle" you are shooting. That's because you don't have the room in a typical "bus" seat to set up a tripod and the moment passes so quickly that you don't have time to focus if you were in the slower "Program Normal", "Program Depth" or "Aperture Priority" modes. A "moving photographer" plus "moving bus" plus "moving subject" equals most certainly some part of your picture or subject will be blurred and that is a deep disappointment to come back from an expensive cruise when you shelled out "mucho" bucks and see your "blurred memories"! Only regrets are 3: 1) The first is the SF1 can't take "single-shot panoramas" like the Pentax IQ 38-150mm can when it's panorama function is turned "on". The SF1 needs 3 or 4 shots to equal 1 IQ shot that you have to crop and tape together. (Maybe there's a "new" film out there that allows the SF1 to take "single shot" panoramas or an accessory/converter to allow panoramas that I don't know of.) 2) I wish Pentax made a "compact autofocus" zoom in the range of 35-200mm or 20-200mm that was about 5" long (i.e.: matching the length of the 35-135mm)and covered everything with an "Angle of View" going from either a 94 or 110 degree wide-angle down to 18 degrees or smaller). I think this is a physical impossibility. That way on a typical, "walking" tour, you can stil carry 1 camera with 1 lens and 4 or 5 rolls of film in your pocket. Most of your bases are covered! (The angle of view for my 35-135mm goes from 62 degrees for the 35mm all the way down 18 degrees for the 135mm.) It's good, but I wish for better. 3) Lastly, I was disappointed to hear Pentax stopped making the SF1. If something goes wrong in the future, will getting replacement parts be a problem? This was a great camera body when first released and still is today. The lens I choose meets my needs. Both have served me well for the last 15 years and hopefully many more to come! People today who see my SF1 think it's brand new and quite "up-to-date" as it looks that good, feels great in your hand, is designed well in that it's both stylish (not "blocky" like today's "point and shots" or new digitals) and versatile as well as being compact. It's got the features of a full-size, fully loaded sedan put into the body of a mid-size car. There's a lot of punch packed into this camera. (Note, this SF1 replaced my Honeywell Pentax Spotmatic, which I still have, that had a separate 35mm and 135mm lens.) Thank you for letting me write my comments! Sincerely, Edward E. Figlewicz
8/10/2003 10:11:16 AM
 
Giselle Pierce

member since: 2/8/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have owned it for many years and never had a problem with it
6/17/2003 9:48:02 PM
 

First 10 of 11 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.