FM2 Manual Exposure Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Daily Life
View photos created with this camera

The FM2 Manual Exposure Camera

The traditionalist's choice...

Features:

  • Full manual operation and mechanical control
  • Mechanical shutter: 1/4,000 s top shutter speed
  • Top flash sync speed of 1/250 s
  • Three interchangeable finder screens
  • Continuous shooting of up to 3.2 frames per second (fps) with Motor Drive MD-12

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


52 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Anil Risal Singh 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a great manual analogue camera, very convenient to use, small in size and lighter in weight, and very sturdy.
11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM
 
Paulo S. Hinoguin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using several Manual Focus cameras (e.g. canon ae 1, minolta x-700, minolta xg2, yashica super 2000) by far this camera is the best. In terms of durability and reliability. I usually use my cameras in extreme conditions, thus I only use manual. The availability of accesories is not a problem for nikon as there are many in new and in the used market.
2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic manual and a great workhorse for use as a backup.
6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM
 
Raffaele Fiocca 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Beautiful and reliable
5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM
 
Jamey  Edgerton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the fact it is 100% manual and I have never had mechanical issues with the body or lenses.
3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM
 
TOM N. MARUKO 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is the best of all because of the higher shuttle speed.
2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM
 
Bryan J. Sorenson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love my old trustwothy camera. it will take great photos in exteme conditions.
1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM
 
Dondy Dona 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i often use it, it's really great
12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM
 
Tonny Arnanda 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
simple & stabil but great result.
11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM
 
Joe Goff 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the old workhorse I used for news and location shooting for many, many years, in older and different versions, but they were all still Nikon 35mm's with motor drives. In my opinion it was the best ever 35mm made. I'll probably get buried with this camera. Lots of great memories.
10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM
 
Deborah L. Ouellette 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Been using these since my first job over 20 years ago with Ann Arbor News. I love them because they are sturdy, easy to work with, and if the battery goes, you still have a camera. I am having a hard time letting these babies go even with the great digital cameras out there. Buying up bodies and using them as back up for some creative processes that really are easier to do (for me anyway) on film. I like being in control and use manual mostly on digital too...only on vacation when taking snapshots do I use a point and shoot on auto. I don't care for my car making decisions for me (cruise control, anti-lock brakes...yuk!). And I don't want my camera making decisions for me. Just too old to get past that maybe. To each his own...
10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM
 
John Duncan 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 9:06:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 9:06:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 9:06:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 9:06:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2005 9:06:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoy the ability to choose my own settings with this camera. It is light, durable and reliable.
10/8/2005 9:06:26 AM
 
George Anderson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 5:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 5:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 5:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 5:41:30 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2005 5:41:30 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the toughest, most durable 'amateur' Nikons ever made. Hardly a 'beginner's' camera, the FM2 was designed for those who can operate an SLR in full-manual mode and need a camera that will operate in extreme conditions. Frequently used as a pro backup camera when all else fails. No plastic rewind levers or cheap sleeve bushings on this one.

Non-Nikon owners frequently don't understand why these cameras are so expensive, even used, given the lack of automated features. You can't see the insides, but the ball bearing film transport, oilless bearing shutter, close tolerance metal parts and heavily protected meter make for one hell of a durable camera.

One of the least seen cameras in the average repair shop - ask if you don't believe!!

9/17/2005 5:41:30 PM
 
Jamil Saliba
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:54:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:54:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:54:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:54:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 1:54:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have it more than 14 years it works like a horse and excellent and I like it
7/31/2005 1:54:26 PM
 
Thomas E. Hibdon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:14:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:14:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:14:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:14:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2005 11:14:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Simplicity itself. Fullly manual, with onboard center-weight meter. If batteries die, ALL shutter speeds still work. Sturdy! Compact size for a SLR. Fast Flash Sync speed. A real gem!
7/22/2005 11:14:33 AM
 
Yod Paul
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:26:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:26:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:26:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:26:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2005 7:26:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
as far as manuals go they rule! 1/4000th titanium shutter baby!
7/6/2005 7:26:46 PM
 
Thomas K. McKnight
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:27:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:27:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:27:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:27:47 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2005 1:27:47 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love my Nikon FM2. It is completely manual, which required that I learn a lot more about photography than I would have with a point-and-shoot camera. I did intentially begin my exploration of photography with a Nikon FM (which I later gave to my niece with my Nikkor 50mm lense after her camera was stolen) and then added the FM2 as my primary camera using the FM as an extra body. I would recommend that phtography students turn off their cameras automatic features (shutter speed, aperture and auto-focus) and learn how to take complete control of their camera.
6/11/2005 1:27:47 PM
 
Ray Thibaut
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/2/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:35:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:35:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:35:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:35:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/22/2005 6:35:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera ! I've had this camera for over 20 years,and still works great.I have three lenses for this camera,50mm f1.8,28mm f3.5,and a 200mm f4.0.Great camera if you like to shoot film and want manual exposure control.
5/22/2005 6:35:27 AM
 
Jean-Hee Lee 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 9:12:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 9:12:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 9:12:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 9:12:33 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 9:12:33 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
love the old clunker!
2/21/2005 9:12:33 AM
 
Joe S. Cullin 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:38:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:38:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:38:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:38:20 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2005 11:38:20 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A solid, no nonsence Nikon. The max flash sync speed of a very handy 1/250 second makes it a nice camera to use fill in flash during daylight hours.
The blach finish cameras go for more money than the chrome badied ones. Black ones feel better, and have the better finish.
A useful entry level Nikon, or a camera to back up the electronic gadgetry of your main camera. A easy to use camera in the cold, when you have gloves on.
Not as compact as an Olympus OM1, not as good quality as a Contax RTS, but has a system and accessory back up second to none.
Interchangeable focus screens, and winder and motor options
Not the best Nikon ever made, but totally reliable, totally dependable, and totally Nikon!
2/8/2005 11:38:20 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:38:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:38:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:38:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:38:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2005 7:38:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best and reliable for any type of photogaphy. I am using this camera since last 18years and continue to use with my F100!!! Samiran Bhadra
2/7/2005 7:38:18 PM
 
Hedy M. De Bats 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 8:34:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 8:34:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 8:34:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 8:34:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2005 8:34:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have the Nikon FM2 on loan from my Mother-In-law to complete a beginners course in phototgraphy at College. I am very new to a manual camera, as I normally operate my Digi-Cam with great enthousiasm. But for this course I need to start understanding this type of camera first. I can't really rate it at this point very well. Maybe in the near future when I am more used to it.
1/23/2005 8:34:57 AM
 
A.T. DIVIAN 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:13:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/21/2005 1:13:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good camera, a bit rough and noisy and a bit heavy
1/21/2005 1:13:11 PM
 
Sarah R. Keough 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:47:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:47:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:47:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:47:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2004 9:47:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a wonderful beginners camera. Easy to use. Not much I don't like about it.
12/3/2004 9:47:51 AM
 
Peter Pischler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/23/2004
photoza.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 2:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 2:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 2:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 2:10:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 2:10:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an absolute work-horse, giving me excellent and reliable (battery independent!!) performance under the most severe conditions in ice, snow, sand, high humidity, extreme temperatures, etc.
11/25/2004 2:10:09 AM
 
Pam Schmoll 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 10:03:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 10:03:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 10:03:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 10:03:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/21/2004 10:03:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like everything about it although as I have gotten older I have had more problems focusing the split-image lens. That, plus the length of time needed to manually focus led me to eventually also get a Nikon automatic SLR.
11/21/2004 10:03:49 AM
 
Jaffar Ahamed
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 2:57:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 2:57:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 2:57:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 2:57:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 2:57:25 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fantastic performer. I like it very much. I am using this one since last 10 years without the fundamental knowledge of Photography. But I can take photos at any circumstances with my FM 2. Realy "Great"
11/17/2004 2:57:25 AM
 
Steve Hawley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:58:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:58:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:58:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:58:00 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:58:00 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bottom line - if you want total control of your photography under virtually any circumstances, while availing yourself of one of the greatest lines of optics and accessories available, buy an FM2.

I've been a "serious amateur" since about 1968 (as a teenager). All of my cameras over the years have been what is now considered "minimal" - manual focus, manual exposure without automated exposure or aperture compensation, etc. The FM2 and its successor the FM3a are among the last cameras of this type.

Without getting into the whole "real photographers know the tradeoffs between aperture, depth-of-focus, shutter speed" and "all motorists should know how to drive a stick" arguments, the FM2 - as a machine - is a thing of beauty. It is a fine instrument with a feel that is absent from "fancy computerized cameras." If the battery goes out, the camera still works at all shutter speeds (just the light meter won't function).

Many Nikon purists will tell you that the manual focus lenses made during the period of the F2/F3 and FM/FM2 were the best ones Nikon ever made.

It's a no-nonsense camera. Other sites with Nikon FM2 reviews are:
http://mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/classics/nikonfmseries/index.htm
and
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/fefm.htm

Also, Nikon manual focus lenses:
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/nikkor.htm#mf

If you're even THINKING about buying a manual camera, look no further. Also, you don't need a Nikon F2 or F3.

Do a search on eBay for Nikon FM2 and you will always find a good deal. I snagged an almost mint FM2 with four (cheap no-name) lenses, in a metal case and flash for about $280. I sold the lenses for about $150 total, and with those proceeds bought a Nikkor 55mm F/1.2 on eBay. Once I did all this, I kept the new FM2 gave my original FM2 (which I bought used and used it for 12 yrs with three cleanings), to my 17 yr old son. He's waaay into it! Automation? Baah!

After watching lots of other Nikon FM2 deals come and go on eBay, I realize now just what a screaming deal I got. But persevere. Don't buy the first one you see on impulse, because you'll eventually get one in "9 out of 10" condition, without paint wear or dings.

You'll know you did the right thing the first time you put film in and pull that film advance lever. Smooth and solid!!

10/9/2004 10:58:00 AM
 
Steve Hawley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:57:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:57:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:57:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:57:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/9/2004 10:57:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bottom line - if you want total control of your photography under virtually any circumstances, while availing yourself of one of the greatest lines of optics and accessories available, buy an FM2.

I've been a "serious amateur" since about 1968 (as a teenager). All of my cameras over the years have been what is now considered "minimal" - manual focus, manual exposure without automated exposure or aperture compensation, etc. The FM2 and its successor the FM3a are among the last cameras of this type.

Without getting into the whole "real photographers know the tradeoffs between aperture, depth-of-focus, shutter speed" and "all motorists should know how to drive a stick" arguments, the FM2 - as a machine - is a thing of beauty. It is a fine instrument with a feel that is absent from "fancy computerized cameras." If the battery goes out, the camera still works at all shutter speeds (just the light meter won't function).

Many Nikon purists will tell you that the manual focus lenses made during the period of the F2/F3 and FM/FM2 were the best ones Nikon ever made.

It's a no-nonsense camera. Other sites with Nikon FM2 reviews are:
http://mir.com.my/rb/photography/hardwares/classics/nikonfmseries/index.htm
and
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/fefm.htm

Also, Nikon manual focus lenses:
http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/nikkor.htm#mf

If you're even THINKING about buying a manual camera, look no further. Also, you don't need a Nikon F2 or F3.

Do a search on eBay for Nikon FM2 and you will always find a good deal. I snagged an almost mint FM2 with four (cheap no-name) lenses, in a metal case and flash for about $280. I sold the lenses for about $150 total, and with those proceeds bought a Nikkor 55mm F/1.2 on eBay. Once I did all this, I kept the new FM2 gave my original FM2 (which I bought used and used it for 12 yrs with three cleanings), to my 17 yr old son. He's waaay into it! Automation? Baah!

After watching lots of other Nikon FM2 deals come and go on eBay, I realize now just what a screaming deal I got. But persevere. Don't buy the first one you see on impulse, because you'll eventually get one in "9 out of 10" condition, without paint wear or dings.

You'll know you did the right thing the first time you put film in and pull that film advance lever. Smooth and solid!!

10/9/2004 10:57:07 AM
 
Brian L. Wong 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 2:11:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 2:11:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 2:11:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 2:11:17 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2004 2:11:17 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
A simple, rugged throwback to the past. Handles extremely well, and very capable despite lacking most of the innovations of the past 20+ years. Does NOT need to be "out-thought" as is the case with many newer cameras. Works totally without electricity (obviously no meter in this case).
7/26/2004 2:11:17 AM
 
Geoff Tipton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:10:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:10:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:10:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:10:04 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/19/2004 5:10:04 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Just received it from a family member and haven't had time to use it much yet. Although there aren't many features, it seems very stable and simple to use. I've heard good things about it and am looking forward to purchasing good used lenses at very reasonable prices.
7/19/2004 5:10:04 AM
 
Lee Ng 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:20:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:20:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best SLR camera for any beginning photographers, totally manual no auto functions at all and that creates a much better learning environment for the photographers no auto-functions or short cut to take, the reason i gave 9 is because of its total manual features that sometimes the adjustment might be too slow to capture moments
7/6/2004 10:20:40 PM
 
David Savoie 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2004 12:47:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2004 12:47:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2004 12:47:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2004 12:47:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2004 12:47:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
for a camera of this type, the FM2 is pretty much eprfect, ruged, easy to use, and well built, its meter has worked for over 30 years and is still going great. usable with a large range of nikon lenses
6/3/2004 12:47:54 PM
 
Carolyn Hall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:38:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:38:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:38:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:38:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2004 8:38:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Had this camera for years. No criticisms...love the fact that it is totally manual.
4/16/2004 8:38:00 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:12:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2004 10:12:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Always a reliable workhorse.
2/19/2004 10:12:56 AM
 
Ossain Raggi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 4:36:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 4:36:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 4:36:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 4:36:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2004 4:36:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simple, strong,reliable.One of the best cameras ever made.
1/30/2004 4:36:22 PM
 
Wade J. Faast 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:38:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:38:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:38:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:38:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:38:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i am a photojournalist, when it comes to my pro work I use either my F5 or d1, but when I really want to feel my work or just shoot some fun photo's I use the FM2 it is in my opinion that the FM2 is Nikons greatest manual focus camera far exceding the f3. If you are looking for a FM2 I would recomend hunting around and finding the original (not fm2n) the original was made for one year only and has a titanium shutter that will last forever, they will cost a little more counsidering their rarity but some people selling them dont know what they have and you could practicly steal it from them
1/13/2004 3:38:21 PM
 
Ryan C. Lee Chow 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:10:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:10:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:10:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:10:14 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2004 8:10:14 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Very good camera. Tends to over expose in very bright situations, but overall good pictures and very fast shutter speed which could be very useful at times.
1/1/2004 8:10:14 AM
 
Charlotte A. Amplo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 2:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 2:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 2:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 2:44:11 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/31/2003 2:44:11 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Nikon fm2 is simple to use
12/31/2003 2:44:11 PM
 
Sunil P. Gajjar 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:50:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:50:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:50:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:50:26 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 9:50:26 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I was looking for an entry level professional SLR camera. My tutor, under whom I studied graphic design, suggested Nikon FM2. I liked it the moment I picked it up in my hand. I like the simplicity of use, the feel of it in my hand, and of course the way it is built i.e. the features. I don't think theres anything I don't like about it.
12/29/2003 9:50:26 AM
 
Kerry Drager
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/4/2002
Contact Kerry
Kerry's Gallery
kerrydrager.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 11:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 11:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 11:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 11:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2003 11:15:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a terrific "back-to-basics" camera, which I used for many years. I appreciated its simplicity and its quality. Note: Nikon has just recently updated it with the FM3A.
12/27/2003 11:15:52 PM
 
Manish Shrivastava 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:46:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:46:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:46:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:46:23 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:46:23 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nikon FM2 was the world best manual camera
11/17/2003 11:46:23 AM
 
Manish Shrivastava 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:44:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:44:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:44:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:44:31 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:44:31 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nikon FM2 was the world best manual camera
11/17/2003 11:44:31 AM
 
Manish Shrivastava 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:32:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:32:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:32:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:32:44 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2003 11:32:44 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Nikon FM2 was the best manual camera in 35 mm.
11/17/2003 11:32:44 AM
 
Raquel S.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 1:13:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 1:13:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 1:13:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 1:13:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2003 1:13:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a totally manual camera with center-weighted metering. I just received this camera as a gift from my spouse. He told me that it will make a photographer out of me. After getting used to nearly all the wonderful amenities of my Nikon N80 which spoiled me silly, this camera makes me concentrate as to what I'm doing and I can't cheat. I find the focussing hard to do. The focussing screens take some getting used to. Since I'm still new to this camera and haven't received any photos back from it, I really can't give a full review. However, I've seen what my husband can do with this camera and it's truly spectacular. So, until I'm more fully knowledgeable of this camera, this is all I can write for now.
11/13/2003 1:13:08 PM
 
Jennifer L  Sametini 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 6:01:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 6:01:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 6:01:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 6:01:53 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2003 6:01:53 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My first camera! Awesome, durable and perfect to learn the basics with!!!
11/4/2003 6:01:53 AM
 
Jodi Piper 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 1:53:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 1:53:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 1:53:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 1:53:56 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/24/2003 1:53:56 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I prefer my manual Nikon camera compared to a digital camera. I like the options on a manual camera; from being able to pick what kind of film to use for the perfect shot, to manually setting your camera for that one of a kind that checks your eye; one moment itís there and the next itís gone. Manual camera's allow the photographer to rely on there own eye for the focused image and not the rigid, digital camera to do all of the work for you. Manual cameraís might be old fashion compared to all of the new digital cameraís today, but when it comes down to it, knowing your camera and mastering the art of the image is more important to a photographer then easy access imagery.
9/24/2003 1:53:56 PM
 
Shanicia  Renee Jackson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 1:58:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 1:58:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 1:58:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 1:58:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2003 1:58:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good
9/19/2003 1:58:34 PM
 
Bob Cammarata
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/17/2003
cammphoto.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 11:57:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 11:57:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 11:57:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 11:57:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 11:57:08 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fast shutter speeds with mechanical operation Wide variety of lens choices available
7/17/2003 11:57:08 PM
 
Melissa G. Parrish 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 2:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 2:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 2:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 2:29:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 2:29:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
fantastic camera. i love it.
7/8/2003 2:29:49 AM
 
Larry Lawhead
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/15/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:16:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:16:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:16:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:16:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2003 11:16:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought my FM2 in the early 80's and have loved it ever since. The driving factor for me was that it is all manual, allowing the phographer complete control. No auto-focus, no auto-exposer, it's all up to you. The only electronic in the camera is the TTL light meter. Super fast 1/4000 shutter speed, fast 1/250 flash sync.....
7/7/2003 11:16:48 AM
 
Bruce Youb 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 12:07:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 12:07:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 12:07:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 12:07:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2003 12:07:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an Awesome Camera. It forces you to understand what you are doing.
7/4/2003 12:07:04 AM
 

52 Reviews