FM2 Manual Exposure Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Kodak 200 pushed ...
View photos created with this camera

The FM2 Manual Exposure Camera

The traditionalist's choice...

Features:

  • Full manual operation and mechanical control
  • Mechanical shutter: 1/4,000 s top shutter speed
  • Top flash sync speed of 1/250 s
  • Three interchangeable finder screens
  • Continuous shooting of up to 3.2 frames per second (fps) with Motor Drive MD-12

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 52 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Anil Risal Singh 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a great manual analogue camera, very convenient to use, small in size and lighter in weight, and very sturdy.
11/12/2007 9:57:24 PM
 
Paulo S. Hinoguin 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have been using several Manual Focus cameras (e.g. canon ae 1, minolta x-700, minolta xg2, yashica super 2000) by far this camera is the best. In terms of durability and reliability. I usually use my cameras in extreme conditions, thus I only use manual. The availability of accesories is not a problem for nikon as there are many in new and in the used market.
2/10/2007 4:17:48 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic manual and a great workhorse for use as a backup.
6/1/2006 6:39:40 PM
 
Raffaele Fiocca 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Beautiful and reliable
5/4/2006 2:23:15 PM
 
Jamey  Edgerton 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the fact it is 100% manual and I have never had mechanical issues with the body or lenses.
3/13/2006 2:21:50 PM
 
TOM N. MARUKO 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
My camera is the best of all because of the higher shuttle speed.
2/14/2006 9:47:34 AM
 
Bryan J. Sorenson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
love my old trustwothy camera. it will take great photos in exteme conditions.
1/5/2006 10:26:20 PM
 
Dondy Dona 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i often use it, it's really great
12/5/2005 7:53:42 PM
 
Tonny Arnanda 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
simple & stabil but great result.
11/12/2005 12:21:36 AM
 
Joe Goff 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the old workhorse I used for news and location shooting for many, many years, in older and different versions, but they were all still Nikon 35mm's with motor drives. In my opinion it was the best ever 35mm made. I'll probably get buried with this camera. Lots of great memories.
10/27/2005 1:34:50 PM
 
Deborah L. Ouellette 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Been using these since my first job over 20 years ago with Ann Arbor News. I love them because they are sturdy, easy to work with, and if the battery goes, you still have a camera. I am having a hard time letting these babies go even with the great digital cameras out there. Buying up bodies and using them as back up for some creative processes that really are easier to do (for me anyway) on film. I like being in control and use manual mostly on digital too...only on vacation when taking snapshots do I use a point and shoot on auto. I don't care for my car making decisions for me (cruise control, anti-lock brakes...yuk!). And I don't want my camera making decisions for me. Just too old to get past that maybe. To each his own...
10/16/2005 1:19:59 PM
 

First 10 of 52 Reviews  (see all user reviews)