EOS 1000 FN (Rebel S2; 1000S) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

View on Amsterdam...
View photos created with this camera

Sold in the mid-1990s, the Canon EOS 1000FN improved upon the earlier EOS 1000F.

Features:

  • Autofocus
  • 1/2000 second top shutter speed
  • Quiet film transport
  • Built-in soft-focus mode
  • AF in-focus beeper which can be turned off
  • Built-in flash with red-eye reduction lamp

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


23 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Linda E. Villarreal 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like my camera because I love taking pictures and it is very easy and handly. I love everything on this camera I think is the greatest.
12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM
 
Guy mr Fee 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
takes reasonably good pictures winder is unpredictable on older models
10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM
 
Ian G. Jones 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've had this camera nearly 15 years (actually 1000F not FN). Good camera, basic but amazing when it first came in. Multi zone metering is good. I love canon's P mode and wheel which gives you a program Speed and Aperture but with a flick of the wheel you can you up a stop or down a stop in either speed or ap. So basically accomplishes Ax and Tx in one function. This interface is why i've been a Canon addict for 15 yrs. (Since my old Praktica died due to salt water)
5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM
 
Denise A. Elkins 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use for beginners.
1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM
 
Jim Planck 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A high-megapixel digital SLR camera that feels like the film SLRs that I am used to. I like the interchangable lenses and the ability to turn off the automatics and do my own thing. I really dislike those dinky little credit-card-sized digitals. I like the traditional feel of this camera, since I have used SLRs almost all my phoptographic life from the time they were first introduced.
11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM
 
Prasanth  Gopalakrishnan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I HAVE JUST STARTED USING IT AS OF NOW ITS FANTASTIC AND NEED TO EXPIRIMENT MORE WITH IT
10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM
 
Maria T. Benton 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera! It's like an old shoe. I am not a professional photographer (yet) however, this camera has never let me down and produced nice clear, crips images everytime.
10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM
 
Praveen Gorur 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera.. have been using it for the past 5 years
9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM
 
Carolina Zygmuntowicz
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Love this camera. It feels like a 35mm SLR which is what i'm most conforatble with. Also, there is no shutter delay. Awesome!!!
7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM
 
Catherine Johns 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far so good. We're pretty happy with it but we haven't used it much because we just purchased it.
6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM
 
Deanna Gordon 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have loved everything except within the first 2 months of owning it the eye peice fell off, was replaced and fell off again. O well Shoots great pics everytime!
2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM
 
Jason N. Bruce 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 2:29:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 2:29:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 2:29:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 2:29:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2004 2:29:24 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I'm new to SLR photography and purchased this camera to learn with. I've only gone through a few rolls of film so. I think the Canon 1000FN is a good camera for beginners. The only thing I don't like is that you cannot use a cable release.
2/8/2004 2:29:24 PM
 
Alex R. Williamson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 9:00:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 9:00:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 9:00:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 9:00:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/3/2004 9:00:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's probably not even that camera. All I know is that it's a Canon Rebel EOS and it's digital and since there's several of the same thing on that list, I just picked one. Oh well, though. It's one top-knotch camera and it can even do "rapid-fire" shots.
2/3/2004 9:00:14 PM
 
Jamie L. Jordan 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:45:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:45:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:45:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:45:34 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/2/2004 8:45:34 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Out grown.
2/2/2004 8:45:34 AM
 
Lior F 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:36:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:36:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:36:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:36:07 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/18/2004 5:36:07 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Using this camera for about a year now, and I'm pleased with the over al results.
a few drawbacks that I found, is that I can't connect a remote switch, which makes dim light photography on a tripod a game of trying, and hoping that it get out good.
another thing I am missing with this model is spot metering (only has evaluative and center_weighted).
all in all, it's a good camera for seious begginers who want more than a point and shoot camera, I think I need a better one now :-)
1/18/2004 5:36:07 AM
 
Deian  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 4:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 4:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 4:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 4:05:25 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2004 4:05:25 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have been using this camera as a main body for over an year and a half and have shot about 50-60 rolls with it. Agreably, it is an older model, but it provides enough features for somebody who doesn't shoot pictures for a living.

One thing that is important to note is that this camera is not marketed as a professional camera, not even a semiprofessional. With that in mind, it provides more than it promises. It has several creative modes (portrait, sports, close-up, landscape scene) and the usual full auto, programmed auto (user controlls the apperture/time while the camera retains the same EV), shutter priority, time priority, full manual, self timer and soft focus (for portrait pics, never used this one).

The manual says that the flash syncs at 90 speed and below, but actually it syncs at 125 also--important if you are using a zoom lens. One annoying feature: the self timer doesn't allow you to set manual exposure values, so if you are shooting with an old external flash (not TTL compatible type) you are stuck.

In general, I think that this is a great and relatively inexpensive (less than $90 for the body at keh.com) camera for a beginner who knows the basics and wants to grow, or maybe as a backup body (those of you who might need one are definitely more competent than I am to evaluate this camera, so you don't need my advice on this).

One suggestion: buy a good zoom lens with image stabilization. A good lens makes a crappy camera a good camera, but a bad lens with a good camera will give you a crappy camera. One day you certainly switch to a digital or more advanced SLR, and the lens can stay with you.

1/12/2004 4:05:25 PM
 
Tyler j. Harris 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 10:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 10:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 10:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 10:26:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2004 10:26:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
the people that helped me knew what they were talking about. they helped me make the right chocie for what i wanted and needed.
1/8/2004 10:26:44 AM
 
Abdul Rahman M. Al-Senaidi 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 11:25:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 11:25:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 11:25:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 11:25:55 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2003 11:25:55 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
old model but nice, I'm think to buy anew SKR & digetal camera
11/29/2003 11:25:55 PM
 
Kurt Kettelhut
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/1/2003
kurtkettelhut.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:25:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:25:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:25:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:25:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2003 7:25:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just learning the in's and out's of the digital world. So far it's been a very pleasant experience. Much easier to relate to photoshop and preparing a final image.
10/24/2003 7:25:30 AM
 
June R. Cooper
Contact June
June's Gallery
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:24:04 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:24:04 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:24:04 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:24:04 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2003 8:24:04 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
My is a Canon Rebel 2000 ...Just learning to use it
10/16/2003 8:24:04 AM
 
Koraljka-Ivana Serdarusic 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:53:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:53:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:53:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:53:19 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2003 2:53:19 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
very goog and easy to use. auto functions are good as manual and can be tourned off.
10/1/2003 2:53:19 PM
 
Alicia Elliott 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 2:56:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 2:56:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 2:56:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 2:56:08 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/22/2003 2:56:08 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great overall camera for a novice like me. It has full auto for my point and shoot opportunities, and full manual for the more in depth work. I don't like that in order to do manual, you have to cycle through a number of options on the camera's computer, instead of just adjusting the settings manually. It's been my best friend for a number of years now, and I wouldn't replace it unless I were seriously upgrading.
9/22/2003 2:56:08 PM
 
Christopher A. Barrion 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 6:10:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 6:10:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 6:10:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 6:10:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 6:10:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
the auto focus camera gives a wondeerful shots to us... give a perfect shots even without knowing the backgriund of using it..
i want to make an order for this. can you give a price to me. and how can io purchase this kind of camera?
mail me at christopherbarrion@updiliman.com
thank you...
8/28/2003 6:10:24 PM
 

23 Reviews