BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 1000 FN (Rebel S2; 1000S) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

To the Beat
View photos created with this camera

Sold in the mid-1990s, the Canon EOS 1000FN improved upon the earlier EOS 1000F.

Features:

  • Autofocus
  • 1/2000 second top shutter speed
  • Quiet film transport
  • Built-in soft-focus mode
  • AF in-focus beeper which can be turned off
  • Built-in flash with red-eye reduction lamp

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 23 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Linda E. Villarreal

member since: 12/5/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like my camera because I love taking pictures and it is very easy and handly. I love everything on this camera I think is the greatest.
12/7/2005 10:03:41 PM
 
Guy mr Fee

member since: 10/26/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
takes reasonably good pictures winder is unpredictable on older models
10/26/2005 1:48:46 PM
 
Ian G. Jones

member since: 5/10/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I've had this camera nearly 15 years (actually 1000F not FN). Good camera, basic but amazing when it first came in. Multi zone metering is good. I love canon's P mode and wheel which gives you a program Speed and Aperture but with a flick of the wheel you can you up a stop or down a stop in either speed or ap. So basically accomplishes Ax and Tx in one function. This interface is why i've been a Canon addict for 15 yrs. (Since my old Praktica died due to salt water)
5/12/2005 7:31:39 PM
 
Denise A. Elkins

member since: 1/29/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Easy to use for beginners.
1/29/2005 11:24:12 AM
 
Jim Planck

member since: 11/4/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
A high-megapixel digital SLR camera that feels like the film SLRs that I am used to. I like the interchangable lenses and the ability to turn off the automatics and do my own thing. I really dislike those dinky little credit-card-sized digitals. I like the traditional feel of this camera, since I have used SLRs almost all my phoptographic life from the time they were first introduced.
11/4/2004 1:13:10 PM
 
Prasanth  Gopalakrishnan

member since: 10/19/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I HAVE JUST STARTED USING IT AS OF NOW ITS FANTASTIC AND NEED TO EXPIRIMENT MORE WITH IT
10/22/2004 10:29:43 PM
 
Maria T. Benton

member since: 10/7/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera! It's like an old shoe. I am not a professional photographer (yet) however, this camera has never let me down and produced nice clear, crips images everytime.
10/7/2004 2:02:22 PM
 
Praveen Gorur

member since: 9/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera.. have been using it for the past 5 years
9/7/2004 3:30:10 AM
 
Carolina Zygmuntowicz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/13/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I Love this camera. It feels like a 35mm SLR which is what i'm most conforatble with. Also, there is no shutter delay. Awesome!!!
7/3/2004 10:41:14 AM
 
Catherine Johns

member since: 6/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
So far so good. We're pretty happy with it but we haven't used it much because we just purchased it.
6/22/2004 7:48:35 PM
 
Deanna Gordon

member since: 2/28/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have loved everything except within the first 2 months of owning it the eye peice fell off, was replaced and fell off again. O well Shoots great pics everytime!
2/28/2004 4:19:38 PM
 

First 10 of 23 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.