EOS Rebel X (XS; Kiss; 500) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

spoonleaf sundew ...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Rebel X (XS; Kiss; 500) 35mm SLR Camera


Features:

  • 30-1/2000 and bulb shutter speeds
  • Aperture priority
  • Shutter priority
  • Manual exposure mode
  • TTL
  • Both do not feature mirror lock-up, depth of field preview, or a PC sync terminal.
The Rebel X was only sold to the US market only.

The Rebel X is almost identical to the XS (or KISS) model but it lacks the pop-up flash, metered manual exposure, and date back of the KISS.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 121 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Tina L. Reed 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:58:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:58:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:58:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:58:06 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 5:58:06 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
as far as 35mm goes I love it. light weight, comfortable, easy to operate and great pictures.
6/21/2006 5:58:06 AM
 
Tonya Caldwell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 10:20:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 10:20:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 10:20:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 10:20:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/24/2006 10:20:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera. I'm still learning how to use it!
5/24/2006 10:20:01 AM
 
Everett Forester
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 8:53:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 8:53:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 8:53:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 8:53:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/7/2006 8:53:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this camera seems to make me some what better than i am at photography, all you need to do is lern how to compose and get the lighting right! the camera does the rest. there are to many features to name, the only thing i don't like ! i wish it was a digital slr, but for the price you can't beat it.
5/7/2006 8:53:48 AM
 
Tanya  Everett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 6:59:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 6:59:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 6:59:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 6:59:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2006 6:59:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my canon rebel!!!! It is a great camera with lots of easy to use options and lots out manual options!!
5/4/2006 6:59:33 PM
 
Tiffany L. Harrison 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 4:28:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 4:28:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 4:28:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 4:28:17 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/19/2006 4:28:17 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
.........
4/19/2006 4:28:17 PM
 
Noelle S. Benepe 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 1:51:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 1:51:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 1:51:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 1:51:29 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 1:51:29 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera that I used to take these photos is the same camera that I use to take photos for my annual yearbook. We bought it for school, so not everything is adjustable for the use of outside photography but overall is it a very nice camera.
4/18/2006 1:51:29 PM
 
Brook Burling
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/17/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:47 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 11:44:47 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
I am an amateur and this is my first digital camera I have ever owned, so it is hard for me to rate it. I guess if I had to say I would like to have more mega pixels to produce larger prints.
4/13/2006 11:44:47 AM
 
Fred S. MacKenzie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:27:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:27:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:27:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:27:23 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 10:27:23 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first camera. Very nice for film shooters without the high budget. Nice crisp pics., easy to learn.
3/24/2006 10:27:23 AM
 
WMPA WMPA 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:23:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2006 10:23:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera, though I have since retired it. (replaced it with a digital rebel which I love)
3/20/2006 10:23:53 AM
 
Lizz Ehrenpreis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:09:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:09:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The only thing I really dislike about this camera is that it's so old. I cannot compare it to any recent models of the Canon Rebel SLRs because I've never used one, but so far this camera has been nothing but reliable and of a very high quality.
3/3/2006 11:09:23 PM
 
Timtohy J. Egan 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:56:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 3:56:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
35mm
2/9/2006 3:56:44 PM
 

First 10 of 121 Reviews  (see all user reviews)