T50 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Daydreamin' I...
View photos created with this camera

The T50 35mm SLR Camera

The first model in Canon's T Series, the Canon T50 started selling in the 1980s as an inviting, easy to operate, and user-friendly manual focus SLR camera.

Features:

  • Auto loading, auto winding
  • Fully programmed AE
  • Programmed flash AE
  • Built-in winder

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Todd David Isaacson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Canon T-50 is a good camera. I like the built in autowinder, but I wish it had a manual winder as a safety backup. Also, it runs on 2 AA batteries, and when you shoot in warm or humid weather and the batteries die, they tend to get stuck, and you have a hard time removing them. Another dislike is the metering in the eyepiece. There is a red dot or a green dot. I understand that it is a low end 35mm SLR, and cannot have every feature, but at least I have the autowinder.
7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my first better camera and it served me very well. I still have it and use it occasionally. My first really good shots came from this camera. I learned about settings on this one and it performed very well as a beginner's camera.
5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM
 
Anthony McQueen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
i used an AE-1 before it which was stolen, it was all around a better camera. the t-50 lacks the flexibility an slr should have, even with its auto mode it could at least use shutter priority allowing you to at least to set a manual aperature setting, but with full auto it may as well have been an expensive point and shoot camera. but its all I have
3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM
 
Kelli D. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The only thing I don't enjoy about this camera is that one cannot adjust the shutter speed. Aperture is adjustable, but it is difficult to judge without knowing the shutter speed.
1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM
 
Jason C. McCall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome camera for beginner's, full auto mode (no auto focus) where camera selects best aperture & shutter speed or you select the aperture and the camera selects the corresponding shutter speed. Great image quality, equal or possibly better than my Pentax K1000. Fun and easy film camera to shoot with.
12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM
 
Kornel Surnovszky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Served at the time my photo needs.
12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM
 
Kornel Surnovszky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Served my photo needs at the time
12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM
 
Kornel Surnovszky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Served at the time my needs.
12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM
 
Kerry Sanders 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is almost 20 yrs. old. It was a graduation present from my dad. It's been through about anything, weighs a little more than I like but still keeps taking pretty decent pictures. I like the compactness of my digital, but when it comes to clarity and being accurate -- I'll reach for my 35mm any day.
11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM
 
Qwerty Uiop
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Aperature priority only.
10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM
 
Teresa A. Hillery
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Canon T50 because my very first camera was a T50 and I liked the photo's it produced. My first one broke and I just recently found another one. I've got other cameras that I like just as well. The only thing I don't care about is you can't select shutter speed with this camera.
5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM
 
Joyce ONeil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/4/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:07:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:07:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:07:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:07:39 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2005 8:07:39 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This is an old Canon, my first camera. It is limited as far as speed, and it is heavy, but it has been a good first camera and has given me good results.
5/4/2005 8:07:39 AM
 
Phil W. Parkerson Jr 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 4:55:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 4:55:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 4:55:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 4:55:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/20/2004 4:55:49 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This ones alright. I also got this one free. It came with a 100-399mm lens. MF though.
12/20/2004 4:55:49 AM
 
Gayle S. Clary 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 7:49:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 7:49:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 7:49:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 7:49:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/17/2004 7:49:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to work
11/17/2004 7:49:46 AM
 
Matthew W. Meurer 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:38:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:38:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:38:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:38:31 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2004 9:38:31 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
When I bought the camera back in the early eighty’s, it was the best camera I had ever owned. I wanted a 35mm camera but they were so expensive. The Canon T50 was affordable and easy to use. It taught me the fundamentals of a 35mm and eventually I learned how to take a decent picture. In today’s standards the camera is obsolete. It is not automatic like the cameras of today, you have to setup and manually focus the lens. The camera body is more squared, doesn’t fit in your hands comfortably and is heavier then today’s cameras. When a zoom lens is added to the camera it becomes even bulkier. But used with a tripod the camera still takes a good pictures.
7/7/2004 9:38:31 AM
 
Sandra J. Colby
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 5:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 5:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 5:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 5:49:42 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2004 5:49:42 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It may be old, but it works like a charm.
7/5/2004 5:49:42 PM
 
Teresa S. Ortega 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 6:58:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 6:58:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 6:58:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 6:58:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2004 6:58:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I no longer have this camera. I should have kept it, getting rid of it was a huge mistake. This camera took excellant pictures. I used the auto mode most of the time, but had a manual setting too. Accessories I had were wideangle, tele-photo, and zoom lenses (including a macro zoom lense), filters for the lenses/flash and a tripod. If you still have one in good working condition, hang onto it!
6/17/2004 6:58:24 AM
 
Amanda  D. Warrington 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 10:42:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 10:42:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 10:42:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 10:42:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2004 10:42:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
i have thouroghly enjoyed my canon camera. I am however in the process of purchasing a new Canon rebel digital, for an even better quality. I recommend any canon product for photography use.
6/2/2004 10:42:55 AM
 
Penny L. Van Atta 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 12:59:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 12:59:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 12:59:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 12:59:51 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2004 12:59:51 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Have had this camera since 1989. It is easy to use, takes good picture as long as the photographer that is using it (Me) pays attentions to all the specifics. Would like to learn more about apertures, etc. Also trying to expand my vision when looking at objects. Hope to learn how to take better and more interesting photos through this site. And perhaps take an on line course.
3/30/2004 12:59:51 PM
 
Eder Sierra 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 7:12:09 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 7:12:09 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 7:12:09 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 7:12:09 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2004 7:12:09 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
This camera does not have many options. You can not do alot of creative things with the camera itself, but it is a great starting point for any photographer beasue it teaching one how to use F-stops and film speed to acquire different lighting effects from different films. The camera is a good camera to learn the very basics of photography with but not good for an advanced user.
3/29/2004 7:12:09 PM
 
gary jesso 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:56:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:56:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:56:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:56:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2004 10:56:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I purchased this camera last year at a second hand shop,i needed a new camera and it was getting harder to find new cameras that still used regular film. But i am still planning on getting an digital this year. I was really pleased how the photos turned out with this camera.
3/27/2004 10:56:52 PM
 
Chad Knowlden 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 1:15:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 1:15:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 1:15:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 1:15:39 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/2/2004 1:15:39 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
A very good inexpensive camera. Only problem is no manual mode.
1/2/2004 1:15:39 PM
 
Marjorie Y.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/27/2003
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 11:00:07 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 11:00:07 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 11:00:07 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 11:00:07 AM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/8/2003 11:00:07 AM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
Great to use as a point and shoot, but not useful for any sort of manual control. Prints come out clear but I need to be able to control either aperture or shutter speed.
10/8/2003 11:00:07 AM
 
Jimmie B. Hansson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 5:51:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 5:51:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 5:51:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 5:51:47 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2003 5:51:47 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Lins rating from above , sharp and clear perspective with good frame work.
8/13/2003 5:51:47 AM
 
Dianna Townsend 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:24:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:24:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:24:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:24:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/17/2003 6:24:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love it except I can't see my pictures immediately and have to worry about the prints getting lost when their being developed.
6/17/2003 6:24:20 PM
 

25 Reviews