T50 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Daydreamin' I...
View photos created with this camera

The T50 35mm SLR Camera

The first model in Canon's T Series, the Canon T50 started selling in the 1980s as an inviting, easy to operate, and user-friendly manual focus SLR camera.

Features:

  • Auto loading, auto winding
  • Fully programmed AE
  • Programmed flash AE
  • Built-in winder

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Todd David Isaacson 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The Canon T-50 is a good camera. I like the built in autowinder, but I wish it had a manual winder as a safety backup. Also, it runs on 2 AA batteries, and when you shoot in warm or humid weather and the batteries die, they tend to get stuck, and you have a hard time removing them. Another dislike is the metering in the eyepiece. There is a red dot or a green dot. I understand that it is a low end 35mm SLR, and cannot have every feature, but at least I have the autowinder.
7/6/2006 7:24:56 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my first better camera and it served me very well. I still have it and use it occasionally. My first really good shots came from this camera. I learned about settings on this one and it performed very well as a beginner's camera.
5/10/2006 6:48:24 AM
 
Anthony McQueen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/25/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM
Rating: 2 out of 5
i used an AE-1 before it which was stolen, it was all around a better camera. the t-50 lacks the flexibility an slr should have, even with its auto mode it could at least use shutter priority allowing you to at least to set a manual aperature setting, but with full auto it may as well have been an expensive point and shoot camera. but its all I have
3/25/2006 11:02:44 PM
 
Kelli D. Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/4/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The only thing I don't enjoy about this camera is that one cannot adjust the shutter speed. Aperture is adjustable, but it is difficult to judge without knowing the shutter speed.
1/5/2006 4:45:42 PM
 
Jason C. McCall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Awesome camera for beginner's, full auto mode (no auto focus) where camera selects best aperture & shutter speed or you select the aperture and the camera selects the corresponding shutter speed. Great image quality, equal or possibly better than my Pentax K1000. Fun and easy film camera to shoot with.
12/16/2005 10:26:14 AM
 
Kornel Surnovszky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Served at the time my photo needs.
12/12/2005 9:53:27 AM
 
Kornel Surnovszky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Served my photo needs at the time
12/12/2005 9:50:27 AM
 
Kornel Surnovszky 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Served at the time my needs.
12/12/2005 9:47:53 AM
 
Kerry Sanders 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This camera is almost 20 yrs. old. It was a graduation present from my dad. It's been through about anything, weighs a little more than I like but still keeps taking pretty decent pictures. I like the compactness of my digital, but when it comes to clarity and being accurate -- I'll reach for my 35mm any day.
11/10/2005 4:57:20 PM
 
Qwerty Uiop
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Aperature priority only.
10/17/2005 4:59:28 PM
 
Teresa A. Hillery
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/13/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the Canon T50 because my very first camera was a T50 and I liked the photo's it produced. My first one broke and I just recently found another one. I've got other cameras that I like just as well. The only thing I don't care about is you can't select shutter speed with this camera.
5/11/2005 7:54:26 PM
 

First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)