BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


N55/F55 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

B
View photos created with this camera

The N55/F55 SLR Camera

Nikon's smallest and lightest 35mm SLR provides superior performance in a classic Nikon design with buttons and dials conveniently placed to facilitate use.

Features:

  • Easy operation with exposure mode select dial
  • Command Dial with large top deck LCD panel
  • Auto mode for fully automatic control
  • Three-area autofocus system
  • 3D Matrix Metering (with D-/G-type Nikkor lens)
  • Four exposure modes - Aperture priority, Shutter, Program, and Manual
  • Focus tracking
  • F55D features data imprinting

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


79 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Vidya Lakshmi Madhu
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first Camera.This is best camera for Independent learners by performancewise. I prefer this camera to buy all budding photographers. The Cost also reasonable.... If you want to see the snaps which has taken by my camera(Nikon-F55/N55) Please mail me on vidya_shroff@hotmail.com

9/29/2006 12:06:11 AM
 
Morgan Blake

member since: 7/5/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is my very first camera. My parents got it for me when I started taking photography in high school almost a year ago. I love the fact that it is a 35mm. I definitely prefer 35mm's over digital. I love the surprise of not knowing what my pictures look like until they've been developed. I feel that the "surprise" photographs are the more meaningful ones. My camera takes quality photographs. The clarity is very good, but I can't always get as close to my subjects as I would like to while still taking clear pictures. In a few years I would like to upgrade to I better camera, but for now I'm fine with the one I have. I would definitely recommend this camera to any amateur who would like to take high quality photographs and prefers 35mm cameras.
7/5/2006 1:14:53 PM
 
Long K. Chau

member since: 6/25/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Nikon N55 Is my Weapon of choice because its cheap and produce great picture quality, easy to use, and its the first camera I started with.
6/25/2006 2:11:09 PM
 
Terry H. Sparks

member since: 6/3/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Decent camera for begininers.
6/3/2006 9:10:31 PM
 


member since: 4/20/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
It is not the best on the market, but it is perfect for someone starting out in photography
4/20/2006 10:41:26 PM
 
Lisa A. Hamrick

member since: 4/4/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This picture was takin by my husband and I know nothing about this camera, except it si a Nikon N55, because I bought it for him, other than that I know nothing about it.Sorry
4/4/2006 7:42:20 PM
 
George A. Duron

member since: 2/21/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
THIS IS MY FIRST SLR CAMERA, IT'S SIMPLE ENOUGH FOR A BEGINER,AND IT HELPS YOU TO GROW WITH IT, I LOVE THE RESULTS I HAD WITH IT.
2/21/2006 2:55:49 PM
 
Jo Ann M. Kuball

member since: 3/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like my Nikon its the first SLR I bought. I bought it for my sons Wedding Day. I got a lot of great pictures that day. I practice alot before the big day. The only down fall I have with this that I can change the ISO like I can on my Digital. Although I still use it but at certain times.
2/1/2006 7:45:55 AM
 
Michelle  Heath
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/4/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This was my first official camera. I have used many one time use camera with awesome results. I love film photography still. I have a digital, but don't use it much. Its small Nikon coolpix 2200. I have used a Kodak easyshare nice one from a friend, was easy, not one i will buy. I prefer my film cameras.
1/18/2006 12:12:23 PM
 
Michele N. Yamrick

member since: 1/16/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The N55, was purchased as a 'back up' to my FM....now I'm not one to really get into 'automatic' SLR's but this one is easy to live with. And yeah, automatic is nice in those situations where you need to be a little fast on the draw...another thing, is again, Nikon made this baby affordable, under $200 in most places, so it fits pretty well into the budget! Fine images, easy to use, and Nikon quality.
1/16/2006 12:11:39 PM
 
Jennifer Wesley

member since: 11/22/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have only had my camera for about a year, when my interest in photography first arose, and I didn't really know what to look for. But so far I love it, it's totally user friendly and it can be used for more than just point and click cameras.
11/22/2005 8:16:42 AM
 
Blair Farley

member since: 11/13/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This was my first SLR camera to use extensively. I didn't know much about photography when I began to use it, so it was great for me. It doesn't have all of the features that many, more popular, and professional cameras include, but it's easy to use and takes great pictures!
11/13/2005 5:40:11 PM
 
craig r. ultsch
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/9/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It takes great pictures, easy to use for begginners.
11/10/2005 2:25:10 AM
 
craig r. ultsch
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/9/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
TAKES GREAT PICTURES
11/9/2005 4:48:36 PM
 
Holly  Tonini

member since: 1/25/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
alright as a basic SLR camera
11/4/2005 12:30:22 PM
 
Robin Taylor

member since: 10/24/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! It's a great camera to learn on, but it gives you plenty of room to grow with your skills.
10/24/2005 6:59:24 PM
 
Ronald Broome

member since: 9/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I went to buy a digital but the dinosaur in me wouldn't let me. I played with the N55 while my wife shopped and ended up buying it. Everything about it is cheap except the performance and results. I bought 2 G lenses covering 28 - 300mm and this is now my constant companion. Great shots and prints up to 8x10. I'll go digital next year or decade or maybe never.
9/16/2005 3:25:37 PM
 
Norman R. Lamothe,Jr.
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/11/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
i like that its an entry level profussonal camera and easy to use,but i lost the hand book oops. and so now i for got what each thing dose and try'd to contect Nikon but there out of stock....
9/11/2005 9:40:17 AM
 
Anita Machek

member since: 8/28/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like the weight and ease of use. I appreciate that I can go to automatic focus and settings if I need to, it has helped me learn more about settings by watching the automatic settings. I sometimes find the manual settings difficult to set.
8/28/2005 8:17:10 PM
 
Rebecca Palmer

member since: 7/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera take beautiful photos. They are crystal clear. I am a beginner at using an SLR, so the fully automatic feature works great for me, but it can also be used as a fully manual camera, which I hope to learn to do well soon. I would definately recommend it for a starter SLR camera.
7/28/2005 7:13:12 PM
 
Ethan J. Chalmers

member since: 7/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I enjoy this camera alot. Its great for basically everything. It has an aoutomatic setting for snapshots and a more comprehensive manual setting if you want to set everything your self.
7/26/2005 7:59:08 PM
 
Nick Perdikis

member since: 7/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Awsome Camera extremely happy with the images I have taken since purchasing camera
7/25/2005 1:31:35 PM
 
Jonathan M. Smith

member since: 5/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
shutter speeds are great, auto mode is good, plastic lens mount is a negative
5/30/2005 9:11:12 PM
 
Johannah D

member since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a wonderful Camera, I haven't figure out all the little things on it but I like what it does and it's not hard to use.
5/10/2005 8:35:28 AM
 
Garrett C. Pinder

member since: 5/8/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Pretty good overall... has a hard time focusing on objects that are very close to the lens. Sometimes the autoflash gets in the way
5/8/2005 6:40:55 PM
 
Sharon C. Hill

member since: 5/5/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
This camera takes good pictures, but most of the time I have to use it on manual and I wish I could use the automatic more often.
5/5/2005 5:46:01 PM
 
Moeen Ud Din

member since: 4/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Easy to use, accurate and durable.
4/28/2005 2:49:42 AM
 
Sophia Ali

member since: 4/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera. Night setting should only be used outside. Everything is awesome about this camera.
4/22/2005 10:16:20 AM
 
Dawn Martin

member since: 3/20/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my first good camera since my snapshot days with cheap point-and-shoots so of course I think it's excellent. The auto functions are great and I'm still learning to use it in manual mode. I am looking to upgrade to a better camera within the next couple years and would welcome any input or suggestions.
3/26/2005 6:16:28 AM
 
Deborah G. Robertson

member since: 3/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nikon N55 is a good camera. It is very easy to use for the beginner or it can be advance fot the professional.
3/15/2005 7:52:02 PM
 
Babu Thomas

member since: 3/14/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my second camera. I have started liking my F55. Not very easy to use, but gives excellent results. I have recommanded this one for few others and all of them are happy with the camera.
3/14/2005 1:59:43 PM
 
Heather M. Casto
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/23/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera for the beginning photographer. It has a lot of features that let the photographer create beautiful pictures right out of the box. I recommend it highly.
2/23/2005 10:27:54 PM
 
Krystal Portelli

member since: 2/22/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the only SLR camera I have owned. I used this camera for a photography class and the settings seemed easier to navigate through then those I tested that belonged to family and friends.
2/22/2005 11:02:14 AM
 
Christyna Englehardt

member since: 2/1/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I just purchased this camera and found it takes wonderful pictures. I am still learning new things with it every day.
2/9/2005 2:49:52 PM
 
Michelle Heath

member since: 1/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love both of these cameras, I have tried many different cameras, both digital and SLR. These were the easiest to use. And they turn out the most spectacular photographs. I love my N55 as well as my coolpix.
1/31/2005 12:08:47 PM
 
Elizabeth  Lee

member since: 1/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fabulous camera! I love it! No complaints here. Captures everything I want beautifully!
1/12/2005 10:31:55 AM
 
Houston Putnam Lowry

member since: 2/9/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Having been used to the Nikkormat FT2 for a number of years, I find this to be a good camera. The automatics work well, although I am onery enough to use the manual because I like to think I am smarter than silicon. I rely on the autofocus a lot because of my poor eyesight, especially in the telephone department. I don't like to slow speed of the autofus at long telephone ranges (I prefer the f5 better, but that cost several thousand dollars and the N55 can be obtained for $200 or so now). All in all, a good package.
1/8/2005 9:45:08 AM
 
Don W. Conn

member since: 1/4/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
great camera for shooting race cars
1/4/2005 9:35:38 PM
 
Brandy S. Maricelli

member since: 12/31/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
New camera, so not sure yet. I know it is the best one I have ever owned though!
12/31/2004 8:36:51 AM
 
Jessica F. Foreman

member since: 10/14/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it
10/14/2004 12:56:55 PM
 
Anna Fernau

member since: 10/11/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love the lightweight feel of the camera ... the autofocus can almost be too sophisticated for shooting. Used a Nikon AF Macro 100 mm lens - love it for portraits.
10/11/2004 9:01:52 PM
 
Miguel Yupangco

member since: 8/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this camera about a year ago and I love it. Its small and compact yet it still has many manual and autofocus features. It is great for photo students but I recommend changing the lense. I changed mine to a Nikon 28-200mm and its just a perfect match
8/27/2004 12:02:52 PM
 
Nanette M. LaCoste

member since: 8/21/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I think i made a very good choose when i bought my camera. I also bought the zoom lens and that's my favorite part of my camera.I have told all my friend's about my great camera and they would like to purchase one as well.
8/21/2004 5:51:57 PM
 


member since: 6/17/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The Best I have so far been able to buy and own.
7/20/2004 3:09:42 AM
 
win2004 

member since: 5/2/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've used f55 for 2 years, I could capture a lot of objects I like..& it satisfied me.
7/10/2004 9:30:23 AM
 
Diane E. Bishop

member since: 6/21/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I haven't used many cameras, I like the choice to use either the manual or auto control. I have just began to explore. The camera seems to work well, I'm interested in trying different lens.
7/6/2004 6:14:42 PM
 
Diana Owens

member since: 5/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is one of the best cameras. You learn from it and you have fun with it.
6/17/2004 5:58:16 PM
 
Jan M. Sarazen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/15/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like my camera
6/15/2004 2:44:02 PM
 
Jan M. Sarazen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/15/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really like my camera!
6/15/2004 2:42:55 PM
 
Monica A. Burson

member since: 5/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i am pretty content with my camera. its my first so i dont know exactly what all else is out there.
5/23/2004 12:04:17 PM
 
Robert  W. Talley

member since: 5/11/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This Camera is a wonderful camera. I would traid it in for nothing.
5/11/2004 10:38:50 AM
 
Leonardus Mangatur

member since: 3/8/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use
4/12/2004 5:03:46 AM
 
Michelle L. Ballard

member since: 2/24/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a very user friendly camera for a new photographer
2/24/2004 7:20:53 PM
 
Toni Tarala

member since: 1/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first camera outside of the instamatic type. I'm enjoying the learning process, but have to admit I get confused at times. I try new shots then take an automatic just to make sure I don't miss one of those shots that I just can't miss.
2/18/2004 10:17:53 AM
 
Shane L. Goodchild

member since: 2/17/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great entry level camera yet it has enough features to bring a person into to some serious photograpy.
2/17/2004 7:55:59 PM
 
Julie Walker

member since: 2/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Nikon has given such incredible photos! I have shot everything from portraits to weddings to scenics! No complaints whatsoever! I've used B&W, Fuji NPH 400, and standard color negative film and still have no complaints! =) I will gladly share any and all info to anyone who is considering this camera!
2/5/2004 7:41:17 AM
 
Kelly D  Mackey

member since: 2/4/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
good cam
2/4/2004 11:18:09 AM
 
Julie Walker

member since: 2/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've owned the N55 for 8 months. I purchased it and shot a wedding 3 weeks later. NO regrets! I would STRONGLY recommend this camera to anyone just beginning in photography. I stayed clear of SLR's for 5 years until I found the Nikon. I particularly love the portrait and sports modes on this unit!!
2/4/2004 8:19:08 AM
 
Melissa Transier

member since: 2/1/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I havent had this camera very long but im happy with the pictures its easy to use.
2/1/2004 4:06:54 AM
 
Lisa K. Howard

member since: 1/20/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
for my first camera, I have no complaints.
1/20/2004 5:53:52 PM
 
Lisa K. Howard

member since: 1/20/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
for my first camera, I have no complaints
1/20/2004 5:52:18 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera. Small and very versitile. Produces excelent quality pictures. Plus its cheap. Go out and get one
1/11/2004 3:58:02 PM
 
Kenneth J. Leet

member since: 11/30/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I plan on useing another SLR later on , but for now learning the basics about SLR operation this one is perfect . The only thing I really hate about it , is the fact that it has no remote or any type of sensor for use in the BULB mode . But over all its a solid Amatuer SLR . Would I suggest it for Newbies Yes very much . I plan on useing the Nikon F-100 this summer .
1/6/2004 2:06:18 PM
 
LISA L. HOWARD
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/3/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I WON 2 FIRST PLACE PHOTO CONTEST WITH THIS CAMERA IN 2003. ONE OF THEM WON BEST OF SHOW .I HAVE HAD MANY CAMERAS AND HAVE BEEN DOING AMATEUR PHOTOGRAPHY FOR 20 YEARS. THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CAMERAS I HAVE EVER HAD. L HOWARD
1/1/2004 4:09:50 PM
 
LISA L. HOWARD
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/3/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I WON 2 FIRST PLACE PHOTO CONTEST WITH THIS CAMERA IN 2003. ONE OF THEM WON BEST OF SHOW .I HAVE HAD MANY CAMERAS AND HAVE BEEN DOING AMATEUR PHOTOGRAPHY FOR 20 YEARS. THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST CAMERAS I HAVE EVER HAD. L HOWARD
1/1/2004 4:08:46 PM
 
Amanda J. Waite

member since: 1/30/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I find this camera very easy to use. If feel that it takes very good pictures, with the photographers help.
11/26/2003 6:19:28 AM
 
Kent  H. Plonkey

member since: 11/23/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Very versitile, can take landscapes, sports, etc. low priced, but limited capabilities
11/23/2003 9:02:51 PM
 
Swati 

member since: 11/8/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I THINK IT'S A UNIQUE CAMERA FOR WOMEN AND EASY TO USE. NICE RESULTS ALSO FAST IN OPERATION . APARTUE AND SHUTTER PRIORITY ARE VERY GOOD OPTIONS IN SUCH A CAMERA.

SWATI

11/8/2003 4:17:59 PM
 
Eileen M. 

member since: 11/2/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Highly recommend for someone that just wants to point and shoot or learn to shoot manual SLR's. However, if you want to get "into" photography, don't buy this one. It doesn't have a shutter cable release capability; if you want to use a flash with the hot shoe, only certain programs features are compatible with it. So, if you just want to snap pictures of your child at play - go for it. if you want to do portrait type shoots in your dining room on a tripod - get the better model!
11/2/2003 11:44:15 AM
 
BILLIE C. COLES

member since: 2/12/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very easy to use. The auto focus, and portrait settings are great for fast moving things, like kids.
10/15/2003 8:02:32 PM
 
Dawn Wilson

member since: 10/13/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my first camera, I am new to this so I don't know how it compares to others. But so far I love it.
10/13/2003 8:42:17 PM
 
Lisa K. Howard

member since: 10/11/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is my first camera, and I'm just learning. It seems to be working out pretty well for me.
10/11/2003 8:48:25 PM
 
Laura J. Higginbotham

member since: 2/18/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I don't think I know enough about it yet to rate it, but I love it. I feel like this camera is going to help me capture scenes and poses that have great appeal to me. I know it's really me and my eye, but the camera is an extension of that. I also use a Nikon CoolPix 775 Digital as well as a Pentax IQZ120 (which I keep black and white in).
9/15/2003 8:24:08 PM
 
Brenda Shaw

member since: 8/20/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera! I have always had good results with the Nikon
8/20/2003 9:19:52 AM
 
Radhakant Das

member since: 8/6/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Looks.Smart enough to take decision in itself.Gives syunning results even in difficult light conditions.The camera lets the user know exactly how many exposures are left on his film.The focus guide lamp is really very much effective.
8/6/2003 4:45:40 AM
 
Sanket Sharma

member since: 7/15/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well...
I had no interest or knowledge in photography whatsoever untill I bought this camera. I had a point and shoot camera about 7-8 years back, but I had no interest in photography.
Untill recently I bought this camera, I'm plannin to take up fashion photography as my part time profession untill I finish my college!
This is an amazing camera and has most of the features u need to get started and has a lot of professional features as well.
The camera looks stunning, is very lightweight, supports a variety of accessories and most of nikon lenses and has option for attaching speed lights and other professional things.

The best camera there can be for ameatures and beginners.

7/15/2003 6:13:17 AM
 
Jose Ramon  Cruz

member since: 6/30/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A very nice camera for amateur photographers like myself, and even for more advanced people. Very light,reliable,nice looking and good price.
7/8/2003 9:37:00 PM
 
Erin L. Olson

member since: 7/3/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
All Nikons Rule!
7/3/2003 5:11:26 AM
 
Leah Marshall
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/4/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent! I am a student who knew zilch about 35mm SLR photography. This camera is so easy to use. My skills have increased 100 times. It is inexpensive, yet has 75% of the same functions as the high end Nikons. Great for beginner, yet enough features for the skilled photography to find exteremly useful. Not to mention lightweight and cute! Highly reccommended!
6/17/2003 12:09:34 PM
 

79 Reviews  

Add your own review

Buy N55/F55 SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.