BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Spotmatic 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

Barb
View photos created with this camera

The Spotmatic 35mm Camera

The Pentax Spotmatic line of manual focus, manual exposure SLR cameras - including but by no means limited to the SP, SL, ES, SP-1000, and F models - started in 1964 when the original Spotmatic was launched. It derived its name from the feature which distinguished it from the competition - spot metering.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


39 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sam C. Ferruolo

member since: 6/22/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
some of the best pictures ive taken were with this camera, it weighs a ton, you definitley cant do any fast shooting with it, but nothing beats the contrast and purity you get from film, great camera to learn on
6/22/2006 7:50:10 PM
 
Frank A. Vargo III

member since: 10/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an old Honeywell Spotmatic 35mm. I use it constantly and enjoy the ease of it's workings.
5/13/2006 1:03:48 PM
 
George Reimonn

member since: 5/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Spotmatic is from the 1970s and everything about it still works as well as when it was new. They didn't use any plastic to make cameras in those days, so it's heavy, which makes it more resistant to vibration.
5/9/2006 3:11:42 AM
 
Anthony J. Amore

member since: 3/27/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
First SLR camera I owned given to me by my dad. Had it since high school. It still will fire up and take some picture.
3/28/2006 3:54:02 PM
 
Meshank N. Lakhia

member since: 1/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A very good and the best of its time's manual SLR. Very ideal for macro photography using a reversible ring or a below.
3/25/2006 10:24:36 AM
 
Nicole Fournier

member since: 1/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
first camera. love it!
2/28/2006 1:23:58 AM
 
Brad Ulrich

member since: 1/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My 1st SLR...Brings back memories
2/11/2006 1:49:25 AM
 
Dannie A. Hensley

member since: 5/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The camera I used was a Pentax Spotmatic. I have had no complaints about those cameras. I have two Pentax Spotmatics and two Mamiya/Sekor 500 DTLs. All use universal screw-mount automatic diaphram lenses. None of them are autofocus. Just speaking about the Pentax Spotmatics, I can't say there is anything I didn't like about them. They were fairly small, easy to use, and certainly dependable. For BetterPhoto I don't think you want to hear very much about cameras this old.
1/13/2006 12:49:25 PM
 
Glenn E. Urquhart
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera when I started photography. Used this equipement with a battery of 5 lenses from 1975 to 1984. Used Kodachrome 100 and also shot B&W. Work horse of a camera.
1/3/2006 2:21:47 PM
 
Nichole T. Harbord

member since: 12/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Well the worst thing about it is that my meter doesn't work so, and i havn't bought a light meter yet so all my photo's are done by me judging it with my own eye. Oh and its like a paper weight. i love the fact that there is so much to it, you have total control over it.
12/13/2005 8:44:30 PM
 
Harold B. Combs

member since: 11/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Old workhorse - quality construction
11/12/2005 1:33:55 PM
 
Duane Bakke

member since: 9/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
my first SLR. fully manual operation, battery is needed for meter. screwmount lenses are slightly inconvenient. I've made some great photos with this camera.
10/21/2005 10:00:24 PM
 
Duane Bakke

member since: 9/30/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
my first SLR, fully manual operation, battery is needed for meter. screwmount lenses are slightly inconvenient. I've made some great photos with this camera.
10/21/2005 9:58:29 PM
 
Connie Popowe

member since: 7/18/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was given to me by my dad who has had it for a number of years. I like the quality this camera produces and I like being able to adjust everything from the speed of the shutter to the distance for the flash. I also have a multiplier lens and a telephoto lens with it. As he has just given it to me recently, I look forward to developing many, many films of experimenting.
7/18/2005 9:37:05 PM
 
Bob Garlits
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought it in Japan around 1976. Have taken pictures around the world with it during my 25 years in the Air Force and 15 years of retirement. It has never had anything done to it except changing the battery and it still takes better pictures than most other cameras. Highly recommended.
6/9/2005 5:08:33 PM
 
Mark A. Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/5/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very well made, very reliable. Metering is extremely centre weighted bordering on Spot metering but the masses of quality m42 screw fit lenses and handling make this forgivable. Lovely camera.
5/24/2005 2:19:41 AM
 
Bill Tubbs

member since: 5/11/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
At the military exchange in Taipei, Taiwan - 1967 - I had a choice between a $200 Nikon and a $119 Pentax. Wanting to save part of my $300 paycheck for stereo gear, I bought the Spotmatic. I must have taken a thousand photos in the time I spent there, and another thousand until the early 70s when it passed on to my brother. He STILL uses it and it's in great shape. It's a real workhorse, easy to use, and IMHO professional quality. I never regreted not getting the Nikon...
5/12/2005 1:42:15 PM
 
Cedric  W. De Paiva

member since: 11/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of my favorite's camera because it's full manual and very well constructed. I also like its optics.
4/17/2005 10:13:30 PM
 
Steve M. Harrington
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A warhorse. Nice, warm quality from Takamar 135 lense.
3/23/2005 3:13:26 PM
 
Pieter J. Roelofse

member since: 8/20/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pentax SP500 - got it for free on E-bay when I bought a Mamiya/Sekor 50mm f2.0 lens - had it repaired for $10.00 and is one of my favorite manual cameras - works great and I use it for macro and Black and white shots.
3/2/2005 8:00:30 AM
 
Greg Purgavie

member since: 9/20/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is almost 30 years old and works like new. An excellent workhorse, all metal body. Excellent for learning on, if you are brand new to photography.
1/15/2005 1:07:26 AM
 
Murray Landauer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is a classic and goes everywhere with me. It's tough, creates crisp pictures and is easy to set as it is a manual camera.
1/10/2005 8:26:41 AM
 
Autumn Corey

member since: 1/9/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
My Mother in Law gave this camera to me when she found out I was interested in photography. I really do like it for what it is. It needs some more lenses.A flash and a zoom lens. But I do what I can do with it.
1/9/2005 6:56:59 AM
 
Jill T. Atkinson

member since: 11/13/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This was my 2nd camera given to me by my father. He bought it while stationed in Korea in 1970. It is a very sturdy camera and I have taken some wonderful photographs with it.
11/24/2004 7:44:05 AM
 
Marjorie A. Lyon
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Purchased about 1972, this camera has a through the lens meter, but otherwise is totally manual. I like it because the two lenses I have for it are very fast.
10/16/2004 9:55:16 PM
 
Heinrich Ferreira

member since: 9/7/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a very nice fully manual camera on which to get to know photography. It has a through the lens light meter allowing you to play around with f-stop and shutter speed to get the right exposure.
10/5/2004 12:00:59 AM
 
Phil Slota

member since: 6/12/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
amazingly durable camera! I picked one up at a pawn shop for $30, and am amazed with what this camera can do. although I use it primarily as a backup camera, this camera is wicked for learning photography with and is an excellent starter camera.
9/17/2004 10:48:30 AM
 
Renee Kunkel

member since: 9/14/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I inherited my pentax spotmatic from my grandfather. I love its weight in my hand. I love the mechanical clicks it makes. I love the heft of the lenses. I adore this camera. What would make it better? Well, it would be nice if I could find a way to fix the internal light meter if it breaks. It would also be nice if it weren't as old as I am. Overall, I wouldn't exchange it for anything.
9/14/2004 6:17:59 PM
 
RJ Taylor
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/31/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just great. A gift from some friends of my parents who used it on safari in Kenya some years ago. I've had it for years myself and it quite simply does everything I want it to. Aside from a digital SLR I don't think I'll ever need to buy another camera again.
8/12/2004 10:45:31 AM
 
Matthew J. Smith

member since: 5/30/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is built to last. I can feel the quality and not many cameras are built like that anymore. My grandfather gave it to me recently and I'm greatly impressed with the quality. Unlike my Nikon N75, which I recently purchased the lenses for this camera are all a fixed focal length. The sharpness of the pictures is perfect just like my new cameras. Everything must be manually focused, but it's not too difficult and I'd rather use this camera than some new cameras. It's a good camera to learn about photography with.
5/30/2004 3:20:08 PM
 
Dr Silly
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Dr
Dr's Gallery

member since: 4/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Took great photos.
5/16/2004 10:54:00 AM
 
Adam R. Forrester

member since: 3/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera. Even more so considering I didn't pay any money for it.
3/10/2004 11:44:25 AM
 
Alan V. Hansen
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Alan
Alan's Gallery

member since: 2/11/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The camera I had since I started, now it's almost worn out - no wonder cause it's about 40 years old.
2/11/2004 3:45:20 PM
 
Anela J. Bence

member since: 1/23/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Obviously since the Spotmatic takes only fixed lenses, things are a little more challenging to shoot. But in terms of clarity, i have never owned equipment as sharp as my pentax and lenses.
2/8/2004 5:14:11 PM
 
William H. Moody

member since: 1/26/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good buy for the money. Inexpensive lenses.
1/26/2004 3:39:23 PM
 
Dan Blumenthal

member since: 11/28/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Spotmatic (II), the last and best version of the stop-down metered classic, uses a near-infinite variety of optics from bargain to some of the finest
11/28/2003 8:04:55 AM
 
Richard A. Davidson

member since: 9/19/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is an old, reliable workhorse. There's something special about the lens.
9/19/2003 10:48:55 PM
 
Marta Z. Czerniawski

member since: 7/2/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camra is a litte heavy for its size but takes great shots.
7/2/2003 12:46:15 PM
 
Marie Beckstrom

member since: 6/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is almost 30 years old and still takes excellent quality photos, just like when it was new. It would be nice if there an automatic advance of the film. Overall I have no complaints about this camera.
6/24/2003 6:28:24 PM
 

39 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.