BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Spotmatic 35mm Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Classic 35mm Cameras

Barb
View photos created with this camera

The Spotmatic 35mm Camera

The Pentax Spotmatic line of manual focus, manual exposure SLR cameras - including but by no means limited to the SP, SL, ES, SP-1000, and F models - started in 1964 when the original Spotmatic was launched. It derived its name from the feature which distinguished it from the competition - spot metering.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sam C. Ferruolo

member since: 6/22/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
some of the best pictures ive taken were with this camera, it weighs a ton, you definitley cant do any fast shooting with it, but nothing beats the contrast and purity you get from film, great camera to learn on
6/22/2006 7:50:10 PM
 
Frank A. Vargo III

member since: 10/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an old Honeywell Spotmatic 35mm. I use it constantly and enjoy the ease of it's workings.
5/13/2006 1:03:48 PM
 
George Reimonn

member since: 5/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My Spotmatic is from the 1970s and everything about it still works as well as when it was new. They didn't use any plastic to make cameras in those days, so it's heavy, which makes it more resistant to vibration.
5/9/2006 3:11:42 AM
 
Anthony J. Amore

member since: 3/27/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
First SLR camera I owned given to me by my dad. Had it since high school. It still will fire up and take some picture.
3/28/2006 3:54:02 PM
 
Meshank N. Lakhia

member since: 1/1/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A very good and the best of its time's manual SLR. Very ideal for macro photography using a reversible ring or a below.
3/25/2006 10:24:36 AM
 
Nicole Fournier

member since: 1/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
first camera. love it!
2/28/2006 1:23:58 AM
 
Brad Ulrich

member since: 1/19/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My 1st SLR...Brings back memories
2/11/2006 1:49:25 AM
 
Dannie A. Hensley

member since: 5/1/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The camera I used was a Pentax Spotmatic. I have had no complaints about those cameras. I have two Pentax Spotmatics and two Mamiya/Sekor 500 DTLs. All use universal screw-mount automatic diaphram lenses. None of them are autofocus. Just speaking about the Pentax Spotmatics, I can't say there is anything I didn't like about them. They were fairly small, easy to use, and certainly dependable. For BetterPhoto I don't think you want to hear very much about cameras this old.
1/13/2006 12:49:25 PM
 
Glenn E. Urquhart
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/3/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera when I started photography. Used this equipement with a battery of 5 lenses from 1975 to 1984. Used Kodachrome 100 and also shot B&W. Work horse of a camera.
1/3/2006 2:21:47 PM
 
Nichole T. Harbord

member since: 12/13/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Well the worst thing about it is that my meter doesn't work so, and i havn't bought a light meter yet so all my photo's are done by me judging it with my own eye. Oh and its like a paper weight. i love the fact that there is so much to it, you have total control over it.
12/13/2005 8:44:30 PM
 
Harold B. Combs

member since: 11/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Old workhorse - quality construction
11/12/2005 1:33:55 PM
 

First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.